3.5

Created with Sketch.
165 reviews
55%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

This review is for shade Bisque. I was matched in store and got the foundation applied by a pro. I can say that I actually look ten years older with this foundation and I'm early 30s. It's showing wrinkles and pores I didn't even know I had! I have normal skin with some dryness on my forehead. I'm light neutral. Please don't waste your time or money with this product! I'm so glad I got to try it on before blowing AU$95 on this piece of crap. It's sticky, transfers easily, is incredibly hard to apply (you need their primer, foundation brush, buffer brush to get rid of the strange pilling after application plus setting spray.) So you're looking at a few hundred just to get this one product to 'work'. I insisted on having only the foundation applied on my bare skin to see how it looks without the other products as I don't intend to spend an hour layering and applying a mask everyday. For that price I expect the product to be good enough on it's own, especially on relatively good skin. So, no I don't recommend this product and I'm back on the lookout.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel



1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I recently purchased the Jane Iredale Liquid Minerals foundation and I am so disappointed; this is easily the worst foundation in my rotation. Regardless of which type of sunscreen I use (I tried four, EltaMD SPF 44, Australian Gold SPF 50, La Roche Posay Anthelios Mineral SPF 50 and La Roche Posay Anthelios SPF 60 for kids-none worked), it breaks up the sunscreen underneath and I have to reapply. I’ve tried using a foundation brush, damp sponge and my fingers and nothing works, no matter what I do, the foundation breaks up the sunscreen and becomes streaky. Once dried, it has a powdery finish which can be drying and accentuate wrinkles. The only time this foundation works is if it's on bare skin or over a moisturizer. Then, it's like the holy grail 'your skin but better'. But this is not for daytime use over sunscreen.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I'll preface this by saying this is a very sheer coverage foundation. If you're looking for medium to high coverage, this isn't for you. That being said, I don't like medium or high coverage for every day use - i find it looks too made up and mask-like. This is a great natural looking light coverage. I chose suntan, which is great match for me. I love the feel of it, it doesn't feel like a typical foundation at all when you apply it. It feels more like a gel moisturizer, both in terms of texture and the hydration it provides. The finish is definitely not matte, however it isn't shiny or oily either. It just leaves your skin looking hydrated and soft. This doesn't pill or oxidize, break me out etc. If you're looking for a more natural look and don't mind the (imo hefty) price tag, this would be a great product to try!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm on my second bottle of Liquid Minerals. I was uncertain about this initially but there was a bit of a learning curve. I use two pumps of this mixed with a dot of Peter Thomas Roth 24K gold and get so many compliments on my skin. I do have melasma and need to apply two coats over concealer in those areas. I finish with a spray of JI Pommist. Love how this worked for me of the winter - hoping it's not too dewy for the summer.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is certainly a different way of dispensing a foundation. It mixed with a serum for the skin at the same time. Treating it while you wear the foundation. The ingredients are great for the skin. The coverage is a light gorgeous dewy finish. If you great skin to begin with, whatever age you will really like this product. It enhances it with such a natural finish. Very even finish too

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

The texture is quite thick and there are flakes on the face after applying it so I have to remove the flakes carefully on my face (but some couldn't be removed). Although the texture becomes lighter and melt with my skin after half an hour, my face got oily after 2-3 hours. Most of all, my face was very itchy and red and felt very uncomfortable when wearing this foundation. It's a ridiculous product to me.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I absolutely loved this foundation!!!!! This foundation looks like Guerlain's Meteorites Primer with beads suspended in a clear solution (although these beads are complexion toned.) This foundation is a dewey light coverage. If you have decent skin, normal or dry, and want a dewey glowy finish foundation with lighter coverage - this is it. Oily folks or folks looking for more coverage or more matte finish should look elsewhere. You need to get the hang of breaking up the beads - a foundation brush or sponge work fine. This foundation will darken slightly as it dries due to the minerals, so I suggest trying a sample first to be sure you get the right shade. I am about NW25-30ish, but slightly more neutral than cool. I was matched to Light Beige (a "cool" shade with pink undertones) - it was definitely a bit light (described as "fair"), but since it's not a full coverage product it was workable. I will definitely go up a shade when I repurchase, and maybe try the neutral shades. This is not a cheap product (about $50), but well worth it. It feels very light and moisturizing when on. Lasting power is about average. The finish is just beautiful and a healthy glow. Standard pump type dispenser.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The coverage is not enough for me. Only way I can get by with using it is to first use a tinted moisturizer. For those of you who want better coverage, I suggest trying tinted moisturizer underneath.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I have very acne-prone skin and am always looking for a foundation that doesn't clog my pores. Since powder mineral foundations don't look good on my skin (dehydrated with visible pores) I wanted to try a liquid one and this foundation has good ingredients so I was hopeful it would work for me. Unfortunately, as makeup, this foundation is horrible on me. It looks and feels like a really cakey physical filter sunscreen while at the same time not giving much coverage. It sinks into my pores making them more visible. Itl also doesn't work well with other products like concealer and powder because it is very sticky. It might work better on someone with a drier skin that needs little coverage. I can't really say whether it clogs my pores as I haven't used it for several days in a row, I bring it back up every now and then but I'm always disappointed.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I had my face done at a salon recently for a formal event and my makeup artist had a great touch and I liked the look she did on my face but I didn't care for the Jane Iredale products she used at all. Minerals/natural/organic etc is not a priority for me for my cosmetics (ethical products sure but I don't have an issue with chemicals in general). The colour she picked (I didn't ask which shade) was a great match with nice coverage on my adult acne, but I had my makeup done at 2pm, wedding was at 7pm, home before midnight, and started noticing that my makeup just wasn't lasting at about 9:30 or 10? I wouldn't go out of my way to buy Jane Iredale (I did buy a lip gloss so I could touch up my lips as the evening went on), it wasn't right for me but might be a great fit for somebody who prioritizes mineral and has a skin type that is well suited to it. A pass for me.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue