3.8

Created with Sketch.
671 reviews
72%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

This was my 1st - my coming-of-age skin cleanser. Two of my aunts, who both have beautiful skin, used this daily. I remember watching them scoop a dollop of the herbal, minty-scented, whipped cream out and massaging it into their skin. They would let it settle for a few minutes to dissolve any dirt, oil, and the little makeup they had on before they removed it with a warm washcloth massage. They were left with the most soft, supple, clear skin that I have ever seen. So, when I entered my pre-teen years with oily skin and breakouts to boot, the only answer was Noxzema. Only it wasn't. Although I think it is a good, gentle cleanser for those with dry-to-normal skins, it is not for my oily, hormonal acne skin. I need products with actives to control the oil and acne.

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I'm 59 and have been using it since age 12. My skin looks very good for my age, and I frequently get asked "What do you use?" Jaws drop when I say "Noxzema." I rub it in and use a wet washcloth to massage it off in small circular motions. This way, it cleans very well and the washcloth provides gentle exfoliation. It never dries my skin. The only bad thing is that it's going to sting if you use it to remove eye makeup and get any in your eyes.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I am beginning to suspect this is not only a gentle cleanser, but an anti-wrinkle cream as well! YES! I stopped using Noxema to try a salicylic acid wash for the monthly chin cyst. Bad idea. After a week, my skin began to look very brittle, dull and OLD. Back to the blue bottle! I used to feel embarrassed to use a product that was marketed to teenagers but no longer! It’s wonderful! I’ve been using it for at least 15 years, every morning, and my skin looks way better than when I didn’t use it. I use two squirts of Noxema with dry hands onto my dry face after showering. It just seems to work better that way. It smells strongly of eucalyptus but is somehow non-irritating and gentle. Pearlescent and creamy. It sinks right into my skin like a treatment. I rinse with cool water. (My dermatologist strongly discourages using washcloths.) My skin feels hydrated, clean, tingly, it bounces and it glows. Never causes acne. Non drying. I didn’t expect it to help smooth my skin, but, it really does. Noxema does seem to leave a weird wax like finish that you want to scrub off at first, but within seconds of drying you won’t feel that at all. Moisturizer just glides right on. It provides a protective layer of moisture and kills bacteria while also being light, and refreshing. Nuts that it’s been sold for 100 years. I wish it was packaged more elegantly for the over 40 crowd but heck. It’s perfect anyways. Customer for life.

About reviewer (102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I LOVE Noxema original cleansing cream. I used it for years as a teenager and I always had good skin. In recent years started using it again as a cleanser and wonder why I ever stopped. Leaves your skin clean and moisturized. you can leave it on as a mask. It is also a good treatment for sunburn or bug bites. They say it was originally developed to treat exema. no-exema = noxema. so try it for exema if you suffer from that. But as a facial cream cleanser, it is fabulous and affordable

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I’ve been using Noxema Original Classic Clean and now the Moisturizing one on and off for 40 years. I love it! Nothing comes close to the energizing scent and the cooling effect on my face. Remove make up first then cleanse your face with Noxema! That’s how it’s done! I have to mention that some new users are not removing it correctly. After removing makeup with your favorite makeup remover apply a generous amount of Noxema and massage your skin. You MUST remove it with a warm, wet washcloth! Just rinsing without using a wet wash cloth will leave a residue! I also take a second wet cloth and wet it with really cold water, wring it out and then wipe any extra remaining reside off. The cold wash cloth revitalizes my face and I feel so refreshed! Noxema removes oil and dirt and leaves my face clean and soft!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This stuff is so bad, I would give it 0 rating if I could. It literally leaves a waxy layer on your face after "washing". I had to use a charcoal foaming wash and a scrub just to get the wax off. I wanted to try a creamy cleanser because my face has been dry and irritated due to winter and some acne medicines. I got this big jar for $7 but sadly its going in the garbage now. Also the smell is really over bearing.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I switched to this after trying everything to "fix" my skin, started buying expensive cleansers and creams that still made my face break-out with acne and dry spots and not of them worked. I read about how cold creams are much better for washing your face because they do not strip your skin of its natural oils, so decided to try Noxema - and I love it! The smell is so refreshing too! You can make cold creams easily at home so one day I will give that a try, but until then I will continue using this product!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is product is a classic for a reason. There are obviously going to be those people that do not care for it, but it has sustained itself for decades by offering what it does and doing it in a no-frills way. I enjoy the classic scent: this is the same scent that Covergirl's clean line has been famous/infamous for so if you don't like it, then avoid opening a jar at all costs as this stuff is somehow stronger. I like that it removes waterproof makeup quite well. It breaks down and emulsifies nicely on a dry face. It rinses away with a residue that feels more waxy than oily, however that can easily be washed away with a mild cleanser. I've not had any breakouts with this product, which is honestly quite strange to me, as I've had lighter products cause acne flare-ups! However I am happy that I have found something that my skin can tolerate and that is very readily available at most retailers (at least across the country). I enjoy that this product is able to break down waterproof eyeliner/mascara (although try not to get it in your eyes, as it's not made for that and the menthol will burn) with only a minor amount of residue leftover that can easily be wiped away. Even with the leftover residue, it does not feel drying, contrarily it actually seems to be more moisturizing than some of the other cleansers I've used in the past. I like Noxzema. I hope it stays around for another 100 years.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

If you’re hunting the old formula, with menthol, phenol and camphor, and if you’re military, the Exhange Select version contains all of these things.

About reviewer (224 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My favorite thing about Noxzema is the smell. I'm in love with it. I was digging around in my grandma's bathroom cabinet circa 2003, found a travel size tub, opened it, and was like, "Whoa! Idk what this stuff is or where it came from, but I've never smelled anything like this." I then immediately bought a tub and used it throughout middle school before abandoning it for 12 years. Now I just bought some again. I washed my face with it last night and noticed no difference whatsoever in the state of my skin or the two pimples on my forehead. It didn't help or hurt. Also, the intense cooling feeling it used to give was absent. It felt gentler on my skin than I remember. It still did remove dirt and makeup very easily. I plan to use this as a makeup remover before washing my face with one of my other cleansers. I rotate my face washes and use Glossier Milky Jelly, Clean and Clear Foaming, and Clarisonic Refreshing Gel.

About reviewer (307 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us