4.0

Created with Sketch.
104 reviews
72%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

OK, this probably deserves a higher rating - because I suspect the effects depend mostly on one's nail type. I had the one with the brush, not the dropper, they look very similar. My nails are naturally strong, healthy, and I have no problem growing them. But at work I wash and disinfect constantly and handle rough abrasive materials, so I end up with a lot of small chips and tears and have to constantly file those down. So I've been trying various formulas on them to strengthen them an extra bit more, and provide a protective layer. So far, my understanding has been that with my reasonably strong but rough-handled nails, I should avoid hardeners, but not strengtheners. Well, turns out I'm best off using neither. With this product, I started using it after a 14 day vacation during which my nails grew to a nice length which I wanted to preserve upon returning to work, so I tried this. My nails started snapping off. Like three or four on the same day, the whole free edge. I tried it several times, thinking maybe the length itself was the problem, but every time I applied, whatever little free edge I had snapped off. It's been since August that I last used anything on my nails, and I can actually grow them now, even if I chip them at work they grow back quickly. Other than that this product was easy to work with. It applies well, no fuss, isn't the worst smelling one, dries touch-proof in a minute or two, has a nice shine. Didn't get wear at the tips immediately like I do with some, but then my tips broke off in a day or two so... I gave up long before using up half of the bottle, so I don't know if mine would've turned gluey in time like other users report. It might be annoying that the bottle is opaque, it's not easy to tell how much there is left. I think, like most such products, this probably works well for people whose natural nails are thin, bendy, prone to peeling and such. The ones among us with denser nail plates apparently do better just moisturising and promoting flexibility. It's because of the suspicion that it could work fine on thin nails that I still gave it three lippies. Not directly related to the product, but might spare you a disappointing purchase or few if you have nails like mine: If yours keep breaking whatever you put on them, maybe try a few weeks on prenatals (in my experience, the cheap generic ones work better than pricier brand ones, I also had lots of baby hairs at the hair line just days into starting the cheap ones) and fish oil, good hand cream and no polish, it worked on me. A glass file helps too, you can file little snags without taking off too much length and tearing the nail plate.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

My nails were wrecked after prolonged gel nail-use and ended up weak, brittle and soft. After using this for 3 weeks, according to the instructions i.e. freshly applying every couple of days, my nails don't break and are noticeably stronger! It's a pretty, clear varnish with the added bonus of strengthening, so no complaints from me!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

BE AWARE this is not to be mistaken for the serum in the dropper also in a gold bottle. Similar names but this one is applied like a polish. Pay attention to the reviews so you know which they are talking about.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I have terrible flaky weak nails, this treatment has been fantastic. My nails haven't grown quicker but they are definitely stronger. I reapply every couple of days, just one coat, then remove after a week. I'm now using it as a top coat over L'oreal color riche nail polish, and it has lasted the week. Normally nail polish on my hands would only last a couple of days without chipping. My new go HG, better than Herome nail strengthener

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I really like this product. Although I have not really noticed it making my nails growing a lot faster, it does make them so much stronger! The no longer peel and break , which is awesome because that have been so weak my whole life. Now I can finally grow out my nails without them breaking. All in all, this is a good product.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This is really good stuff, I was surprised by how well it works. I never have high hopes for nail strengtheners/growth products because I remember trying lots of them in my high school days and never getting the results the bottles claimed I would. But Sally Hansen has always had a pretty good track record so I gave this a shot. I only used it once a week instead of every other day the way the bottle says and I still had good results. It didn't flake and chip off as much as I thought it would and in a week I saw results. After two I was sold. My nails (and hair) grow pretty quickly but are brittle due to PCOS and this has helped a lot. I'll def keep using this.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Relaxed, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This is a good product. I have used various Sally products and this is one of the best one. They used to have one called "Diamond Strength" I believe, and that was the best one for me. This would have to be their runner-up. My mom is a manicurist and she uses this on her clients. TIPS: You have to PUSH your cuticles back with your nail everyday if you want your nails to grow as much as possible. I highly recommend doing this in the shower everyday or every other day. And once in a while rub lotion around the crease of your cuticles to keep them from getting rough and sticking. Also, file your nails down, don't cut them. This will keep them strong. I have very nice, long nails and these methods have always worked on me and all of my mom's clients.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I've been using this for my nails, not as frequently as advised, but it still made quite an improvement in my nails health and growth. The dropper is kind of ridiculous, I too had to use it as a dipper and rub it off the sides. Also, it would be nice to be able to see through the bottle to the product. BUT I WANT TO SHARE SOMETHING FANTASTIC. Every since I had my (now 2 year old) son my skin has been horrrrribbblleee. I just hate it, I have always had fairly clear skin, & for the past year especially I've been having horrible breakouts, uneven skin, wrinkles, dry skin, etc. etc. etc.... I don't know what possessed me to do this in the first place, but I put some on my face just a few spots at first then all over- the difference is freakin incredible- wrinkles=GONE. redness/uneveness=GONE my blemishes are healing SO quickly it's *ridiculous*. Weird as heck, but I'm pretty excited! :P

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I used to be a nail bitter and finally quit the habit so I have been using this for my nail growth support. I dont know about anybody else but i am seeing big improvements after apply this...dont really like the gel feeling if it though. Dont like the doppler either. Anyway, my nails were brittle during its growth, kept breaking, it was fragile but after applying this daily it got better over time. Good product overall.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This is a silly product, It was expensive for a weird applicator that seemed like it didn't get on the product at all. It came as a gel and didn't dry at all it just sat there until it rubbed off on me/things around me. It was moisturizing to my cuticles though, but sadly, nothing for my nails. Won't be seeing me with this product any time soon!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel