4.2

Created with Sketch.
193 reviews
77%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I am loving this product and will buy over and over again; granted, it is a bit on the expensive side however it is well worth it for me - bought my first 150ml bottle mid-June and still have loads left, I think for me two of these per year will be enough therefore not overly expensive and worth the investment. I bought it because I was looking for something to help clear my acne and this was the most hyped/ cult beauty - you name it- product I found. I was aware that it can break me out in the process of helping with acne and was prepared for anything. I must say I do not find the product smelly at all (using the p50w version so perhaps does not have this potent smell?), slightly vinegary indeed, but nothing close to rotten eggs or anything of the sort. Nothing happened for the first 2 weeks, I was using it evening and morning, then stopped using it in the morning as felt like my make-up was not setting properly. Anyways, come July it broke me out horribly, I had the biggest, ugliest acne on my chin, cheeks and some on the neck and thought this is what all reviews were saying - you break out before you heal - and so, I was happy and depressed at the same time. To put it simply, my skin was horrendous, no make up would hide my acne and I did not like seeing myself in the mirror. It honestly got really bad, one pimple would heal, 5 more would appear. End July by now and was at a big wedding with my ugly skin where everyone felt sorry for me and everyone had a ‘good treatment’ that would help me get rid of the mess on my face. Imagine how I felt, but still was hanging in there and continued using the lotion every evening. End of August now, nothing had improved and yet another wedding where everyone was a skin specialist...I was genuinely depressed at that point and stopped using the lotion for a week during which nothing happened - no more pimples appeared and the ones already on my face did not heal- so I plucked up the courage to continue with the p50w and trust it til the end. Mostly everyone around me was feeling sorry for me at this point and I just stopped telling people about this product as they were all saying it was bad and I was depressed as it was already and did not need more negative energy in my life. My boyfriend was the only person who always said to at least finish the bottle before giving up on this product. 3rd week in September I noticed no more pimples appeared and the ones I had were nearly fully healed and had this revelation that the product worked exactly like other reviews said! 4months (more or less) of mad breakouts after which the skin heals slowly. It is beginning of November now and still using it every evening, I have not had a pimple in 2 months now and I am extremely happy I did not fully give up on this! I am sorry for this lengthy review, I guess my point is, if you are using this to get rid of your acne, you must have patience and faith, it will work sooner or later! The only downside for me is, it left me with a few scars (I was always picking on them ugly pimples, could not help it, so I’m guessing my fault) but not major scars and now working on getting these removed with other skincare products, BUT if you have the patience and not pick on them, you will likely have to skip this post acne scarring process. Best thing is, next year I have yet another wedding (yes, I am at point in life when everyone around me is getting married/ having kids and all I care about is skincare) and all those skin specialist will want to know what happened and what I’ve used to clear my skin, but this will be my little secret always and forever.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I’ve tried my fair share of chemical exfoliants (Pixi, Mario Badescu Glycolic, DDF Glycolic 10%toner), MUAC Mandelic Acid Toner..,.and P50 is hands down the best of the best. My only regret is not trying it sooner. I’ve found that the balance P50 has given my skin has made an enormous difference in how well everything absorbs into my skin. It’s not the cheapest thing on the planet but incredibly economical if that makes any sense. You need such a small amount so the cost “per use” is actually the same or less than some of the other chemical exfoliants I’ve used. The $70 bottle lasts me 4 months at least(I sometimes use it on my legs/arms when my KP starts acting up), so you could probably stretch it even further if you don’t need to do that. My skin: finicky combo mix that has been getting drier in the winter with each passing year. Results: The first few times I used it, my skin was noticeably smoother and pores were smaller. Long term, (besides the obvious less breakouts/closed comedones) my skin is just really really balanced. It holds moisture better and seems more prepared for whatever I put on it. Current AM routine: cleanse, P50, Vitamin C, Kikumasamune High Moisture Toner, Hada Labo Lotion, (I add in first Aid Beauty Cream or Lacura q10 night cream sealed in with an oil when the weather gets cold), then Biore Watery Essence SPF 50++. PM routine: cleanse, retin a micro. I buffer with Kikumasamune High Moisture Toner, Hada Labo Lotion, (Also, First Aid Beauty Cream or Lacura q10 night cream sealed in with an oil when the weather gets cold). Usually a couple times of year I stop all chemicals and do a TCA. When I’m healed I go back to my normal routine, and the P50 is amazing at helping to maintain the results. Getting my skin to how good it looks now has taken so much patience and sooo many products. This has truly been my skincare missing link, and I highly highly recommend it if you are still looking for yours :)

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I’ve been looking after my skin religiously for over 10 years now and have tried innumerable products in that time. It is not an exaggeration to say that this is the best product to ever touch my skin. It’s honestly the choice between good or bad skin for me. I’m on my third bottle now and I will never stop purchasing. Desert Island Status. I want everyone to know the secret so that it’s never discontinued.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I wouldn’t call myself a chemical exfoliant connoisseur, but I do have about a dozen (mostly cult classic) AHAs and BHAs in my rotation that I never go a day without using one. This is my favorite acid, hands down, that gives me the most discernible immediate results. My biggest problem is closed comedones on the sides of my cheeks and around my jaw, and while they are not extremely bad or bothersome, they are stubborn and deeper set in my skin’s surface. My HG combo for comedone obliteration is to layer Paula’s Choice BHA for the first layer, wait 10 min, then apply Lotion P50 generously. Pure BHA preps my skin for Lotion P50 absorbency amazingly. The comedones are gone within a few days of using this combo - it’s magic and it works every time. I personally think Lotion P50 is too strong to use daily, but I try to incorporate this product at least once a week to keep my skin smooth, soft and clear. Yes, it smells like rotten eggs that have been heated up in the microwave, but just tell your significant other to deal with it because this is the price of beauty!

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I tried this for about 3 months and did not get remarkable results. During the first week I saw visible improvements with pore size and texture but then my skin grew very dry. I think if I had used it less frequently, it would have been better than the drying effect I got after daily use. Now that it's summer, I will stop using it. I will try the other formula in fall.

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Best toner EVER! Rescue Spa recommended the 1970 version for me. I am oily, very acne prone, hormonal acne, and my skin doesn't get dried out easily. I would highly recommend you go to a spa to see which version of P50 is for you, or you can email Rescue Spa! It smells like old school medicine, like throat spray. It's a strong smell, but I have gotten used to it now. First day of application, I did not experience any burning or irritation. For some reason my skin just ADORES this product and I haven't had a negative reaction yet. I use this on my face twice a day with a cotton pad, then I bring it down to my neck, chest, and even back! No irritation at all and it's great for getting baby smooth skin. My face looks so clean, smooth, and crystal clear. It's even good for healing acne. If I get a pimple, P50 1970 calms down the irritation and it disappears fast. Love this product so much and it's worth every penny.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Short summary: This toner did not work well for me. It irritated my skin and caused me to break out in little red and small white bumps. I also experienced few of the magical benefits ascribed to it - no diminishment in hyperpigmentation. As I’ve said in many reviews there is a difference between expensive and overpriced and I am 100% fine w/expensive but overpriced I am not and this product is definitely overpriced for me as it simply didn’t work. A little bit about me - my skin is already fairly good and while I don’t want to sound vain, I’m going to let you know the pros so you can see how it impacted my skin. My skin is pretty much pore free, smooth, almost no lines - I’m 50, I don’t break out. I’ve been on a regimen of retina, rotating arsenal of mid to high strength acids, vitamin C, antioxidants, anti-aging serums and of course the most imp’t of all sunscreen. The thing I don’t like about my skin is its tendency towards hyperpigmentation. I had read that P50 could help with this so thought I would give it a try. The P50 toner has done nothing for the hyperpigmentation. It didn’t make things worse but rather just didn’t effect the spots at all. That would be fine but my skin experienced the following negative reactions as well: -my normally smooth skin very quickly felt less smooth. I began seeing these little raised white dots on my skin and a few weeks later red dots around my chin and upper cheeks. -my skin felt irritated, looked slightly flushed all the time -my skin started to look dry. It looked dehydrated for the first time and as another reviewer said, my skin’s previous supple, moist texture felt dry and papery -smells like formaldehyde. I know others indicated this smells like vinegar - which I would be fine with - but this smells just like formaldehyde. I couldn’t figure out why the scent was so offensive and familiar and finally read another reviewer’s assessment that it smelled like the solution that you preserved the frogs in in biology class. She hit the pin on the head for sure with that. It smells terrible and I would NEVER put this on in the daytime even if it worked. The scent just lingers all around you throughout the day. You’ll want to make sure your husband/sleeping partner is OK with the scent as it’s very potent. If it works for you I believe this product like many others is a good value for your money. The bottle will last you a long time and what’s a $100 for a product that will last over 6 months? Lastly, I ordered from Vicki Morav and was impressed by their service. Package came quickly and she included some generous samples in a cute, little organza bag.

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I purchased the large bottle and it lasted me an entire year. I used it primarily in the morning and occasionally at night. It does have a strong vinegar that does not appeal to everyone one but it dissipates quickly. After a month of use my skin was clearer, it had less bumpiness and texture and it helped fade new hyperpigmention and even helped older marks as well. It did not drastically reduce pore size, which is one of the reasons I purchased it but it is still a great acid toner. Will absolutely repurchase after I clear more of my stash.

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Dark, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this product with so much hopes and so much anticipation but ended up so disappointed. You see I get to the point where I would buy anything the internet will recommend, from BP, Salicylic, Glycolic, tea tree. sulfur, aha bha, propolis, YOU FREAKIN NAME IT I have it in here, wasted so much money then I ran to people raving about this so I purchased it for 99AUD plus $10 shipping, I havent gotten any difference on my skin but hey need to be patient right? It burns/sting when I put it on but no biggie, I've heard it's normal not unless you wake up with couple of big red patches on your face and continues to progress after 1 hour right??!! I went straight to ER, and drs. prescribed me tablets and got steroid shots, well hey not just I wasted money buying this but I lost 1 day of work and had to buy medications for the allergies, be very careful people. Now if you are from AUS if u still wanna buy u can buy mine for $50 pretty much full.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

What can I say that hasn’t already been said? It’s an HG toner. For me, no other product compares bevause most acid toners irritate my skin. I have sensitive, acne prone skin and this has reduced my acne, helped fade scars, evened out my texture, brightened and plumped my skin up with moisture. I swear my moisture barrier is stronger since using this whereas it is normally weaker. However, I did purge at first for about 8 weeks. Expect the purge when you start this product and stick with it! I use the P50V 1970 version and I use it twice a day, AM and PM. The only thing I will say is that this doesn't completely prevent my cystic hormonal acne. I will probably need to go to the doctor for that.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel