Alba Botanica Sea Enzyme Facial Scrub

Alba Botanica Sea Enzyme Facial Scrub
image 1

4.3

87 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients Purified water, certified organic aloe barbadensis leaf juice, capric/caprylic triglyceride, zea mays (corn) cob meal, vegetable glycerin, glyceryl stearate, stearic acid, carthamus tinctorium (safflower) seed oil, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), polysorbate 60, stearyl alcohol, phenoxyethanol, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, sodium carbomer, sorbitol, sodium PCA, tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), dimethicone, retinyl palmitate (vitamin A), extracts of spirulina maxima (algae), ulva lactuca (sea lettuce), laminaria digitata (kelp), chondrus crispus (irish moss) and macrocystis pyrifera (kelp), citrus grandis (grapefruit) fruit, camellia sinensis (green tea) leaf and chamomilla recutita flower extracts, L-ascorbic acid (vitamin C), ethylhexylglycerin, potassium sorbate and fragrance (parfum).5/23/09


on 10/24/2015 2:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

The microbeads in this scrub are perfect! Not so gentle that they are ineffective, not so sharp that they feel too rough - they feel really nice, so it's a soothing, cleansing scrub - my skin looked very clear after using it! It does sting/burn a teeny bit. Updating this to say it does seem to leave a little grit (stray beads) on my skin after I rinse off. All in all, it's okay, and an affordable option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/12/2014 4:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, love LOVE this scrub. It is my all time favorite. I'm on my 3rd tube already. This is the ONLY scrub I've used that DOESN'T leave my skin feeling raw, red, or dry. I have the added oils in the mix to thank for that. Oils that DON'T CLOG or irritate my skin. Get ready for a whole new experience if you're trying this scrub for the first time. I still remember the first time I tried it- I was standing like an idiot in the shower ooo-ing and ahh-ing at how smooth my face was for a few minutes. No dryness, no redness, no sandpaper feeling. Thank god those days are gone!

Hypoallergenic? They weren't kidding! I have finicky skin. But with this baby not only does if feel clean AND smooth, it keeps those breakouts at bay, even when I'm nearing menses. And with all those natural ingredients, I'm surprised at how relatively cheap this is. The only fault I find with this is a misnomer. There are no enzymes listed in the ingredients at all. Yes, there are sea algae extracts, but that will likely consist of proteins. Maybe some enzymes are in there too, but will they be working or degraded? Whatever, I love it anyways.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 87 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 7/9/2014 8:34:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried so many of the lower priced scrubs on the market and I thought this would be just one more. But this scrub seems to be more suited to my sensitive skin and I just like the way my face feels afterward. It looks a little like mud but I can get past that, given how well it works.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started to use this when my to scrub away the dry skin im having cause of the Alba Botinca acnedote set im currently using, (which are awesome products too! 👍) so far im using it 3days already and im using it once a day (preferably in the morning) cause every night i opt for the Alba Bitanica acnedote wash cause it removes more the make up i had worn through out the day. This scrub is starting to smooth out my drying face, and thats awesome! Price is surprisingly cheap too, will definitely buy again to gradually help in removing dry skin (and pimples) to achieve the clear bare skin i always wanted.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

W_O_W!! The scrubbies are super fine and gentle unlike apricot scrubs. It doesn't leave a film on your face after washing. It has almost a gel/lotion type consistency and I love how it made my face feel. I've used it only once but it left my skin looking clean!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm on my second tube of this scrub. I used to use St. Ives Apricot Scrub but now there are a few versions, one containing salicylic acid for breakouts, that I accidentally picked up instead of the normal, original scrub. That version didn't seem to have enough of the exfoliant for me and left my skin feeling dry, so I picked this up instead.

This scrub was maybe a few dollars more, but I like the fact that it's natural and the exfoliant is a bit finer and denser. I use it every other day and it does a fantastic job of removing dull, dead skin and flaky patches. It doesn't leave my skin feeling tight or dry, just smooth, bright and clean.

The scent is fresh and earthy and doesn't linger on the skin.

All in all it's a really nice scrub and gets the job done without being too harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2013 11:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was pleasantly surprised to see this as a top pick scrub on MUA. I bought this years ago and decided to try it again. I've been making big changed to my skin care routine in order to get rid of my acne once and for all. Exfoliation really makes a big difference for me and I can't believe I haven't been doing it for years. My skin looks smoother, brighter, and less oily. The texture of this is like a fine, wet sand that won't irritate your skin. I've seen this for sale in many stores, but you can get it online for a better price, message me for a recommendation of where to buy.

Edit 1/23/14: I've stopped using this on my face since physical exfoliation is generally not recommended since it can be irritating. I am also slightly overwhelmed by the fragrance (I'm a bit senstive to fragrance these days). I do use it on my body but this feels like an expensive and not super effective body scrub.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2013 10:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using the product for years. At this point, I think I take it for granted. I stocked up when they were on clearance at Target several years ago, I don't know if I would have used this for so long otherwise. My stash is almost gone, and I plan on trying something different.

I am pleased that I have never had an issue with clogging in the tube (especially since mine are old) nor having the scrub go bad. It's a minimal, nice scent, very green and mineraly. The scrubbing particles are small and smooth enough to not irritate my skin even in the winter when it is very dry and sensitive, yet they are quite effective in making my skin feel smoother and clean. What I don't get is the super scrubbed feeling I get with Origins' Modern Friction that leaves me feeling like ALL the dead skin is off my face.

I'll probably continue to use this since I've never had issue with it, it's affordable, and it's a great natural option for sensitive skin. Finding all of this in one product that is so easily available makes me feel lucky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2013 1:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this about twice a week for 3 weeks now, and I'm happy. Here's why:
The scrubby particles are finely milled, and I actually feel like I'm being scrubbed, rather than just scratched (like I do with apricot scrub...yuck). The enzymes really help to slough off the dead skin and leave the rest glowy. I like to scrub this in thoroughly for about a minute or two, then leave it on for about 30 seconds before rinsing to let the enzymes do their thing.
Here's what I don't like:
The first couple of times I used this, it burned a bit- but my skin got used to it and it isn't an issue any longer.
Also, the packaging isn't great. The squeeze tube is great, but the hole at the opening is much too large, and it's hard to regulate how much comes out. It also causes it to leak inside the cap occasionally which is a waste of product and makes me sad. They should make it smaller, and then it would be perfect.
Will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loooooove this face scrub. I tend to get dry flaky skin only in certain spots. This scrub is gentle enough to use everyday on the flakiness without drying out my entire face. HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top