4.5

Created with Sketch.
78 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've had OPI Red a long while, but I rarely want to use red. I prefer very deep tones (OPI's Lincoln Park, Bagota Blackberry, Malaga Wine), or nude shades (Essie's Mademoiselle, Ballet Slippers, ICE, Satin Ribbon, Deborah Lippmann's Tiny Dancer), but around holiday time I use a good red. I usually use OPI's iconic Big Apple Red or Chick Flick Red and for some sparkle China Glaze Ruby Pumps. OPI Red goes on well, but has a watery consistency, be careful or you will flood your nail beds. It covers well, self levels, dries quickly. I used this with a top coat of Seche Vite. I've read reviews that mention a flash of pink, it seems to have more of a blue based undertone under florescent light or daylight. I've compared it to Pantone swatches, it's cooler than Big Apple Red yet warmer than Cherries in the Snow. I think it compares well to Pantone Radish Red #200. I only gave it 4 lippies because it's nothing special, this bottle will last me a long while.

About reviewer (99 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I looked through lists of every single OPI collection and can't find an introduction for OPI Red, so I'll assume that one form or another of this red with pink undertone shade has been in their core range since the brand launched in 1989. In the bottle it seems that the red base has a flash of pink iridescence to it, but on the nail the shade mostly looks like a creme - occasionally I think that I see a flash, but I honestly can't tell if I'm fooling myself or not. I've removed a lippie because I know that OPI have literally hundreds of extremely similar red-with-a-hint-of-pink polish shades (including 5 Apples Tall, Red Hot Rio, By Popular Vote, Having A Big Hair Day & Amore At The Grand Canal), and it's not like it is a hard shade to find in other brands either. I can recommend this shade as the formula is a fantastic two coater; it's neither too thick or too thin, has great pigmentation [it's almost a one coater], it is smooth, even and non-streaky to apply and it dries quickly.In general nail polishes will last me anywhere between two to four days with only minimal wear. But as I'm a self powered wheelchair user I'm tough on my hands and am always catching my nails, so I can't really speak for how long lasting the formula is overall. If you do already own one of OPI's many similar shades and like the formula, then I should say you can skip this one as there is really nothing new on offer here shade-wise, however I keep finding myself reaching for it because of the whole "was that a flash, or is it just me?" aspect keep calling me back for more.

About reviewer (1452 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

OPI Red is my go to RED when I go to the SALON. This color is flattering during Winter and Summer months. OPI color wears extremely well and has a bright shiny finish. I highly recommend this color for anyone 20-70.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my favorite OPI nail polish color. I decided many years ago that your average nail polish had changed since I would put two coats and it would chip the same day. So I began searching for a good brand that wasn't too pricey yet stayed out that is when I discovered OPI. I paint my toes with this color and do no more than two coats and that is all I need it will stay flawless for two weeks!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairRed

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

LIke this! My regular red..

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Olive, Cool

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Perfect red with pink undertones.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This red is not a true red, but has a slightly milky texture to it with a pink undertone. If you want a true red nail polish, go for Big Apple Red-- this polish has a bit more edgy hue to it. It applies and dries beautifully and there is nothing wrong with formula-- stayed on for full 5 days without chipping and I am a person who's always on her computer, has a bad habit of drumming her fingers. The only thing is, it didn't flatter my Fair Asian hands on the cooler side. Might work better on people with very cool skin tone with lots of blue and pink.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is one of my favorite red nail polish colors by any maker. I have lots of reds for the fall winter, but for a classic, Gwen Stefani red, this is the one. It doesn't lean to blue, brown or orange, it's just a perfect red. There's no glitter or frost or shimmer. But the OPI color has shine. I always add a couple coats of good sealer, I add a clear coat every other day and find I can wear this without problem for about a week. Yes, I have a home gel nail kit but I hate soaking my nails in foil and polish remover.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairGrey, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This is by far my favorite OPI polish and for a couple reasons: the formula is a dream! It's the perfect consistency and you could possibly get away with one coat. Reason number 2: the color! It's a very unique color to me because of that pinkish iridescence it has to it when it hits the light. I will most definitely repurchase when it runs out.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

It is a bit pricey, but completely worth the price. This nail polish stays on your nails for so long and hardly ever gets chipped. It's a gorgeous color too. :)

About reviewer (3 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen