Biologique Recherche Lotion P50V

Biologique Recherche Lotion P50V

3.8

21 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 5/31/2016 10:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Not really a review, but I started using this product a little less than a week ago. I have noticed more active breakouts (still in places I would normally break out) but more than usual. Is it normal to purge when starting to use this product, and if so how long does it take to start clearing your breakouts? I have heard from some that purging is not real, but from others that it is normal and most likely will happen, anyone have any advice?



on 9/4/2015 7:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOTION P50:

Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Lactic Acid, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Citric Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Magnesium Chloride, Malic Acid, Vinegar (Acetum), Phytic Acid, Salicylic Acid, Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Rumex Acetosa Leaf Extract, Myrtus Communis Extract, Commiphora Myrrha Resin Extract, Allium Cepa (Onion) Bulb Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Flower/Leaf Oil, Sulfur, Sorbitol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate.



LOTION P50W:

INGREDIENTS: Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Propylene Glycol, Lactic Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Magnesium Chloride, Malic Acid, Vinegar (Acetum), Phytic Acid, Citric Acid, Quillaja Saponaria Bark Extract, Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Capsicum Frutescens Fruit Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Sulfur, Allantoin, Sodium Salicylate, Serine, Urea, Sorbitol, TEA-Lactate, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Benzoate.



LOTION P50V:

Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Lactic Acid,
Ethoxydiglycol, Vinegar (Acetum), Magnesium Chloride, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Phytic Acid, Spongilla Lacustris Spicule Extract, Yeast Extract (Faex Extract), Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Capsicum Frutescens Fruit Extract, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Seed Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Sulfur, Sodium Salicylate, Salicylic Acid, Sorbitol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Metabisulfite, Sodium Benzoate.

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


on 12/5/2014 7:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The hype was right, this is honestly the best product I have ever used.

I have sensitive, dry skin that it is nevertheless prone to breakouts, and yet as the previous reviewer said, I can use just about anything else on my face, and with this, no matter what, I have smooth, even, toned glowing skin. Seriously, I have been using this straight, morning and night, for over a month now and my skin has never looked better -- I have only gotten one blemish, which for me is completely unheard of, and I'm pretty sure it was already on it's way before I started using this.

I use it with every wash, after my hydrating toner (opposite of what Caroline Hirons does), and about five drops on a dampened cotton round is enough for me. I press it on to my skin, let it sit for about two minutes, and then follow with whatever serums, moisturizers and oils I'm using, usually one of each in that order (just a tip: this is gentle but it's still fairly potent, so I wouldn't advise using with any other AHA/BHA or retinol products - alternate nights if necessary).

Now, I have to preface all this by adding: you MUST use a good moisturizer after using this. It's not that the product is drying, because it's not, but it isn't hydrating either and does not take the place of a serum or oil or other hydrator. So no matter how oily or acneic you are, using this on it's own for longer than week or two will cause your skin to rebound, become irritated, produce more oil, and eventually be worse off (as is the case with any other exfoliating treatment).

Other than that, I honestly cannot say enough good things about this. I am truly hooked, and even though I still have most of my bottle left, I am already off to order another one -- to date, Rescue Spa, Paul Labrecque, Aida Bicaj and Vicki Morav all offer Biologique Recherch products online.

9 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 3/9/2014 1:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite product ever. Honestly, I can use a basic Cetaphil cleanser, gentle face lotion and this stuff does all the work for everything. The only problem is now I cannot find it ANYWHERE!!!!

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/6/2014 11:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

LOVE THIS PRODUCT. PERIOD END OF STORY. I have used Obaji Nu Derm on and off for two years. It was great at controlling my blemish proned skin...however, like all knowledgeable gals we can't be using HQ forever. This is such a great alternate for your skin regime. You can rotate with other products from time to time to bump up the skin. Pores are definitely small and tight. Cannot say enough good things. I haven't tried the other products yet. As I am currently so happy with this one!!

Okay, months later...cannot stand this product! Made my skin worse! Sorry. What a nightmare. Stick with Obaji if your skin is problematic like mine. Use the Nuderm or the C System. Use your Retin-A....done.

On that note, might try using 1x per week.....see how that goes.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This product deserves HG status without a shadow of a doubt. My skin has been red, dry, flakey and perpetually dehydrated. After discovering Caroline Hirons blog this was the first change I made to my skin care regime and I honestly noticed a difference the morning after the first use. Try this........you won't be disappointed!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I ordered my P50V from vickimorav.com. She has both the original 1970 version with phenol as well as the new formulation without, and offers P50, P50W and P50V in various sizes. I got P50V 1970 (with phenol) in the smallest size 1.7oz. This is supposed to be a good way to get your skin used to chemical exfoliants and to prepare for the more harsh P50.
Let me tell you-I have used Proactiv's Gentle Toner with glycolic acid, which didn't burn at all in my opinion, and Alba Botanica's Hawaiian Toner, which has fruit extracts and burned for a while until my skin got used to it, but P50V is a true chemical exfoliant, and it BURNS. Like, your skin goes numb, but tingly, you can feel it eating away any gunk that is in your pores, taking off the top layer of your face, tingling the whole time. The area around my mouth gets red when I use it, and I use it sparingly-just a few drops on a cotton round. The burn fades and it leaves my skin slightly tacky, but that feeling goes away after I put on moisturizer. Now, the burn is a good thing. Learn to love the burn!
My skin is combo-oily, with hormonal acne on my cheeks and lower jaw. I have been using my P50V for a week. While it is no miracle for me-nothing is-it is definitely, SLOWLY, balancing my skin. It is summer, and I live in the san fernando valley-we're talking 80 degrees on a GOOD day people-and my skin is producing noticeably less oil daily than it was a week ago-as it gets hotter outside when I would usually become more and more oily throughout the day. I don't know yet if this is helping to reduce hyperpigmentation and acne scars, which I have a lot of, but I will keep monitoring my skin over the next few weeks and put an update when I can. I learned about P50 from Caroline Hirons blog and BodyTalk video with Pixiwoo, and I think everyone should check that out and then get some P50 stat.
On a side note, I highly recommend registering with vickimorav.com and purchasing P50 from there. The website offers free shipping, isn't too costly (my purchase was $24) and she throws in a ton of additional Biologique Recherche sample products so you can try out the other items in their line. When you register, there is a place to put "how did you hear of us?", and if you select MakeupAlley you will get hooked up. Check the picture of my delivery box to see what I mean :). Also, if you already use P50 or other BR products, if you spend $150 or more, put code SUMMER2013 and get 10% off!
*Update 7/11/13* I think I'm purging guys. For the past few weeks I've had tiny bumps and clogged pores concentrated on my lower left cheek and jawline. I have a few spots on my right lower cheek as well, but it's about 99% on the left. There are a few other possible factors: I unwisely introduced three new items (moisturizer, serum and sunscreen) to my face, maybe one a week, and quickly pulled each one as my skin continued to get bumpier. I also have been eating a lot of sugar and not drinking enough water, but...I'll update once I notice a change.
*Update 8/8/13* Skin is calming down, but I've also introduced Alpha H Liquid Gold a few times a week (alternating with P50V), which I highly recommend as it has immediate results (not miracles, but definitely noticeable-you'll see). Still using this regularly, but I have learned to put a lot less on each cotton pad-I was putting 5-7 drops, when you really only need 2 or 3-and I mean it, 2 or 3 for the entire face, and another 2 or 3 on another cotton pad for the neck. Too much will strip your skin and make it angry!
**Update 11/3/13** First, for those of you who know and love the website vickimorav.com, there is a new discount code: MUAE2013, and it works for orders of $150 and up. Secondly, I am still using my P50V, in yet another variation. I've shifted to a more natural skincare lineup (hemp and marula oil for moisture is working beautifully-loooove hemp oil) and I think it's helping to calm down my skin. After cleansing, I hold my cotton ball over a bottle of either rosewater or orange blossom water (usually the latter) and get it pretty damp, then I add a few drops of P50V on top. Not quite what Caroline Hirons recommends (I think she says to use an exfoliating toner first, then a hydrating one immediately after) but it works for me. I think I will get another bottle of Alba's Hawaiian toner and use that one for daytime, and keep my active glycolic/lactic/p50v magic for night :) Also! If you were curious, my skin is still consistently more regulated oil-wise-I don't produce too much, maybe a teeny bit too little if anything (but I'm tinkering around with my oil moisturizers to address that). So I still recommend P50V for exfoliation/oil regulation and I hope you have success with it!

16 of 17 people found this helpful.


on 3/18/2012 8:36:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I haven't seen this reviewed in awhile. The spa that I work out just started carrying the entire Biologique line but the one product we can't keep on the shelf is the P50.

I've been using the P50V since January, just about to finish the bottle and cannot believe the HUGE difference it has made on my very messed up skin.

I suffer from cystic acne, get regular peels, been on Obagi, retin A makes things worst for me

Since using P50V my skin did break out a bit at first, but I just went one full month with only a minor flare up which never surfaced. My pores are tighter my skin brighter. The estetician who brought this in said you will never want to stop using this (and I thought yeah right) and I have to agree.

The other thing I noticed when I go to dermaplane now no dead skin is coming off like it used to. The P50V is a gentle exfoliant so that is proof that is dailly removing dead skin not like a major peel.

If you have not tried this in awhile or never before pick it up! the P50V is the strongest. They have others for different skin types.

Oh and the smell is back and at first offensive and now I'm used to it!


on 12/29/2010 2:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

DO NOT use this if you are allergic to apple cider vinegar. Within 24 hours of use, I broke out in countless skin colored little bumps on my forehead, parts of my chin, and area of my cheeks near my nose. This same reaction happened to me many years ago when I tried a home remedy of Bragg's apple cider vinegar as a toner. Cider vinegar is listed as one of the lower ingredients on the label of P50V, so I thought I'd be OK... not so at all! I haven't seen any other reviews of people having this reaction to the P50 or P50V, so I guess I'm a rare bird... and I don't even consider myself as having ultra-sensitive skin.

I stopped using the product and the bumps are slowly beginning to go away (I think), but I'm not a happy camper and I hope they don't get worse or take weeks to fade. Other than the cider vinegar reaction, I really liked this product and I wish I could use it; it took away all my dryness, made my skin very even and supple. But the bumps are a horrible side effect and simply do not make it worth it to continue. I can find something better to use. Oh well. I'm going to try the P50W which doesn't have any cider vinegar at all... hopefully that will be OK on my skin.

Again, TO ALL OF YOU WHO ARE ALLERGIC TO APPLE CIDER VINEGAR, do not (I repeat!) DO NOT use this.


on 5/1/2010 11:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Skin Condition- Sensitive, Combo/ Dry, Acne Prone with slight redness and some large pores. Major concern is getting rid of some past acne marks.
4/9- Received 4/9, Evening. Although it didn't smell like roses, and I would never commission a perfume to be made in honor of it, it didn't smell as bad as everyone said (just in case you wondered, yes it's the original version with Phenol in it). The smell reminded me of throat lozenges - the kind that make your throat numb. You know the smell, that slight menthol and faux- cherry smell. As for application, I applied 3 drops to a damp cotton ball and noticed immediately my cotton ball was a little smudged with dirt, even though I had just removed my makeup and washed my face. It felt a little tingling, but nothing awful and went away after a few minutes. I had a small whitehead on my chin, which was immediately wiped away and left skin very glowy.
4/10- Morning. Skin very soft, but woke up to two small whiteheads, which where again wiped away with 3 drops of the toner.
4/30- Haven't noticed anything spectacular yet. Since using a couple of blemishes popped up, but left within the week they came. I tried the damp cotton ball method, right now I using it straight-up, just to see if potency has anything to do with seeing results. It feels a little heavy, especially with my morning SPF, I think its the glycerine. I'm going to use up the bottle, maybe by the time I reach the bottom something will happen, as of now, nothing is.

Back to Top