3.8

Created with Sketch.
24 reviews
70%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have had this little bottle of perfume strength Diamonds and Rubies for a long time and have set myself with the task of really digging into some of my neglected fragrances and experiencing them. I've taken sniffs here and there of this little bottle and had a tendency to like what I was smelling. I realize that my tastes in fragrances are changing a bit as I'm getting older and I'm always looking for scents that offer something off the beaten track. Sweet gourmand types are feeling tired and commonplace to me but Diamonds and Rubies smells like a spiced take-no-sh*t fragrance. She could be my beloved original formulation Cinnabar's family member. I love oriental fragrances but in the time frame of Diamonds and Rubies being released (1993) I would never have even given this one a glance. I probably would have called this "an older lady scent." I never cared for White Diamonds as it was always everywhere and worn so heavily by people around me. I assumed that this Rubies version was a similar kind of scent. This is a fragrance for a woman who has life experience under her belt and doesn't mince words. Someone you can respect and know where you stand with her. She can run a successful business and she can also cook you a meal that you'll always remember and her spiced cinnamon cake is to die for. Basenotes lists this fragrance's notes as rose and peach along with jasmine and spices and a lovely base of amber, vanilla and Cedarwood. The nose that created this scent is Sophia Grojsman. I would wear this fragrance in the fall and winter when the air is getting cool and crisp. The spices in this fragrance would make it ideal for the festive seasonal time of year and friends and family would love getting warm hugs from you wearing Diamond's and Rubies. The fondest memories are made of such things. I wanted to come up with a Liz Taylor film scene in which to place the mood of this fragrance but I'm not well versed in Liz Taylor movies just pulled out of mid air so I'll use another movie siren of days gone by. Have you seen the movie Hilda Crane? I've watched it dozens of times. It stars Jean Simmons who incidentally kind of reminds me of Liz Taylor in those days of movie making. There's a scene where she is putting her rather nasty (I'm being kind) mother-in-law-to-be in her proper place. She's all polished in her wool skirt and sweater and handling an awkward situation with poise and grace and a very firm take-no-guff manner. She's gorgeous and a bit of a rebel. She's sexy and beautiful but demands respect. I could see Hilda wearing a perfume like Diamonds and Rubies. Shes fiery and alluring and spicy but she means business. Diamonds and Rubies would be a great fragrance for perfumistas like me who are loving the exploration of not so popular scents of the current time. Very worth trying a sample!

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have been sad to return two bottles of weak Samsara . I wanted a substitute and found blogs at fragrantic recommending this one as having similarities with Samsara. I figured it would not be a big loss if it was a dud... BUT IT IS NOT! This definitely shares some similarity to Samsara , the old Samsara anyway . It also lasts a long time and has projection that is nice, It is quite spicy , yet soft and warm after the dry down. I do not find it too loud at all. The opening does not smell good, but that is not unusual for a perfume. However, the development of this one is quite appealing and I am so glad I found it . I really will wear it a lot .

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This reminds me a lot of MCDI's Rose de Siwa. It is a lovely rose-peach, touch of violet, soft. If you were given this in a blind test, you'd think it was niche, especially now rose is making a comeback. There's a lot of layers - a touch of spice, vanilla, amber. Warm, soft, delicious. I enjoy the goofy bottles, and the price is ridiculously low. There's a touch of indole, but not extremely noticeable. For those who find this just a touch too powdery/peachy, a layer of a rose soliflore over -- Molinard, Yves Rocher, Yardley, Perfumer's Workshop Tearose -- would would dry this out nicely. The reverse is also true - a light layer of this over a rose soliflore would warm it up. I have had issues with the majority of Elizabeth Taylor fragrances, but when they work for me, they knock it out of the park.

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I read in a forum that this perfume was a dupe for YSL Parisienne as they'd been composed by the same perfumer. Upon wearing it, I can wholeheartedly agree. Just suspend your bias because it's from a brand often associated with mature ladies vs. YSL's attempt to be more modern. Rose is there but there's a huge amount of powdery violets and loads of juicy peach. I prefer this to Parisienne because of the price and this one does not have the smell of old vinyl that is in Parisienne.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

It is ok. A little heavy, but it´s fine when it dries down. It´s definitely an evening scent or something for the winter, to feel a little summer-ish. I don´t quite know, if I wanna buy it again. Like I said it´s ok, but I don´t know if it´s ever gonna be more than ok.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I recently found out that the original White Diamonds smells lovely on my perfume killing skin: clean, fresh jasmine - full bodied and elegant. I wanted to try more in the "Diamonds" line and decided to start with Diamonds & Rubies because I read some reviews that said it smelled like roses, tea, honey, and amber. It sounded like pure heaven so I bought a small bottle unsniffed. I get a little bit of rose in the opening, then nothing but powder, cherries mixed with vanilla, and a tiny bit of tobacco and/or amber. But overall the composition is harsh, artificial and cheap smelling. I am really surprised considering how great White Diamonds smells on me as opposed to the terrible reviews it gets and the middling to good review this one gets. This one is *ok* for what it is if you like it. I gave it 3 lippies because it doesn't smell "bad" per se, it's just really poorly executed with what seems to be bathroom cleanser ingredients. For the $10 I spent on this, I can get something of better quality at Ross/Marshalls/TJ Maxx/ or even Bath & Body Works or Victoria's Secret. Will not repurchase.

About reviewer (327 reviews)

Age

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

My immediate first spray was one of distaste. And that distaste lasted all of three seconds. It immediately morphed into a delightful love of this fragrance. Diamonds and Rubies is a woman's scent, a fragrance of responsibility, a scent of headiness that tells the wearer and the person that gets a whiff that this is a woman who knows exactly who she is-a confident individual who is aware of her self and not afraid to take the World on around her. I have become a true fan of Sophia Grojsman's fragrances. At this point, I haven't found one that hasn't matched me. I am now searching for her scents deliberately. The initial spray hit me with peach and lilac and was surprisingly creamy and rich. The middle florals intertwined with a mix of spices and lingered for a good 30 minutes before the final drydown to the base which I find absolutely delightful. On me, it's a mix of musk, benzoin and vanilla. It does turn powdery at the end of its run on me, which is fine, many frags do. Every now and then, a hint of a floral seeps through and reminds me of the flowers in the mix. Diamonds and Rubies is more of a complex perfume than I ever imagined it could be. I believe it can be used year-round, anywhere, although it's not a go-to-bed snuggly perfume. It reminds me of a woman who enjoys her femininity, her makeup, her sensuality, using her wiles, using her choices. It embodies the essence of a woman. When I think of Diamonds and Rubies, I think of old-time Hollywood stars like Audrey Hepburn, Lauren Bacall and Marily Monroe, women who knew who they were and what they did and how they did it. They were comfortable in their own skin. They dressed for themselves because they were comfortable in themselves, and that's what this perfume is about. Being comfortable in yourself. Sillage is good, at least 4 to 6 hours, about arm's length. I just wish the bottle was more reflective of the name. The cap has crystals reflective of diamonds understandably, but where are the faux rubies? Top Notes: Lily, Red Rose, Almond Wood, Peach, Lilac. Middle Notes: Spices, Orchid, Jasmine, Heliotrope, Ylang-Ylang, Lily-Of-The-Valley, Rose. Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Musk, Benzoin, Vanilla, Cedar. I'm looking for a purse size atomizer because I really do love this fragrance. Definitely try this on yourself if you can. It doesn't work on a piece of paper as well as your skin. You'll be delighted once you try it.

About reviewer (369 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Probably my second favourite from the Elizabeth Taylor offerings, Black Pearls being my favourite. In general with ET fragrances you have to like aldehydes and / or full-bodied florals / very rich perfumes. This will no doubt be classified as 'old-fashioned' in that it has a thick, multi floral feel. I assume this is by Sophia Grosjman, for no other reason than it smells like a Grojsman to me: she made YSL Paris, OdlR Volupte, Lancome Tresor and various other 'Grojsman florals'. If it isn't a Grojsman, it certainly emulates the style. This is potent, rose-peach scent, with 'orchid' and a slight 'plastic-y' feel (many cheaper floral scents have this, imo - doesn't detract from the experience, just an observation) there's a slight indolic note here, but it's hardly obvious and throws in a bit of interest. But I doubt most will catch this aspect. The base is sandalwood-y, and there is a trace of amber. But the overwhelming sense is that of a big, rosy, powerhouse floral. I can only wear this decanted and dabbed; spraying it is just too much. It's very pleasant, when used with discretion. The bottle design is terrible. It'll never be repurchased because I use it so sparingly. A big, traditionally 'perfume-y' rose and peach scent. Not bad. Three and a three quarter lippies, mainly because at discount it's great for the price. But I hate having to figure out how to apply it: Do I dab? How many dabs? How long will I have to wait until it settles down? etc.. A little high-maintenance. But, sure, the dry down is very pretty.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I have tried White Diamonds by Elizabeth Taylor and hated it, so I thought this would be another dud. Boy was I wrong. This is a sweet fragrance that wears close to the body. The trick is to spray lightly. I have been wearing this scent for the last week and have not grown tired of it.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

This reminds me of a cross between Burberry Brit and Lancome Tresor. I really like Diamonds & Rubies. It smells to me like roses..i really like the bottle as well. I am not a White Diamond fan and I didn't think I would like Diamonds & Rubies but I do. It is a treasure. It is best worn in the evening as a "going out" perfume. Notes: lilac, rose, peach, orchid, amber and vanilla.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us