Aesop Mandarin Facial Hydrating Cream

Aesop Mandarin Facial Hydrating Cream

3.7

56 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Corylus Avellana (Hazel) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Glyceryl Stearate, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Disodium EDTA, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Juice, Lippia Citriodora Flower Extract

Start your review


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
-great volume + simple packaging
-absorbed by skin efficiently
-moisturize well
-didn't cause any breakouts

Cons:
-smell is overwhelming perhaps too artificial



on 8/27/2015 9:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been on the hunt for a good daily moisturiser for a long time and decided to try this. I don't like the packaging and the fact that i have to dip my fingers into the jar. I use twice a day and at night, before sleep, I mix it with either coconut oil or rosehip oil and find that my skin feels and looks amazing in the morning. The smell is wonderful, and its a pretty light texture. It is a little overpriced, but Ive had it for over 8+ weeks and have so much product left so it is worth it for me.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/31/2015 8:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I received a gift pack for Christmas containing Aesop's fabulous face cleanser, B & Tea Balancing toner and this mandarin moisturiser.

The mandarin smell is great and I really appreciate the fact that it's a light weight texture. At first, I felt like someone else mentioned that it didn't "sink" into my skin so I spend a little more time rubbing it into my skin and it seems to have done the trick. After 5 months of use, I feel that all it does is hydrate my skin, nothing more.

It's a nice moisturiser but if I had to fork out AUD$49 for 60ml, I would definitely look for something else. The price point is a bit ridiculous for something so basic.


on 4/15/2015 9:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I personally love this moisturizer! The smell is lovely, and I wasn't too sure about the mandarin smell before I got it, but I actually love the mandarin smell. The texture is amazingly rich and creamy. And because of the citrus component it's great for acne or acne scarred skin.

The price seems steep but to be honest you don't need a lot therefore it goes a long way, I find this is the case with most Aesop products which have me converted completely!


on 4/14/2015 6:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To my dismay, this moisturiser did not work for my combination-oily skin.

I love Aesop as a brand and the Amazing Face cleanser is my favourite, but this moisturiser wasn't for me. Although it says it's for normal to combination skin, one of their best sellers and the first thing the SA recommended as a moisturiser for my combination-oily skin, it makes me so oily in the hotter months that I only use it overnight and wash it off my face during my morning cleanse.

The only reason I am even bothering to use it is because it was too pricey to give away; $49 or only 60mL!

I understand that most people are oilier in the summer months, so as it's getting colder I will continue to use it and edit my review when winter is over.


on 10/14/2014 10:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am on the fence with this one. It smells great, it doesn't sting my eyes, it goes on smoothly and my skin is drinking it as soon as I put it on my face, it tastes sweet if you touch your lips by mistake. It hydrates. But it makes my pores look big and my face gets shiny shortly . I am still trying to see if I will repurchase. But still, overall, it is a very nice cream.


on 8/2/2012 7:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is amazing! Definitely my holy grail! My skin was going crazy because I went somewhere warm on holiday & returned to winter. My other moisturizer wasn't moisturizing enough. I had 2 cystic pimples, numerous little breakouts, dry skin, and cracking fragile skin.

My skin is not normally that bad. I have combo skin, that just gets mild hormonal breakouts. I think the climate change freaked my skin out.

This stuff helped heal the red marks after the cysts, calmed down my irritated and dry feeling skin. The next morning it was amazing how much of a difference it made to my skin. My skin felt so soft & soothed. It hasn't broken me out and I'm very acne prone! Everything breaks me out sadly.

SMELL:
It smells like oranges! I love the smell of this.

ABSORPTION:
This absorbs really quick, and leaves a matte finish. It's not greasy at all.

For anyone with breakout prone & combination skin, give this a try! I'm glad I did. My Australian friend recommended me Aesop because they care about the ingredients they put into their products and always put a lot of research into them before releasing them. I think they are awesome!

I will update if there is any changes.

UPDATE: Been using it for 4 months now, I love it! My skin is still looking amazing! Can't recommend it enough.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/10/2011 10:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately this moisturiser just didn't seem to work with my skin. I have combination skin and this didn't help with breakouts. The smell was also a bit too overpowering. I've moved on to the Primrose cream and am finding that seems to suit my skin a lot better. Worth a try though.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This doesn't work well with my skin. Somehow it doesn't seem to sink it and rather just sits on top of my skin making it really sticky and uncomfortable. That's the worst thing about this product for me.

I have rather dry skin around my cheeks, and ironically, despite the stickiness (which normally means it should at least be very hydrating) my skin feels dry in a few minutes. I've been using this for the last 2 weeks and i've noticed that my skin has gotten a lot dryer and as a result duller.

Would not repurchase this.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 11/13/2010 10:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this product and have been using it for two years now.

It's a "heavy" product that is packed with moisture, but it absorbs REALLY well and doesn't feel oily at all if that makes any sense. I usually apply this product on at night and the next morning I'd wake up with absolutely gorgeous skin.

I guess for some people who don't want such a heavy product, this may seem a bit too much for them, but seriously, I think just give it a go, because it absorbs like a wonder. I'm using the Eve Lom TLC cream at the moment and although it's definitely lighter than this, I find that it doesn't absorb as well sometimes and it doesn't plump up my skin as well as this one does.


Back to Top