3.8

Created with Sketch.
450 reviews
66%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 days ago

This has been my go to cleanser for 3 years now and works great using after the precleanse oil. Great for sensitive skin that's even prone to flare ups as it gives a gentle cleanse. Depending on where you buy this it can be on the pricey side but you get 3+ months out of one large bottle so it's a great investment!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Entering the 40s came with skin changes calling for reassessing my cleansing needs. That sums up my face cleaning mid life crisis and this was rapidly solved with the introduction of this cleansing gel. For a reference, I do NOT use: heavy foundation or waterproof mascara. I use make-up lightly: eyeshadow, blush, tinted cream. I use this cleaner with clarisonic or foreo. It cleans well and I do not feel it dries out my sensitive combo skin. I like to follow up with a light serum or PC liquid BHA occasionally. I bought the giant bottle with a pump and transfers it into their sample size bottle, which I would recommend to try out. Sephora now sells Dermalogica. I like to order straight from Dermalogica as they are very generous with their samples. Other cleanser I used to love and I cannot use as much: Avene (Cleanance) it also helps with mild zits on the face or body. I do use my facial gel cleanser on by back as well after work out to avoid zits. Avene was slightly better than Dermalogica at this. I love to use Dr.Haushka Cleansing Cream afterwards if I need some hydration. Been using this for over 20 years. Mmmm...need to review:-) Other points to note: Scent: Neutral, not floral, maybe a very subtle touch of lavender, nothing overwhelming. Texture: Clear gel, easy to pour on clarisonic or hands. This gel does NOT foam. It does not leave any oily film or residue. Value: Fairly economical, you need a small quirt (from the travel size bottle) I hope this helps, thanks to our MakeupAlley community for sharing!

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I bought this cleanser after hearing huge things about this brand and hearing excellent reviews on their special gel cleanser. As a woman with very sensitive skin, I was very exited to purchase and try this, being scared of trying a great deal of facial cleansers. I like the amount of foam when you rub the gel into your face (done with hands and a foreo Luna 2). It feels there is far less foaming than really soapy cleansers, but it is way better than those that barely foam up at all. It is comfortable, and easy to use. There is just one problem with it for me, that will not affect most (possibly all) users of this product. I like my face to feel fresh and cleansed (not so much that it is tight) post washing, but it doesn’t really feel that way at all. It is an excellent cleanser, but I wish I could say my face feels clean and washed post use. It is such a shame because this is an excellent cleanser and teamed up with my Foreo, it is brilliant for my face. I hope I can find a similar one that works just as well, but gives my skin that fresh, cleansed feeling post use. Definitely recommend if you’re not too fussy about that post washed feeling.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Other

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

On my third bottle of this. Not my everyday. Tend to use it seasonally and sporadically BUT I love it and that’s why I’ve repurchased 3 times now. I am 54. My skin is sensitive/ combo and I’ve never had a problem with this cleanser. It doesn’t irritate or dry out my skin. Yes it’s pricey but you get what you pay for.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Expensive, drying, irritating cleanser. Has sulfates and essential oils which are terrible for your skin. Do not buy this crap if you care about your skin. I made that mistake. I have no idea how beauticians can promote this crap. It’s terrible for the skin. Hopefully I can help someone here who may be suffering from bad skin that’s not due to hormones. I had great skin throughout my 20’s and I used nothing but gentle makeup wipes to take makeup off. In the shower just rinse my face with water if I sweated or felt dirty. Sometimes I never even wet my face in the shower so to not dry my face out. I live in New York where the winters are brutal. I got compliments on my skin. I hit 30 years old and decided I should “start taking care of my skin” prevent aging, etc.. boy did I make a mistake. Cleaners, even gentle dried the heck out of my skin. Moistures break me the fudge out. Non comedogenic moisturizers dried me out. Oil cleansers, wtf was I thinking for my acne prone skin. Basically, For the past year I have tried quite a few products and ended up going from great skin to being an active dermatologist patient. My skin is finally going back to normal after I’ve stopped trying new products and stop trying to fix my problems with products. My advice, keep skincare/makeup minimal, use a gentle makeup wipe or bidoerma micellar water to remove makeup.or try erase your face cloths for makeup removal.. Let your skin heal itself if you are suffering from breakouts. Most acne treatments only irritate the crap out of your skin anyways and just worsens the skin condition. Always Check your ingredients on cosdna or skincarisma or Beautypedia. Sometimes less is more for some people.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I'm on my third bottle with this cleanser. I purchased this at the Dermalogica counter about a year ago because it was marketed as a gentle cleanser. While my skin can be quite oily in the summer, it tends to be drier in the winter. Plus I'm acne-prone, so I need something that cleanses gently, yet effectively. I think that the Special Cleansing Gel covers this. A little goes a long way, so one bottle, while expensive, will easily last you 3-4 months. If you cleanse twice, it can be a little drying, so this is something to bear in mind. I wouldn't say that it does anything special: it cleanses well, it doesn't dry out my skin, it doesn't cause acne and it doesn't doesn't have overpowering fragrance. I don't think that it warrants its price tag, to be honest, but it's really challenging to find a good cleanser that effectively does the above. One last thing to note. It looks like Dermalogica have changed the ingredients (at least in the UK), so I have copied out the list below as seen on their website (https://www.dermalogica.co.uk/special-cleansing-gel/3,en_GB,pd.html): Water/Aqua/Eau, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Quillaja Saponaria Bark Extract Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Cymbopogon Winterianus Herb Oil, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Coco-Betaine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Capryloyl Glycine, Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate, Methylpropanediol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, PPG-5-Ceteth-20, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA

About reviewer (236 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Kinky, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

overall: 8/10 This is a decent cleanser. I got a free sample as a gift with purchase - it's a foaming gel cleanser, nothing too exciting. It contains SLS so if you have sensitive skin I would avoid this one. I use it as a second step to wash off my makeup remover (Lush Ultrabland) and any excess makeup still on my face and it does a good job. I just think it's easily dupable with a drugstore cleanser like the Avene Cleanance gel. I wouldn't repurchase because of this.

About reviewer (156 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Strips moisture more than fairy dishwashing liquid. Not at all a gentle cleanser. Read the expert review on beautypedia and find out what you are paying for. Very disappointed with this cleanser. It aggravated my skin and made my skin 3x as oily. Stay away!

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have tried Dermalogica products in the past and have not been very impressed. Despite that, I decided to give this cleanser a try. It turns out I actually like it. My face doesn't feel dry or stripped after I've used it and it seems to cleanse my combo skin well. I've had no adverse reaction to it, despite my skin being sensitive. I will probably repurchase at some point, but that said, I prefer my Kiehl's and First Aid Beauty cleansers to this one.

About reviewer (280 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

One of the worst, stripping cleansers you can use. I was surprised to see cheap sulfates as the main ingredient. I have normal combination skin. This strips all the moisture out and leaves it with a tight feeling. The only plus is the nice lavender scent. Will be using the rest as a brush cleaner since I am sure it will strip the makeup off good.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal

HairBrunette

EyesBrown