3.1

Created with Sketch.
3356 reviews
48%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

22 days ago

I love this foundation and I love that it's so easy to get anywhere. I live in a country where American brands aren't always available so I use Maybelline a lot, because it is available. I personally love that it's in a pot and the mousse texture, I like the feeling of mousse and I find it's easier to apply than liquid because it doesn't run all over the place and I can control how much I put on. I get too thick a coverage with fingers but when I use a damp sponge (ie. beauty blender) the look is amazing. The coverage is higher than with liquid but it doesn't look like you are using foundation at all, it makes it look like it's your natural skin and like your natural skin is just naturally this flawless. As one reviewer said it gives you a porcelain doll complexion. I don't always want or need to look like a porcelain doll but when I do I always grab this one. It's called matte but it doesn't look matte at all at least for me it gives me a dewy satin look. For me it lasts a long time as well, all day, doesn't slide off or disappear. I rarely use powder and this foundation doesn't require powder. I can't remember the shade I have light-medium yellow-toned skin like MAC NC25-30 and the shade was a perfect match for me, it was something like Sand or Sandy Beige or Golden Beige, I'm usually one of those in most foundation lines. I use this quite a lot and I will probably buy it again if I run out, because I love looking like a porcelain doll with a naturally flawless complexion and because it's so easy to apply and because I can find it everywhere.

About reviewer (443 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I wouldn't buy it again but I may recommend it , not sure. definitely test it first. my very first foundation buy :D I was in college and Maybelline was ofc one of the first brands I tried. it was the easiest to find and the most marketable. and affordable. this one was at 9.99$ . has a great consistency for oily skin [if the formula hadn't changed , also I didn't know I was combination skin at the time but it worked] it's smooth and blends easily, I remember I wore this, put some powder and blush on and was out the door in 5 minutes [now it's 30 min lol I can't believe I didn't wear lipstick then lol ] yeah I wasn't a make girl before college and even during those years I only did the bare minimum . but this product has two big issues: -the packaging, while pots are easy to work with, it got harder to be able to get the product out, it was somewhat stiffer than the very first time I tried this, I bought it several times. so with fingers, sponge ,it was hard to get out of the pot, maybe it was just an impression, maybe I was wrong idk, but I remember it was easier finding something else that worked better. [had A LOT OF TRIAL AND ERROR in foundations lol ] -Second issue, is the shade names, it's printed on the back of the pot in small writing and in a serial numbers sort of writing , for example 064s241w which made it VERY HARD to find the right shade. and at the time the shade I needed was always sold out and if you went one shade deeper but similar , it was too deep all of a sudden, so it's a narrow shade range [idk if this changed now, I doubt it, sometimes they only sell limited ranges if the brand is not local such as US or EU brands. ] partly a retailer fault but still I wished the shades were named better. still I'm fond of it, and it worked well, lasted hours, worked well with other products.. it was very natural. only the shade was tricky and narrow, actually the shade issue is true with most Maybelline foundations IMO. maybe now they're better at this, 2019 Maybelline is much better than 2015 Maybelline luckily lol .

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I am, unfortunately for my wallet, a HE foundation & makeup snob. I rarely (rarely for me.. possibly quite often for a less makeup-obsessed individual) delve into the drugstore makeup aisle. However, right now is the first time in a while I am very tanned from BOTH self/spray tan + real tan. So my typical summer >nw30-ish is colliding deeper into my fake tan go-to of nc42-3. I have a much darker shade overall with conflicting undertones of the golden fake tan plus some “real” reddish brown. I love my tan but it’s tricky to use foundation! None of my deeper foundations used when self tanning were working as they didn’t have the red/brown with the warm tones; only a bareminerals OG mineral powder foundation matches me now in shade “warm tan”. I love it a lot - it is gorgeously radiant - but is not as easy for me to use as I’m not used to it, and I missed having a liquid, or just another option. I perused the drugstore aisles in person, in pursuit of an ok-colored foundation, not caring about brand or anything. Just color. I definitely would not have really paid much attention to maybelline, but when I saw the pots of this mousse, I harkened back to when revlon made color stay foundation in a jar/“whipped cream” format which I loved and of course was DCd. Lo and behold the tubs of this dream mousse matte had a shade that looked better than anything else there - medium 4 “honey beige”. It was like $10 so I didn’t care if it was a dud. Well it is NOT a dud!!! This has won me over as the best the drugstore currently has to offer. The color is PERFECT- better than BE warm tan. So I guessed well! It’s pinker than the nc42/43s which I need. But the *formula* is also amazing. It is much less creamy than the “color stay whipped” I used to love. It resembles the texture of benefit porefessional/hourglass immaculate foundation if they were decanted into a pot. Normally I prefer a more radiant finish so the “matte” name scared me, and I still like to put very hydrating and glowy skincare under it and LM loose translucent powder in “glow” on top, but this foundation, using fingers alone (tools don’t help), just settles into my skin like a perfect smooth canvas. Actually if you’re over 35 you probably remember that “skin perfekt gel” tinted stuff from Sephora — it’s like a very pigmented version of that. A little goes a long way. It lasts til I remove. I don’t have to always use concealer with it but I love Becca under eye corrector in medium/deep. I am 40 with normal skin, and this foundation is like a pore and line magic eraser and pretty darn full coverage for me. It seems weird and dry and crumbly when you first open it, but spread some on sparingly with fingers and make sure the color is perfect. The treasures of the universe will be yours. Powder on top isn’t necessary for normal, aging or drier skin even if powder blush/bronzer/highlight go on top; I do it for the radiant finish. I love the tub format - it’s easy and different. At least my pharmacy is lacking in deeper shades, which is a downside and a slight to people darker complected than tan.

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used this foundation a lot in my 20's and it was okay, it gave me some of the coverage I need but I could never find a good match for my complexion, the price is kind of high in my opinion for a drugstore brand but all in all it is an okay foundation. I no longer use it but it may work for other women who are on somewhat of a budget.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The consistency is like of whipped mousse, which for me is quite difficult to work with. When applied the foundation feels slightly greasy and powdery, and not very natural. I found it easier to apply the product with a stippling brush with a few sprays of MAC Fix+. Colour Sand is a good match for NC25 skin.

About reviewer (409 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I recall using this in my late teens and did not understand how makeup really worked. I got that foundation probably because it was on sale and i was like Why not ? I ended up using it and every single time people would tell me how my skin looked perfect and doll-like. I never had bad acne but still had pimples now and then plus a alot of white heads on my forehead and rosacea on the sides of my nose which i didn't know what it was back then. Today i wish i could still use this product but am now aware of the shade not being a great match. I was more tanned so it did not turn orange as much as it does today. It did not crease of cause break outs.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

**EDIT** This foundation broke out my forehead very badly within two weeks of using. Returned it and got my money back. Bummer! Now I’m using La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo (light) which is similar to a BB/CC cream with Clinique Stay Matte sheer pressed powder (oil free) and my skin is clearing up nicely! **original** I’m not a foundation wearer because normally I can’t stand that caked on feeling and I break out with everything, but I’ve always wanted to try this. I have combination skin (very sensitive, very oily, acne prone, enlarged pores, etc.) and I found this foundation to glide on smoothly using my fingertips and you can build up coverage. It has excellent staying and matte power. I wore this to my brothers outdoor wedding and I didn’t retouch it once in 12 hours. I didn’t have a spot of oil (a *very slight* sheen at 1AM but I wasn’t an oil slick like I normally am). So far I haven’t broke out so this is a +++ in my books and I will be repurchasing.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

After the light "swirls" ran out on this makeup it went on dry and "hard." Coverage was spotchy and uneven and showed every pore. I have to do better than this one!! Have new ones which I will try (as I' m thrifty ) but will not buy again. Thx.

About reviewer (73 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This was the first foundation I ever used! The first shade I had wasn't right but I never seem to be able to find my shade in Maybelline products. This is quite a dry foundation and dries out if you've had it for a while. It always accentuated my dry patches, especially around my nose. Once the foundation got quite old, the product used to bunch up into little balls on my face, making it hard to blend in. Wouldn't recommend it - liquid foundations are much better.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Okay, I have tested this out twice now (full 9 hour days at work) and I can say that this a really good (not perfect) foundation for oily skinned folks who need something quick, easy, and light (but can be built for fuller coverage) to apply for a quick grocery run, shopping afternoon, or movie night. I say "lite" events - where you might be out no more than 4 hours bc after the 4 hour mark, you may have to blot a bit more often. This is unique. I first thought it would run too dark, or looks darker than it is in the container, but once applied, the shade seems to run true to typical color. I bought shade Classic Ivory 2 (light) and it fits NC15 - NC20 just fine. It is a light, whipped, smooshy foundation. I tried spreading it with fingers - does NOT work very well - and tends to crumble up on your skin. You can blob some on your face, but spreading it out with a brush will be the only way to really get this to work. Or patting the whipped foundation with your fingertips on your skin. But the BEST way I've found - and it works awesome and so quick and great to just dab on your skin and go - is with a damp sponge. I take my damp sponge and blot it onto the foundation (I know - not the most sanitary but folks say that this foundation starts to break down once you get to the end/bottom of the container anyways) and then just bounce the product onto my face where I want coverage. It works great. You can keep building the foundation up this way over areas that need more coverage - or just keep the coverage light. It works very well on my scars and to cover dark melasma. This is a very dry foundation - and using a damp sponge helps push the whipped consistency into your pores etc.. so much better and faster. Once I'm done - the finish is usually powdery - most of the time, I have not needed to powder after application. If I do, it's only to do undereyes or over my more oily spots like t-zone, but even THOSE are dry after you apply this. It holds up well - and feels very light, it's not tacky - it just works really well. My blush, contour etc.. all went on over it just fine. Since it is drier, I found that after about 30 minutes, it will settle into my really deep forehead wrinkles (all foundations do) so you need to watch for that and even that out if you can but it's not THAT bad. The only reason I say that this is a 4 hour max foundation is that it tends to start letting your oils through after that point, and for me being an oily skinned person, I start having to blot after the 4 hour mark more often. It also can tend to start to sink into pores as the oils break through. HOWEVER - the coverage is still there, so it doesn't wear off or transfer. But for running around for errands or going to a family dinner etc.. -this is such a light and easy way to cover your face if you need to tone down redness and some discoloration and don't want to apply full coverage foundation or do a whole foundation + full face makeup routine for a short time. It also washes off easily with a makeup wipe and face wash. Ive also noticed that my skin is really soft after I remove this foundation and I think its bc it has jojoba oil in the formula. For full 8 hour work days and long wear - I'd recommend Cover Girl's Outlast foundation. That's my HG oily skin foundation. But for weekends or light coverage days - this stuff is so easy and light to put on, with good coverage without all the full foundation work. Totally recommend if you like lighter coverage foundation (like me) or can use it as a build coverage foundation topper over a lighter coverage foundation. Works well on top of other foundations!

About reviewer (435 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us