La Roche-Posay Lipikar - Syndet Soap-Free Cleansing Gel

La Roche-Posay Lipikar - Syndet Soap-Free Cleansing Gel

4.6

28 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, GLYCERIN, DISODIUM COCOAMPHODIACETATE, COCO-BETAINE, PEG-7 GLYCERYL COCOATE, SODIUM CHLORIDE, SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE, GLYCOL DISTEARATE, SODIUM GLYCOLATE, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, CITRIC ACID, NIACINAMIDE, PEG-55 PROPYLENE GLYCOL OLEATE, PEG-75 SHEA BUTTER GLYCERIDES, POLYQUATERNIUM-7, PPG-5-CETETH-20, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM BENZOATE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE

Start your review


on 10/20/2018 12:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Preface: I use this as a facial cleanser.

I've been trying to pare down my skincare regime and stick to simple and gentle products. I didn't want a cleanser that would dry out my skin, and I heard good things about it from one of my favorite YouTubers - Karima McKimmie so I decided to give it a try.

There is really nothing wrong about this cleanser. It is a light foaming gel formula that does not clog my pores. My skin is not extra parched, nor is it extra moisturized when I use this. So that's why I gave it a middle of the road rating. It is not bad, but also not exceptional. I am trying other inexpensive drugstore options like Cerave that seem to do a similar job, so for the moment I have not repurchased.



on 1/1/2018 10:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Got this free with purchase of the lipikar baume (love that stuff). I use it as both a body wash and a facial cleanser. Gently removes all my makeup without stripping my skins natural oils. Just be careful around eyes as it can sting. Has a faint scent but no added fragrance and a little goes a long way.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 8/7/2017 5:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use this for my second cleanse, face and neck, and alternate between this and the Avene Emollient Cleansing Gel.

+ Efficient. Small pinky-sized amount enough to cleanse whole face and neck.
+ No lingering fragrance. Luscious texture when massaged with water, foams up better than the Avene ECG because of the SLS in it (don't be scared of SLS in cleansers - if it's a small amount and being washed off your face, the scaremongering the beauty media gives is not valid).
+ Goes on sale often enough that the discounted price is good value (at least at Priceline, Australia)
+ Lasts a very long time. I have been using the 400ml pump bottle since October 2016, and have still not finished it!
+ I emailed LRP and the pH is 5, so perfect for facial skin too.

- I only use this as a second cleanser for thoroughly cleansing in the evening. I find that on the odd occasion when I use it in the morning, my skin feels slightly dry.
- Not at all transparent packaging, if this is a concern for you. 100% opaque packaging is not my favourite.

I'd buy again! Cleans my skin well and gently. Also a great product for travelling and minimising toiletries as it doubles up as a face and whole body cleanser, as well as a make up brush cleanser.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 9/5/2016 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this with the intention to use as a facial cleanser (I won't take credit for this, I saw YouTuber and blogger Karima McKimmie talk about using this way) and I cannot be happier. I am not one to spend a lot of money on cleansers, it literally stays on the skin for like 2 minutes and you wash it all down the drain. This product is cheap (you can get it for 40% off when Priceline has its epic skincare sale) and it comes in an industrial size pump.

I have sensitive skin and I suffer from eczema around my forehead and eyebrows if I am not careful about my skincare and stress. This cleanser is gentle, cleans and does not aggravate my skin. My only critique is it foams up a little making it a little annoying to use with my Foreo.

All in all, a great product that is cheap and effective. Recommend and will repurchase.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 2/13/2016 8:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I never wrote a review before .. But I thought of writing for this product because it is the best product I've ever used .. I use this every single day.. usually in the morning and after school and it really did help me to get rid of all those unwanted stuffs on my face .. Though I dont get bunch of pimples or acne,I do get blackheads which is even worse and at times little pimples and red spots during winter so I tried a lot of products to get rid of them and nothing helped me like the way this one did So i highly recommend this product for everyone who get breakouts and I'm sure it will help all skin types.. Because my skin type keeps changing and this one works every single time (sorry if that sounds silly lol)
P.S- I believe that it won't have any side effects mainly because it's soap free, fragrance free and paraben free.. So it can be even used on babies
HOPE IT HELPS :)

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 1/6/2016 12:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a really good shower gel, it is rich like a cream, but not heavy. It has a lot of emollients in it, and is soap free. Highly recommended, if your skin is prone to dryness after a shower, or sensitive at all.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 10/16/2015 1:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

OH MY GOD. I didn't realize how terrible my other cleaners was until I tried this. This cleanses and hydrates like a tank. My previous cleanser was medicated and part of an acne regimen, so my poor skin was flaking away like fish food. I amped up my moisturizers and added this, and BAM - beautiful skin. Plus it totally soothed my active pimples. I don't like the smell much (like a hospital) but the price is fair and the packaging is logical and sleek.

6 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 2/23/2015 9:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is by far the best product I've ever tried for my skin. All cleansers irritated my skin so badly and this product is amazing. It can even get into your eyes and you won't even realise! I use it as a make up remover (it removes waterproof mascara if you're patient rub it very slowly and gentle), also as a cleanser when I shower, before bed, when I wake up. All the time. I'm very happy I could find a cleanser that doesn't leave my face all red and itchy. If you have sensitive skin then definitely for it.

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This product has done wonders for my dry, irritated and itchy skin. I started using it in the summer and while it didn't work straight away, it's now winter and my skin barely needs moisturiser anymore. It has lost its flakiness, it's itchiness and it's a lot more comfortable when I get out of the shower and winter is when my skin goes bonkers. I am in love with the fact that it provides protection against hard water because the water in our house can often be quite chlorinated and harsh, which dries my skin out quite a bit. I usually purchase body washes that are heavy on the fragrance and the luxury but since trying this one I feel comfortable using a product that doesn't have fragrance and while still having a touch of luxury - it is La Roche Posay after all.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/17/2014 5:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of my favorite bathing products because of its versatility and mildness. As it is fragrance-free and really gentle, it's suitable for the whole family, babies as well, and even for those, who are prone to eczema or rosacea. It doesn't dry out your skin, but doesn't make the upper layer feel very moisturized either, like a shower oil does. It lathers moderately, so it's not super for shaving, but quite OK. I prefer it to the shower oils I also use because it doesn't make the bath slippery, so it's safe for babies and children. I buy the 400ml pump bottle, which is practical and economical. It can be used on the face, but I use it only on my body. I have tried a couple of times, and it was OK, but my face needs more. For the face I recommend the Toleriane foaming gel from this brand, which is equally good quality. I haven't tried it as a shampoo, but the packaging says it's also suitable for washing hair. If I have to wash my hands very often, I always use this product, because of its gentleness. For those who are afraid of parabens: it doesn't contain any.

Be careful, when you buy La Roche-Posay products that different ones have very similar packaging. The Lipikar Surgras shower cream is fragranced, not suitable for babies, and it dries out the skin. From the Lipikar body creams the Baume is a good one, the Lait is again fragranced and has poor performance.

10 of 10 people found this helpful.


Back to Top