4.6

Created with Sketch.
184 reviews
93%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range
$8.99 on Bed Bath & Beyond
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

I remember years ago when Shania Twain mentioned she keeps her skin from drying out on long flights by using Bag Balm (Shania had grown up on a farm) and everyone was like, what's Bag Balm?? I have to say I love this too. I just picked up two of the 8 oz tins at Walgreens today - BOGO free - awesome! I'll probably be set for years. The tin has changed a bit - it has darker labels now and looks slightly less retro, the cow isn't as prominent and instead of showing how it's for cow udders, it does't mention that, it says it's for "Hand and Body". When I first bought Bag Balm I worried the smell and texture might be similar to Elizabeth Arden's 8-Hour Cream, which I made the mistake of buying at a duty free on a trip for my dry skin - ugh! It stinks! really bad and is a scary bright orange colour and too thick to spread. But Bag Balm is a light yellow, spreadable balm with hardly any smell at all and totally defeats dry skin and is a savour for lips making them so smooth and plump looking. When you look at Bag Balm in the jar it kind of looks like "lube", like mechanics use. I decant into smaller jars for bedside and purse. Love!

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

My 60-year-old aunt raves about Bag Balm. She's got about four tins all about in her home. I picked it up when I was in California (I'm from Canada so it's not as available here). The only thing I can say it is great for is lip balm. In the winter and sometimes even other seasons, my lip balms are too weak and no matter how much I rub in my lips still become dry and they peel. But Bag Balm is always sufficient. I know the ointment is good for cuts and I would say it's a good occlusive. However, it doesn't speed up the healing from the pimples I pick from what I've seen. People shouldn't expect the product to be absorbed. It's an ointment, it's petroleum jelly. It's such an effective healing aid because it doesn't disappear in skin. Adjust the amount you use depending on where it is and when.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I finally bought this green tin after a friend swore by it. The scent is lanolin, a Superior emollient. It’s the exact scent of the jars my father had imported from Europe, where he grew up in the countryside with rough winters. Lanolin is the #1 skin salve & healer and though I didn’t like the scent then, like others, it’s nostalgic & I love it now. My cracked fingertips & gnarly cuticles are healed in 24 hours after slathering them in Bag Balm.

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought the small tube for my chapped lips at CVS. This cured a stubborn dry spot over night. I also tried putting this on my cuticles & it worked very well. I've bought the mini cube to carry around, and will probably by the larger size once I run out. The next use will be for my hands & heels. It does smell medicinal, due to the anti-septic ingredient--it's not too bad (kind of reminds me of carmex).

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My first review in years, and happy to come back to review this HG product. You may think I’m crazy, but every night after finishing my cleansing, chemical exfoliation, and moisturizing routine, I slather this good stuff all over my face. I have been doing this for at least two years now (still only half-way through the tin, one will last you forever) and words can not describe what a difference it has made. I have the driest, flakiest, most prone to rosacea and eczema face in the world - yet as long as I put this on before going to bed, I wake up looking dewy and refreshed. It doesn’t break me out either because it contains an antiseptic, 8-hydroxyquinoline sulfate 0.3%. I have searched the internet to see if anyone does the same to no avail - it seems most people will at most use this for hands, feet, and lips. Honestly, if the smell doesn’t bother you (and if it does, just give it a couple nights, it won’t bother you anymore), I highly suggest adding this to the end of your night time face routine. If you regularly slug it up as it is with vaseline, switch to this and see the results. Just make sure you use a pillowcase you don’t care about. (:

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought a large tin of this several years ago from a tractor supply place. The winters in upstate NY can be a bit cold and my skin isn't a huge fan. My lips get chapped and the skin on my fingers and knuckles will dry and split from hand washing so often. I noticed as I was getting older my dryness of my skin was only getting worse so my search began. I do not like to over apply lotions especially to my hands because I have a nasty habit of touching my face and lotions cause me to breakout. I tried several heavier emollients that I would only apply at night and none of them were giving me the best results so my dad recommended this stuff. I thought this was only for cow nips ???? I had also bought some cotton gloves on a suggestion from another person. So at night I would dab a little on my lips then slather my hands up good and pull those cotton gloves on. Upon waking in the morning the gloves would come off and I wouldn't give my hands a good wash. I was amazed. The problem was 90 percent better after the first night. I do this every night during the cold season and my hands never split and bleed anymore.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Great stuff.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

my mammaw always had this around. it smells horrible but she was the pickiest, most cantankerous woman you've ever met, so if she liked it...it must work. i've had the same tin of it for probably 20 years (that's not an exaggeration,) but they sell little lip balm tubes now if you feel like wasting money.

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Smells faintly of motor oil, at least it does to me and it reminds me of my dad when he's been working in his garage. Lightly tapping your finger on the balm is enough to apply as a night time lip balm for soft, smooth and moisturized lips. I toss and turn all night but it pretty much stays put. Also great for feet and heals but make sure to wear socks. It burns a little when I apply to my face.

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a nostalgia, comfort product for me. I grew up on a small dairy farm in the 50's and vividly remember this green can sitting on a shelf in the stable, and my dad rubbing it on the cows' udders. Sometimes he's rub it on his own hands. I'd buy this balm if only for that reason. But I do love the product! I actually enjoy the weird smell, and use it on my chapped lips and hands. An old standard!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.