Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid 10 Toning Complex

Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic Acid 10 Toning Complex

4.3

31 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Methyl Gluceth-20, Glycolic Acid, Arginine, Propylene Glycol, Alcohol Denat., Lactic Acid, Allantoin, Chamomile Extract, Witch Hazel Extract, Micellized Vitamin A, Micellized Vitamin E, Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Sodium Borate, Methylparaben, Polysorbate 20, Diazolidinyl Urea. 6/11/09

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 3/31/2018 7:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Expensive but it comes in a big bottle so may last you a long time. I've been using AHAs for the longest time, experimenting with different brands but always in a serum format. I thought I'd try the Caroline Hirons way for a change, which was using an acid toner followed by a hydrating one. I had just completed Drunk Elephant's Framboos Glycolic Night Serum, which incidentally I used twice a day with no irritation, and I thought since my skin tolerated the 12% AHA I thought this toner would be a breeze. Well I was wrong!

As a start my skin was tingling upon application and I was using this twice a day. Within days I found my forehead to be shiny not in a dewy or greasy way, but rather it was mirror smooth, kinda unnatural, almost like vinyl. Several google searches confirmed my suspicion that my skins was over exfoliated. So I've now resorted to using this once a day. So even if it's just 10%, it's highly effective. Because I've been using acids for such a long time I don't expect miracle results, just more for maintenance like how you can't get away from cleansing and moisturizing. As long as it brings expected results like even toned skin, sebum regulation and hopefully prevention of fine lines without irritation it's good for me. Enjoying its use because skincare to me is also such a sensory experience it's a bonus. I do like this, but personally I prefer AHA serums so may only repurchase when I'm looking to switch up my routine once in a while it to keep it interesting.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.



on 2/19/2018 5:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I marked the price as 2 out of 5 (5 being expensive) because I found this product at TJ Max for less than $20.00. It's a huge bottle so it'll last a long time. I tried this for the first time and noticed a prickly feeling, as if I was being stuck by needles all over the area I applied it. I applied it on my face and neck. MISTAKE! This stuff burned my neck! It was red for days! I didn't notice it do anything out of the norm for my face (thankfully). I am writing this review prematurely in that I can't give a full review on it, however, I wanted to write and give a heads up to anyone on what might possibly happen to them if they apply it on their neck.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 12/10/2016 8:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I liked this toner very much. It has a high amount of glycolic acid and it is formulated at the correct pH to induce some exfoliation. It gets high marks for improving the texture of my skin. My skin became smother and less bumpy with use. It also lasted a very long time (several months in fact). I am unhappy with the amount of alcohol in this toner and I wish it had done a better job on my hyperpigmentation. I did see some improvement but I was hoping for stronger results. Overall, I would repurchase this product but currently I am on the look out for stronger alternatives.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product brightens my skin but I only use it at night once a week. It is a bit drying to my face and it feel tight after using it. Sometimes I will have itchy bumps that subsides on the jaw area as the skin there is much more sensitive. I don't know the right direction to use it but I use a as a toner before putting serum and sheet mask. I went to Sephora's website and check on the direction to use it and it confuses me even further. It's say to use it "15 minutes before sun exposure. -Reapply at least every two hours." Wouldn't it be too drying for the skin and before sun exposure?!bibreally love the product when I use it at night and I wake up to soft and bright skin. The price is reasonable for such a big bottle of toner and it lasts me for a few months.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 12/1/2015 11:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product is AMAZING!!! I can't even describe to you how great it is. I am 29 and still dealing with blackheads, whiteheads, comodones, and hormonal acne on my cheeks, chin and forehead. I have tried everything because I was so desperate but no matter what, I still broke out all. the. time. Finally after reading reviews on Sephora I realized that the only thing I hadn't tried was an AHA aka. glycolic acid. After using this product for a couple of nights, I noticed my skin getting a bit drier and peeling a touch so every morning I would lightly rub the dry skin off. I then realized that it was just exfoliating all the crap out of and off of my skin. I always also had tiny little bumps that were skin coloured over my skin and now after using this product for about a month, my skin is freakin amazingly smooth. The acne scarring has faded a ton, and my skin tone is way more even. I now also bought the Peter Thomas Roth 10% Glycolic Moisturizer and that is equally amazing. I put both on at night and wake up with awesome skin. During the day I only put on Aveeno moisturizer with SPF 30. Be sure to remember to use an SPF because of how sensitive your skin is to light. All in all, awesome product. I will never stop using this!

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 11/12/2015 12:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Peter Thomas Roth-HOLY GRAIL! I started getting uncontrollable hormonal acne at age 23, and NOTHING would help. I tried Murad, Dermalogica, Philosophy everything at the drugstore, Cetaphil, Witch Hazel..you name it, it breaks my skin out. (Thanks, Mom.) I use this along with the PTR Anti-Aging Cleanser with Buffing Beads and the Oil-Free Moisturizer and my skin behaves-even right before my period! TMI? Perhaps, but this line and this product especially are worth the 'splurge.' The products do last forever though compared some other pricey brands. *Pro Tip-Buy what you can on Amazon. I typically save 15 bucks per product!

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product is a great dupe for Alpha H Liquid Gold, and about half the price per ml in the UK. It helps clear up and prevent any breakouts for me, makes my skin brighter and has really helped tone down my post inflammatory hyperpigmentation from acne on my cheeks. My PIH has really faded significantly now. It does tingle/sting a little going on and it can feel a little drying, but I find following with my moisturizer stops that problem.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 9/20/2015 9:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product has helped in lifting patches of hyperpigmentation and dealing with congested skin/ breakouts.

It can sting a little on application and I found using everyday was too much for my skin - so am using every other day.

Its a large bottle and I can see it lasting for 6 months

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 8/9/2015 4:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Firstly, I would just like to comment that I don't understand why anyone with "clear", "good" or even sensitive skin would ever buy or try to use a 10% glycolic acid. I also can't understand why people who are new to acid toning are buying and using this. It's not for you. Not every product is made with the same audience in mind, and if you fall into any of these categories then stay away or use something better suited to your skin.

If you have troublesome skin like me - prone to acne, acne scarring, breakouts, oiliness, dry patches and have less sensitive skin then you're looking for the right product. This is heavy duty stuff, and it stings a lot upon application and the urge to scratch or touch your face afterwards is strong - but resist!
I use it every night on a cotton pad and it's helped to calm breakouts and keep my skin smooth and clearer.
The bottle is big and personally I think its good value, you only need a tiny bit so it should last a long time. Its not the prettiest packaging but it's simple and almost pharmaceutical looking and I quite like that - I don't need fancy packaging if what's inside is good quality. The smell is okay - not pleasantly scented but nothing to turn your nose up at either. Again, I quite like the lack of added perfume to dress up the scent. The toner is much like other toners, very liquid and has a water like texture so be careful with the bottle!
If you have built up a tolerance to acid toning then I definitely think you should pick this up. My 2% pads weren't doing it for me anymore and I noticed no difference from them, so I decided to step it up!
Be careful what you use before and after also. Because it's stings so much, if you apply more acid then it's likely you will seriously disrupt your skin so try it and see what works for you.
I really like this product and I think it's a staple for someone with problem skin who often has random breakouts and will definitely repurchase! Its not exactly marketed for acne but I definitely think it makes a difference and it's an extra step I'll keep doing as long as it's still available!

11 of 14 people found this helpful.


on 12/12/2014 12:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this as I wanted an acid toner and this has good reviews. Last week I updated my skincare routine, by adding the Clarisonic and this toner (applied it every other night). My skin has become so much smoother in such a short time. I do not have sensitive skin, but this toner does sting and make me itchy for a brief period following application, but my post toner products absorb a lot better.
I did have a three month bout of acne which ended a month ago which has left innumerable tiny blemishes and I'm hoping this toner speeds up the clearing process.


Back to Top