4.2

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
88%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

My dermatologist recommended Neutrogena T-Sal, so I figured it was worth a shot. Unfortunately this product does NOT work for me. I still gave it 2 lippies because I like that it is clear and has no scent. Salicylic acid does nothing for my facial acne, so I should've known it wouldn't work for my itchy scalp either. I went to my local pharmacy a few days ago in extreme pain from my itchy scalp, and she recommended Neutrogena T-Gel and Scalpicin. I chose Scalpicin over T-Gel, but sadly the Scalpicin does not alleviate my scalp itch either. Will try T-Gel soon even though it stinks to high heaven, because I'm at my wits' end.

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

When it comes to shampoos with a therapeutic content of Salicylic Acid, Neutrogena T-Sal is one of the only games in town, if not THE only. I've been using this product off and on for at least 10 years. It first came as a recommendation from a dermatologist, who actually told me that the best for my scalp condition is a combination of T-Sal and extra strength T-Gel, which is the alter ego to T-Sal that contains coal tar extract. So, I diligently alternated the two until my scalp, riddled with seborrheic dermatitis, cleared up. It took a long time and required diligent shampooing on a daily basis. Now my scalp is under control with daily use of "regular" shampoo. However, when I start to see the first signs of redness and plaques, I pull out the T-Sal and T-Gel as I always have some on hand. The product itself is no fuss and fragrance-free. It suds into a rich lather, which is great since that helps it stay on the hair for a few minutes (per the directions and doctor's advice). When the shampoo is rinsed out, it doesn't make the hair feel squeaky or stripped. And during and after styling, the hair is very soft, like having received a deep conditioning treatment. Overall, this product is very gentle, and when used under a doctor's advice, very effective. Incidentally, T-Sal is also great as a short-term daily shampoo for times when I've traveled to cold winter climates where the air is very dry. This is a true staple for me!

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Hands down best dandruff shampoo.

About reviewer (175 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I keep my sensitive scalp happy with my Aveda Scalp Benefits Shampoo and Conditioner. But on the very rare occasion my scalp is acting finicky (itchy/flakey), that's when I reach for the T/Sal therapeutic shampoo. I notice my scalp improving and usually clearing after the first wash. There is no scent, it foams up nicely and rinses clean. Leave in for 3-5 minutes for best results. I have color-treated hair and I haven't noticed any problems, but YMMV. It's good stuff! Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 3% Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium C14 16 Olefin Sulfonate, Linoleamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Polyquaternium 22, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Citrate.

About reviewer (627 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

In terms of making your hair look aesthetically better it doesn't do much however it has relieved my frustratingly itchy scalp. I didn't really have dandruff, but for the past year my scalp was continuously itchy and other shampoos seemed to have no effect. After trying this shampoo my scalp is no longer itchy. Since this shampoo is sulfate free and doesn't have any bells or whistles I normally shampoo a second time especially in the summer.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Absolutely love this guy! I live in Canada and it is not available here so I get my cousin to bring it for me from the States whenever he comes. It is incredibly gentle yet amazing for removing build up and maintaining a healthy scalp. Once a week should be good to use. I hope they never stop making this. This really is a very unique product. P.S. I really wish people wouldn't complain about this not having any fragrance. This is actually a really really awesome thing! I don't think people realize how bad fragrance in personal products is for you. This has no smell... It is just super gentle. Really love it!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I used to use the Coal tar shampoo as a teenager. The T/Sal is really what I should have been using. Now that my skin has calmed down it's mostly my hair I fuss over. I have very fine hair and experimented for years with co-washing and heavy, moisturizing shampoos because I wanted to prevent the flat, dull, frizzy hair I get right after washing. Slowly though the just plain icky feeling on my scalp became unbearable. I like to feel clean after I shower. I really like this product and hope they never stop making it. I like that it's not drying or heavily fragranced. My hair feels very clean after I use this. I've gotten lazy about using conditioner after so I often just towel dry and apply a leave-in (Alterna CC cream). My hair has never looked or felt better.

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

It is rare to find a product so good that I actually feel compelled to write a review (I used to be an active MUA reviewer, but it's been quite some time since I've been back - hello ladies!). This product was so astonishing to me that I felt like I had to share, so that others might be helped. I switched shampoos recently to L'Oreal's Nutri-Gloss shampoo in the bright pink bottle and something in that really irritated my scalp - it became flaky and greasy at the same time. This has happened to me once before a long time ago, and not knowing how to handle it at the time, I was using zinc pyrithione shampoos like Head & Shoulders before I found that all it does is glue the flakes to your scalp so that when you stop using it, you experience an avalanche of dandruff. Thus began a year long struggle with scalp issues. Fast forward to now, and my scalp hasn't a problem for years until I used that cheap L'Oreal shampoo (which will go straight in the trash). I'm smarter and now know that the way to take care of a flaky scalp is to exfoliate then treat - and stay away from zinc pyrithione at all costs. It took me about a week to realize that flakes are now a problem again and I ran to Target last night to find a product that fit the bill. Neutrogena's T/Sal Shampoo (Scalp Build-up Control) is perfect, with exfoliating salicylic acid to get rid of the flakes. I knew the reviews were good as far as people being able to get rid of their sebhorritic dermatitis, dandruff, scalp acne etc etc. And they are all true. Shampoo (really massage it into your scalp), leave in for 5 mins, then wash out - in one wash all flakes were gone for me. What the other reviews don't tell you is that you'll have the most beautiful hair of your life afterwards. My hair is bouncy, so shiny, and softer than it's been in years. It's a clarifying shampoo, so the bottle doesn't recommend using it more than a couple times a week, but this wasn't drying at all for me. It's a little pricey at $7 for a 4.5oz bottle at Target compared to typical DS shampoo, but if your scalp problems have driven you to desperation, it's worth it to get the one thing that works. I think regardless of dandruff I'll probably keeping buying this forever if it continues working like this and use it to clarify my hair once a week for general hair/scalp health. I think others have commented on the smell - in a world where everything in the hair care aisle is heavily fragranced and smells like coconuts and rainbows, I think we've gotten used to everything smelling like that and it surprises people when this does not. But it doesn't smell bad, just neutral. It doesn't make your hair smell like anything after. I use a normal conditioner with this (which does smell good), and my hair just smells like the conditioner I use. Would highly recommend this product. If this is your first time dealing with a problematic scalp, don't waste your time and emotions going through every other product out there - skip straight to this and be done with it.

About reviewer (139 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I had dandruff since teenage,but it got lot worse last winter.My scalp got very itchy,flaky and few areas were too painful to touch combined with heavy hair loss.I even hesitated to go outside because of the flakes showing even after washing my hair.Since Head&shoulders didnt work,i googled and got the t-sal.After 4 washes,my scalp was almost back to normal.I applied twice during each wash and waited for few mins before rinsing off and rest of the hair with H&S. Now i use it whenever my scalp feels itchy or every week.I do loose more hair sometimes than usual during one of the washes,but i do nothing different.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

A must have if you get scalp acne or if you have hard water that messes with your shampoo! Can be used to remove soap residue from the skin as well!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen