3.2

Created with Sketch.
300 reviews
51%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Aveeno's Positively Radiant Cleanser has been in the line-up for a few years now. It is one of their most popular if not most popular facial cleanser. As a reviewer stated below it is indeed an iridescent greenish-gold gel texture cleanser. The pump is very small and so it It comes out frustratingly small, you need at least three to four pumps for a decent amount to cleanse face, neck and decolletage thoroughly. I use this with either my hands, a washcloth or cellulose cleansing sponge, this also works well with a Buf-Puf. The scent like most of Aveeno's cleansers is quite strong, so fragrance sensitive skins beware, the scent is more of a green herbaceous freshness, rather pleasant though they could hold back on the intensity, I would like to see a fragrance free version of this product. The product lasted me at least two months with conservative use and I definitely would recommend you to try this cleanser. It is able to remove a full face of make-up, sunscreen and daily grime, either as a double cleanse or as your only cleanse, morning and night this is a delight to use. The packaging has also just recently been revamped.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlack

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Someone gave this to me and I soon found out why. You see, I expected it to perform as a cleanser: that is to say, I expected my skin to be cleansed, for oil, dirt, and makeup to be gone when finished using this product per the instructions. I was mistaken as none of those things happened for me. The liquid itself is an attractive iridescent greenish-gold, the packaging is drugstore but attractive. Unfortunately, those are the best things about this product based on my experience. I'll stick to my Jergens, but am glad that I at least gave this one a whirl to satisfy curiosity. NOT recommended.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I wanted to love this so bad. When I was younger this did not work for my skin at all and I was hoping that now it would be a better fit. I love the scent of this cleanser, it is hard to describe. It washes my face very well and removed all my makeup. I used about 3-4 pumps as it only pumps out very little and I was actually very surprised how well it removed my makeup. Even though I have not used it very long I did notice my skin tone was a little bit more even and brighter. I know this is true because I could get away with only concealer and setting powder which was nice. It felt gentle and I did not feel any irritation or dryness but I did notice that my skin was becoming more and more oily again! I have always had oily skin but it has calmed down since I hit my mid-30s. However, this cleanser made my skin greasy again. No idea why but my skin just becomes very greasy when I use it. I have since stopped and just two days later my skin is much less oily.

About reviewer (1081 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I used to use the Fresh Soy face cleanser but was looking for something a bit cheaper to replace it while I'm on a budget. I saw an article that listed this as a dupe and I must say that I actually think I like this more than the Fresh cleanser! My skin is normal to oily and my forehead is quite textured. This cleanser has done wonders to help smooth everything out and keep me from looking like a grease pit! It is more drying than the Fresh cleanser, though, so I don't think this would be a good fit for someone with dry skin. Will most likely continue to use and repurchase this in place of more expensive cleansers.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is overall a solid cleanser for me. I have normal to dry skin and I did not have any expectations for this cleanser to improve my skin tone or hyperpigmentation. The price is good, around $6-7 for 6.7 oz. The packaging is excellent, with a pump that can easily be relocked to avoid accidental spills. There is a light fragrance that I find pleasant. I do not use this to remove makeup (I have an oil/makeup wipe routine for that). For me this is a solid repurchase down the line cleanser, for several reasons: (1) the pump packaging that can be locked is important to me and makes this product convenient for travel, overnight trips, or gym bag; (2) the price is affordable and the brand frequently is on sale; and (3) accessibility of this product is easy and ubiquitous. Is this a unique "must try" cleanser? No. But if you have the right expectations and needs, it fills a basic need.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I purchased this cleanser about 6 months ago, because i wanted something that would clean my skin well and not leave it feeling tight and dry like most cleansers for my oily skin do. This product breaks down my makeup very well, and leaves my face clean and soft after use. No intense scent and is gentle enough for everyday use. I will be continuing to repurchase this cleanser.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Decent cleanser for the price

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Not good for combination/oily skin.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is a gentle cleanser, but not so gentle that it leaves tons of residue behind. Does not dry me out unlike the vast majority of cleansers. I do feel it somewhat brightens my complexion as advertised. My only complaint is that the pump doesn't pump enough product, I usually have to use 4-5 pumps each time I wash my face. Also, this doesn't lather too well...but perhaps this is a good thing, making it less drying to my skin.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is one of the better face washes that I've come across in a while. It's great for daily use, it cleans your skin very well without stripping it of necessary moisture and it is truly non-irritating and has no weird smells. This is coming from someone with very oily skin who finds the endlessly peddled "dermatologist recommended" Cetaphil cleanser to be both surprisingly irritating and disappointingly ineffective. So this one truly is gentle yet also effective. It's a dependable and affordable daily face cleanser that's great when you want something that does the job well and is readily available so that you don't have to think twice about it. Personally, I don't want to have to worry about ordering online or making a special trip to Sephora or Ulta every time I run out of face wash. I would recommend having other products on hand for days when you want to really exfoliate or do a deep cleanse or need to remove heavy eye makeup or have acne and want a medicated face wash because this cleanser is definitely none of those things. This just a gentle daily cleanser that actually cleans really well and won't dry out or irritate your skin, and that's about it. That's good enough for me, but depending on your face wash needs or expectations your mileage may vary.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us