4.0

Created with Sketch.
194 reviews
74%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I wanted to like this. Dermatologist-recommended, supposedly at one stage "the best sunscreen in the world". First use: I now know what it feels like to have your whole face set on fire!!! Hated, despised it. Ended up using for my arms, which was quite an expense...

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Easily one of the best drugstore sunscreens! La roche posay sunscreen covers UVA, UVB, and UVA long rays to help from burning and premature wrinkles + damage from sun. Super lightweight and a bit moisturizing. Great for traveling as well I have oily combo skin and acne prone and havent had any issues

About reviewer (157 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I was devastated after Kate Somerville's Daily Deflector Moisturizer got discontinued because it meant I had to go on the hunt, once again, for one that wouldn't leave a white residue on my brown skin. I found this one after much research and have bought it twice since then. It's a little watery before you rub it on, but it's seeps in perfectly and leaves you just the perfect amount of moisturized.

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Dark, Warm

HairBrunette, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is a review for the European version. An old faithful, I have used this for years. I think it’s experienced a few reformulations. In the past year it had begun to peel off on my skin when used over some serums and it occasionally caused stinging to my eyes. With the recently changed wording making a feature of the ‘Shaka’ bottle that has always existed, the formula is a little tackier, not quite so easy to spread but with the tint, it makes missing anywhere near impossible. It no longer peels and I am so thrilled to experience comfortable eyes again! I will use this every day so long as the formula continues to be so good.

About reviewer (149 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is a pretty standard US chemical sunscreen, except in a light, matte formula. Because it's a light consistency, it doesn't spread very far and you have to use a lot to get the proper protection. The bottle is so small and it's so expensive that I feel like I have to be frugal with it and that I can't slather it on properly like other sunscreens. It feels wonderful on the skin and leaves it feeling silky and smooth. Minimizes my pores too. I now primarily use this as a primer, as I've found some Japanese sunscreens that are a little more cost-effective.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love La Roche-Posay and use their products frequently, but I've tried several of their sunscreens and I'm not a fan. I found that this one pilled no matter the amount I applied or how long I waited afterward. I also experienced some burning/stinging on my cheeks from it - I believe from the avobenzone. If you're looking for a high SPF sunscreen and don't need to apply under makeup, this might work for you, but I wouldn't recommend layering this with other skin care products or makeup.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Best sunscreen. Has that smell we all hate, but for me this works great. Doesn't clog my pores like pretty much all face sunscreens do.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Love it! This is for the Canadian version Ultra-fluid lotion 50 ml bottle Ingredients: LA ROCHE POSAY – ANTHELIOS ULTRA LIGHT LOTION SPF 60 Formula: 884790 ACTIVE INGREDIENTS ACTIFS (W/W) HOMOSALATE 10% OXYBENZONE 6% OCTISALATE 5% OCTOCRYLENE 5% AVOBENZONE 3% ECAMSULE (MEXORYL SX) 2% OTHER/AUTRES INGREDIENTS AQUA CYCLOPENTASILOXANE ALCOHOL DENAT. CYCLOHEXASILOXANE STYRENE/ACRYLATES COPOLYMER SILICA DICAPRYLYL ETHER PEG-30 DIPOLYHYDROXYSTEARATE DIMETHICONE TRIETHANOLAMINE GLYCERIN NYLON-12 POLYMETHYLSILSESQUIOXANE CAPRYLYL GLYCOL DICAPRYLYL CARBONATE DISODIUM EDTA DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE DODECENE ISOSTEARYL ALCOHOL LAURYL PEG/PPG-18/18 METHICONE PEG-8 LAURATE PHENOXYETHANOL POLOXAMER 407 POLY C10-30 ALKYL ACRYLATE TOCOPHEROL C182364/1 This is truly a matte satiny finish. It is very liquidy (similar to Asian Biore SS) and I apply one section at a time. I have no problems applying 1/4 tsp to my face. It does not irritate. (I had a major rash from Clinique spf 25 - physical filters only. Also I cannot wear Biore Perfect milk or Ombrelle Faces spf 45 - redness/blotchy) I have been wearing it daily for a few days. No clogs. My face appears calm, even toned. I wear mineral makeup and some concealer with no issues. This sunscreen does not apply dry or chalky or settle into pores/lines. Website claims Fast-absorbing, matte finish. Fragance-free. Paraben-free. Water-resistant. I would use an oil based cleanser to remove. Other LRP SS I have tried: LRP Hydraphase UV 30 this has a PPD of 8ish and is better suited for dry skin. Moisturizer feel. I can wear around eyes with no problems. I will keep this for the winter. https://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=64949/Hydraphase-UV-SPF-30/La-Roche-Posay/Sunscreen I am using the Cdn version. Ingredients listed in review. LRP Anthelios XL comfort cream or melt in cream) - better suited for dry skin and or winter. Great on my neck and or hands. LRP Anthelios Mineral - tinted Tint is too dark unless you have a medium complexion. Contains only titanium dioxide which offers very little UVA protection. If you want a tinted mineral sunscreen, I would suggest Paula's Choice with 12% zinc oxide. (Reviewed) https://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=164554/RESIST-Super-Light-Daily-Wrinkle-Defense-SPF-30/Paula-s-Choice/Sunscreen I am extremely happy that I have tried this and already plan on repurchasing. I have tried many sunscreens and this is the most protective (PPD/UVA) yet cosmetically elegant one I own.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

First of all, I'm a black woman and yes black women we still need sun protection! I know it's hard because a lot of spf's really look ashy on our skin and it's a deterrent to buying sunscreen but this goes on light and dries clear. I promise. For anyone of any race or skin type this is the best sunscreen I've ever tried. It's easily my HG choice for sun protection. It's got a high SPF that's light weight, its a fluid and not a lotion, dries clear with no white cast and wears BEAUTIFULLY under make up. This was tested on sensitive skin so it's perfect for any skin type. I myself am oily/combination and I have had absolutely no reactions whatsoever to it and I wear it every day. It's a tad annoying having to put the product on the back of my hand first then dab areas of my face and rub in due to the packaging and how the "nozzle" is. I feel pouring it directly into the palm of my hand and then to my face would be a waste of product so I choose to do it the way I described. This is great for me since I am trying to fade my dark spots and some slight hyper pigmentation. For some people they will say sitting in the sun will fade your spots as the rest of your skin darkens but the spots darken just like the rest of your skin. They dont really fade. The sun loves hyper pigmentation. Looooves it. So use a sun protection to avoid making your spots darker. Price point is fair at $30. For all this does for my skin without any irritation, I'm not complaining. And honestly you don't need a lot for your face so with daily use this should last you 2-3 months.. I hope they never mess with the ingredients or formula.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this as a last ditch attempt to see if my skin hated all chemical class sunscreens. Unfortunately, the answer is yes, since I had to stop using this after only 2 days due to irritation, BUT if your skin tolerates it, it's the best feeling sunscreen I've ever used for use on bare skin, it felt light and turned to a pleasant powdery finish. I found my powder foundation disappeared when worn over this unusually quickly though, way faster than over my usual heavier physical sunscreen so I wouldn't use this under makeup even if it did work for me.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us