3.6

Created with Sketch.
116 reviews
63%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

To my immense surprise, I am loving the Avon skincare products I've purchased. I use this serum at night, and my skin looks great. I also love their Anew serum in the gold bottle, the matching eye creme, and their hylaronic acid serum.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Ohhhh my gosh, I have never had something breakout my face like this. Not even puberty was this bad. I put some on last night and woke up with pimples ALL OVER MY FACE. I went from zero pimples, to about 50 everywhere I put this serum. I look ridiculous. I don't even want to go to work tomorrow because I will definitely be made fun of all day. I wish I could attach pictures to this review. I went from having a perfectly clear face to a full face of acne.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Just got a bottle on sale. Wanted to add vitamin c serum to my regimen. When first applied was aghast at the amount of alcohol I smelled and felt. Then I read the ingredients and found that SD Alcohol was the first ingredient-- ugh! Why would they put this in a face cream!? Also propylene glycol is the third ingredient followed by ascorbic acid (vitamin c). I am allergic to propylene glycol :(. Also, the product comes in a clear glass bottle with a pump but probably should be in a dark bottle to protect it from sunlight. Product feels tacky on the skin when it dries and leaves an unflattering sheen. Disappointed overall. Definitely will return if I can and look for another brand.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Even though I've taken Avon to task in a couple of reviews, *generally* I find their stuff okay / not bad / occasionally even great (if not a bit behind the times. For example it's half way through 2017 and they've only JUST brought out a micellar water when micellar water cleansers have been around since about 5 years ago). So it's kinda strange that they've had this Vitamin C serum out for at least 20 years (way way before the current crop of everyone jumping on the Vitamin C bandwagon). Innovative? Ahead of their time? Avon? (Really??). So I've just recently purchased a new bottle to replace its’ tea-coloured predecessor. Most Vitamin C serums will eventually oxidise and I've read debates about whether they're still okay to use. THEY'RE NOT. Vitamin C is an ANTI-oxidant, which means a substance that will prevent free radicals from damaging the cells of your skin and your body. Once it oxidises and turns yellow or brown it changes to a PRO-oxidant which, in short, *encourages* free radicals to damage your skin/body. So store any Vitamin C product in the box it came in, in a cool dark cupboard to prevent degradation from heat and sunlight. And keep it capped at all times to prevent degradation from air. I'm currently on a mission to get rid of dark spots and pigmentation, so am using a range of Vitamin C, Retinols and acids. Some of the combinations work better with oils so I've brought out my (forgotten) Clearly C to use 3 nights a week. I'll see how it goes (though with this arsenal it would be hard to tell which product is making the difference). But I like the fact that on the alternate nights when I can't use my hefty 23% Vit C, I can still use this (its 10%) and continue my anti-pigmentation crusade. * Yes it's oily but absorbs after 15-20 minutes. * It's very reasonably priced. * And we know it contains Vitamin C because it oxidises. It's also listed as the third ingredient (so it's there in significant amounts) How effective it is only time will tell. But if nothing else it's still adding a useful facial oil to my regimen.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Powerful alcohol smell and like another reviewer said, it's the first ingredient listed. I decided to try it before I found the other review here and I paid $20 for it and consider it money wasted. I, too, used to love and sell Avon back in the day but no more. This product is overpriced and very drying to my skin.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

The Anew line used to be my favorite, but I haven't used it in several years. Somehow I was recently convinced to try this serum. Fortunately I did not pay the retail price, which is $30 US. This smells overwhelmingly like rubbing alcohol. Unsurprisingly, the first ingredient listed is SD Alcohol 40-b, which can be drying. Also, alcohol should never be the primary ingredient in any skin care product. I used this for about 3 weeks, when the pump on the bottle broke, making it practically unusable. I also started noticing dry skin on my cheek, which I didn't have prior to using this product. That was my cue to go back to my standard Vitamin C serum. My skin cleared up within a few days. I used to love Avon products, but the company entered a downward spiral and either discontinued the products I liked or reformulated them, calling them "new and improved". Yeah, not so much. They watered down lotions and creams, making them completely ineffective. They added harsh detergents to their shampoos, making them damaging. They added heavy fragrances to their Anew skincare line, probably to mask the higher alcohol content. This was the final straw for me. I haven't looked back until I was convinced to try this serum. This product reminded me again why I don't use Avon. I won't be suckered into trying any of their other products in the future.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairRed, Relaxed, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

All i could say the first night i used it was HOLY CRAP, i have finally found something that evens out my skin tone!!! I used to have a combination of dry skin on my cheek area and oily around my nose but THIS!! This serum just got rid of all the small annoying bumps ,sun spots and tge redness on my skin. I now have soft flawless skin that i have always wanted! This just made me more confident and i dont feel crap when i dont have makeup on haha. This is defss good on sensitive skin and good for every night use. I wear it alone just like a moisturizer and it works perfectly. So if youre around 20's and looking for something that would make your skin look healthy, this is the best product. Just a bit overpriced when its not on sale but i'd definitely buy this again!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Dry skin. Early 30's,hormornal:D I had breakouts during PMS and applying 1'2 pumps at night has cleared the scaring acne leaves behind it gave me a glow in the morning like the one you have when you're pregnant woman or in love someone :) I plan use it for 2-3 times week and rest between so it adjust slower to skin. It smells strange and I applied on my neck but for some strange reason didn't glow the same. I don't like the horrible pump but have to work with it. I bought mines at thrift store for 3.99 and surprised that awkward moment that find it discontinued and plan look for it on eBay because is place where tons stuff is sold that other countries sell. Australia has it and I think is sad that USA don't have it here anymore.

About reviewer (106 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Everything about this was average, it wasnt bad but it wasnt good. I've used better vit C products, this didn't give me that vit C 'glow' but my skin still felt good after using it. I've ordered Nufountain's serum to try next as it has rave reviews and I'm hoping its better than this.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I used this some time ago. This stung my face. Im not sure if it was because I have been using retin-a also or what. But after I introducted this I started breaking out and counld not continue using this. I was not surprised I broke out since upon application it did not absorb and felt like oil laying on my face.I heard that it got discontinued pretty much right after I bought it.

About reviewer (311 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesGray