3.9

Created with Sketch.
101 reviews
72%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I can't believe how bad this stuff is. I expected a quite creamy consistency but this stuff was so dry I could barely pick any up in my brush. I tried a silicone brush and still no joy. It just clumped along my lashline. Thinking I perhaps got a bad one I took it back and when I looked at the rest of the samples on display but they had the same consistency. I don't know how anyone uses this stuff!

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I had been wanting to try a brown liner and when I saw this on sale for $5 I just had to buy it. The shade is a dark brown with cool tones and worked well with my neutral to cool fair skin. This is a bit dry and thick as others have stated but it only took me a couple tries to master application. I found and angled liner brush worked much better than a flat one. I applied this on my lash line and water line before sitting out on a hot humid night for a couple hours and it didn't budge from my lash line. It didn't wear as well on my water line, but few products do.

About reviewer (574 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This is a really dark brown. It looks almost black, but softer. I do like the color. I read the dry/creamy debate below, and to me it's both. It picks up on your brush easily, but it does have a thick and dry consistency. There's no drag, but it's far from gliding across your lids. Definitely less easy to work with than MAC Fluidlines, but it's far easier to make a perfect line with too thanks to its thickness. The wear time on this stuff is amazing. When I came home exhausted and decided to just take a cleansing oil to my skin and skip my eyes to deal with them in the morning, it looked the same when I woke up and I ended up just leaving it on for the whole time. Great lasting power!

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

PROS -This is the perfect shade of brown liner in my opinion. From a distance it may appear black on the eyes, but it's really quite a bit softer, yet still noticeable. I would describe the shade as a true dark chocolate brown. -You get quite a bit of product for your money. Almost 50% more than you get with the gel liners from Smashbox, and for $2 cheaper. -Very multi-purpose. Along with eyeliner, I've used this as contour cream (yup!), eyebrow filler and as a base for a brown smokey eye. -Blends nicely. This liner can be used for harder, clean lines, or smudged with a brush for a soft, day-time appropriate smokey eye. The name really doesn't lie guys! But beware, you should blend this product as quickly as possible because once it dries, it doesn't BUDGE until you douse your eyes in makeup remover...Which brings me to my next point... -Super long wearing. It goes on and STAYS on with zero fading, smudging, transferring or creasing. As far as the texture goes, I'm not complaining. People whine when a liner is too dry and say that it should be "creamier", but what they don't realize is that creamier liners generally do not have the great lasting power that those with drier textures do. And this liner isn't that dry anyways. It picks up on a brush well and I have no problems using it. I can't comment on it drying up in the pot yet because I haven't had it that long and I don't use it very frequently (I usually use black liquid liner), but I will update if that happens. Just make sure to close the lid tightly after each use ladies! Overall, Stila Smudge Pots are probably in my top 3 favorite gel liners. And this particular shade is great for women who want definition, but feel that black is too harsh.

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I really liked the look of this but was a bit reluctant to try it as I had read that it is dry and there were complaint of it not being creamy enough. However, I really liked the look of it in the store so I decided to buy it and i'm so glad I did. The texture is really creamy, and I dont think for the amount that you get the price is bad either. I dont leave the house with out now and is a much more flattering shade than black, even though it is definately dark enough to get noticed. It is also really long wearing and doesn't even come off at the gym. I've even used it as a base under glitter eyeshadow and it works really well! over all I love this and I will def be buying another one when this one runs out :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Love it. Applies like a dream. The prefect color, not harsh, like black can be. Yet dark enough that it's very noticable. I can control the intensity of color and the thickness of the line. I can even apply lightly to sparse spots in my brow, (I have black hair). I like it better than the MAC equivalent. I've had it for a week and I'm a happy camper, so I can't remark on the pot drying out, but I will update if that happens. As of now, I would so buy this again.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I love this as a gel liner! I use this with an eye liner brush I have from Ulta. I have used both MAC and Bobbi Brown gel liner, but I like this better. The consistency is good and this product doesn't dry out like the Bobbi Brown. Also, there is so much product it has lasted me for a while now. Will repurchase.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I don't know if it was because I bought this and it was already dried out, but every time I use this, the cream clumps up. I have a lot of trouble with this getting in my eyes and irritating my allergies. It was not easy to smudge, but it was fairly easy to apply. Within a couple months of buying this, it became to dried out and too clumpy to use anymore. I feel like I've been cheated out of my money with this expensive product. On the upside, it did last a long time and was tear-resistant.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I got the mini in a swap. I love it, the application is great. I use my ecotools brush with it and I can do it in one smooth line. It doesn't dry quickly, so it gives you lots of time to work and smudge nicely to give the feathered look. Even though it's suppose to smudge, I found that it actually hold up a lot better than other liners that I have tried. Anything that doesn't give me the panda eyes at the end of the night is a good liner.

About reviewer (73 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I've tried cheap and expensive gel eyeliners both. Mostly I've had a really hard time with the liner smudging and being hard to apply. I have to say that this is the best I've probably used. It does tend to smudge a bit in the corners of my eyes by the end of the day, but that happens with any eyeliner I use and this does it less than the others. It also applies smoothly. I would definitely buy this again when I run out. EDIT: After some time using this, it is DRY, DRY, DRY. Don't think I would repurchase after all.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us