CHANEL double eyeliner compact/la ligne de Chanel (noir et marine)

CHANEL double eyeliner compact/la ligne de Chanel (noir et marine)

4.8

20 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Oh ! thanks for posting on this and providing the picture: I LOVED this eyeliner. I too would buy it again in a heart beat.
nobody makes as good a cake eyeliner anymore....

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 8/24/2018 12:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This was hands down the best eyeliner I ever used. And the brush was idiot proof. I’d consider selling a kidney to have it again

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 6/22/2010 2:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

this was a top of the line eyeliner.

the black was ultra black and the blue was a navy with zest... it was magnificent.

note I keep saying WAS -- which means it was discontinued and to buy one now, might mean an eye infection so as wonderful as it WAS it is time to move on.

loved it and left it.. discontinued item.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The Chanel cake eyeliner produces the best effect in an eyeliner that I want, which is a black definite line that does not wear off. Over the top of the eyeliner I use a LM eyeshadow "Black Smoke" to soften the effect. I bought the eyeliner many years ago and still have a lot left. If I had known this product was going to be discontinued I would have bought a spare. I use a MAC fine eyeliner brush in 210 to apply the eyeliner. I agree with one reviewer there will never be anything made to replace this product. I had a clipping from a newspaper that I kept in a wallet that was stolen and it read "if you find something you love buy a lifetime supply of it because if you don't it will probably be discontinued."
EDIT: 4/2/11
I have JUST FOUND the Chanel Professional Eyeliner Noir et Marine. There were two compacts, I did not buy both because I am now sixty and think one will last me the rest of my life. I read the reviews for the La Ligne De Chanel eyeliner duo and there were a lot of comments about the colour being "greyish", or the eyeliner "smudging or not lasting through the day." The reviews were the deciding factor in my ordering the Chanel Professional Noir Marine at $63.99 (shipping included). It produces a perfect true black that does not budge. Well worth the money.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

EDIT 10/2011: Bumped this to 5 lippies. This finally had become my ultimate HG for tightlining (surpassing Laura Mercier, Guerlain, and pencil eyeliners). When I owned Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Eyeliner, I remembered I have this in my drawer so I tried it again (this time for tightlining) to compare. Wow, this is much better than Laura Mercier's - it's much more dramatic (blacker) and stayed longer in the waterline. It's also a huge plus that it does not sting as LM's. I owned this compact for 2 years (kept in my makeup drawer, forgotten), so using this now may cause a huge eye infection. Been using this for a month already so I'm soooooooooooooo glad I didn't have a pink eye yet (lol). I used a good push liner brush (my favorite one is that of Nars) to tightline. I'd place the flat end of the brush on my tear duct, close my eyes, and drag it to the other end (like how you would use Guerlain's Loose Kohl Eyeliner). This would line both upper and lower waterlines instantly. When using this technique, this is definitely much cleaner than Guerliain's and much more defined.
This still sucks for upper lid though, so I'm using Bobbi Brown's Gel eyeliner for that.


OLD REVIEW: Ok, I'd really really want to love this. If done correctly, it gives the precision of a liquid eyeliner but much easier to put on. It comes in the classic black compact and it's CHANEL. Though it does last long on me (8-10 hours), it CREASES so bad after the first 5 hours. I could see a perfect black/blue line on my crease in the afternoon. If it weren't for that I would've love this more than Fluidline :(


on 1/15/2009 2:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is an amazing eyeliner, the packaging is so cute and the quality is amazing. I have had this pallet ages and there is no dent yet. I like the black best but I often use the blue, often I mix with the black to give a real nice dark blue black colour. I use most days, i keep a little plastic screw top pot (like a small mineral makeup pot) full with water in my makeup drawer, so I just dip my brush in the water and line my eyes, That way i dont have to go into the bathroom, makes it real quick. I love this eyeliner, but I think it cost to much, in NZ it is over $100, I have found a nice comparison from kryolin for NZ$15 so would get that.


on 10/30/2008 3:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this cake liner for many years.and so disapointed that it's discontinued. so I bought couple.
it's Lasts all day & doesn't smudge at all.
I use as wet liner ( using Mac eye line brush) I love really deep black eye liner I mean real jet black, but I heard that deep navy color makes
make your white part eye clear white. so I use the navy one over the black.
only one thing I hate this eyeliner is that surface get so hard because I use as wet liner.so I have to to scrape off the surface once a while.
it's looks ugry cause it......


on 9/11/2008 4:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE 9/13/2010

Bumped this up to 5 lippies overall and bumped it down to 3 lippies in terms of price, because not only is it HG status, but jesus christ in the year+ that I've been using it I still haven't made a dent in it which makes the price tag a good deal ($40+ for eyeliner a good deal? think I'm crazy? keep reading)

-amazing quality! has amazing lasting power and doesn't smudge or give me raccoon eyes, EVER, and I live in New Jersey where the summers are insanely humid.

-offers really precise lines

-Chanel packaging is kick ass and makes me feel fancy when I look in the built in compact mirror and line my eyes hahaha

-I can create and adjust colors by mixing the black and blue - deep inky black to deep navy to true blue.

-I just plain love it over any other eyeliner I've ever tried (Lancome pencils, MAC Fluidline, Tarte Pencil, Urban Decay 24/7, and all the Maybelline/L'oreal pencils and liquid liners).

-I see this lasting me years. and years. and years as long as I don't lose it (fingers crossed for that one).

-The price is totally negligible when you think about the fact that you don't have to repurchase for years or spend any money and time looking for other things that work well. If I do end up losing this one I'll gladly repurchase a new duo because this stuff is better than anything else I've ever tried.

I'm also glad I snagged up one of the last noir/marine ones because the new Chanel cake liner only comes in a duo that's black and shimmery grey/black and by the way is much much much smaller than the noir/marine duo, I think Chanel caught onto the fact that the stuff lasts forever and women weren't repurchasing it frequently enough for that reason. But even the new duo at $45 is probably worth it because it'll last forever.

UPDATE
This stuff lasts FOREVER. I don't think I'll ever finish it. There isn't even a dent in it yet. I won't have to buy eyeliner for years. Well worth the price. Using Visine to wet your brush makes it last even longer throughout the humid months.

*UPDATE*
Yay I just got my repurchase in the mail through EBay. This stuff does not smudge and smear like eyeliner and it doesn't disappear or crease like other cake liners. Definitely my HG eyeliner, forget urban decay 24-7 in zero, Chanel is the best.

I forgot about this stuff! I swiped this from my cousin while I was in Korea about 6 years ago. I used it for a year until it got stolen from me! Talk about karma LOL.
But anyway when I was using this, I distinctly remember one of my girlfriends asking "What kind of eyeliner do you use? I notice your makeup never smudges."
I've been on a quest for the perfect black liner, now I remember I had found it already! I'm buying this off e-bay right now since its been discontinued.
It gets a 4 overall because it's so expensive.
The packaging is great though, Chanel looks so chic, the brush is just perfect for the liner, and the mirror is also a packaging plus.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 8/15/2008 1:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I will never use another eyeliner again. I usually didn't use eyeliner very often but after I started using this, I wear eyeliner all the time. Yes, it's expensive for eyeliner, but it lasts a long time! It is a double palette (blue & black) and what you do is wet the brush then dab it in the palette and create your look. It's like paint. The fine brush lets me draw thin or thick, and gives preciseness. I can make the color very VIVID(which I LOOVE), or a little soft, depending on how much water i put on the brush. The blue color just doesn't do it for me though, and I find myself not using it, but I'm absolutely in love with the black!! Once it dries, it does not smudge easily (but comes off easily when you TRY to take it off), and you can make it look like a liquid eyeliner, or a soft pencil eyeliner. The brush is the best part about it, though. I highly recommend this to ANYBODY who uses eyeliner on their upper lids.

The key is to learn how much water to use with it.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This product is discontinued. I bought the last two this week at my local department store. I absolutely adore cake liners. I cried like a baby when they discontinued my Le Regarde - never did I like a product so much. The Le Regarde had a cake liner, cake mascara, and black shadow. I actually went through the cake mascara and liner, and the shadow, well, that I hardly touched. This is the same cake liner - it makes a perfect line, classy, clean and there. I hate gel liners, I can't get a great line, the consistency is weird, yuck. This gives you control, a true black, it feels great on the eye. The blue is gorgeous - it's a navy but the trick is not to use too much water. I know they last a long time, but I did get to the bottom of my le regarde so that tells you that I used it every single day. I was using Shiseido's wet pen liner and I never loved it - brush too thick, and I would smudge it with a pencil afterwards. I bought so many pencils, gel liners, wet liners, never being able to replace my cake liner. Once this is discontinued, that is it, I doubt I ever will find a cake liner with that much product or at that quality. And so, I bought the last two - hey I lost a great pencil once and when I went to replace it, it was discontinued. so I learned my lesson with Chanel. Buy the product if they tell you it's discontinuing - you won't regret it, and now I have enough for 10 years or so. That makes it $10 for eyeliner a year. Now that's a bargain! UPDATE - this stays and stays and stays. Put it on, lining my upper and lower lids inside as well at 7 am. Humidity and rain, tearing and yawning, my shadows didn't last but that liner hung on right till I took it off at 10:30 at night. As close to permanent as you are going to get, it didn't irritate my eyes whatsoever. The only this is I don't care for the brush it comes with so much so I bought a MAC tiny tiny liner brush, the tiniest they have, and that will give me the sharp line I want. This is not a gel, so no slanted brushes. You need to be sure to use the slimmest, tiniest brush with it, and just the right amount of water, but it is so easy to use you will wonder why you are fussing with gels. You won't be sorry!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Back to Top