4.6

Created with Sketch.
24 reviews
91%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used this to control my back acne, I'm getting married in a month and in the last 6 months I've tried yoghurt, the aztec clay mask and the Neostrata foaming cleanser and that didn't help so I changed my routine along with using this lotion and it helped a lot. I shower everyday but I only wash my hair every 3 - 4 days so the hair product doesn't always go on my back when I shower and on the days I don't wash my hair I tie it in a bun and when I do wash my hair I try to rinse my hair facing forward so most of the products are washed down the drain leaving little residue on the back, I also changed my hair product to something more natural. I wash my body with soap everyday then scrub my whole body with a brush, use the Neostrata foaming cleanser on my back so it can penetrate my skin more effectively after buffing away the dead skin cells and then I jump out of the shower and use this lotion, at first I can feel a tingling sensation then after a week I don't get that anymore. I change my PJ's twice a week and the bedsheets every 2 weeks. I tried this lotion on my face every 3-4 days and it's been making my face quite flaky but that's because i know my skin can't tolerate the strength of it just yet. I believe the bacne definitely needs a leave on product to work it's magic in breaking down the layers of the dead skin cells since I don't think my skin is good at doing that on it's own. I'm so excited that I now have a clear back for my wedding and hopefully if I continue using it it will clear up the rest of the scars I left for the many years living with back acne, I'm 30 now and have been dealing with it for 10 years. I recommend this product for body acne because skin on the body is thicker then the skin on the face so it can handle the stronger AHA and will be more effective for it. Theres actually so much product in there and I haven't used it enough to see how long it'll last just yet.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am about to purchase for my body only, not face. Was hoping to find some reviews about the product being used on the body but almost all of the reviews on here about use on face.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a classic, I use it everywhere even on my face. I have very dry skin

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This stuff is a god send. I had small bumps and whiteheads on my forehead that remained for over a year and nothing got rid of them. I had used this in the past on my nose a few times to help with clogged pores as my mom uses it and recommended it. I know it says for experienced users of AHA's but my skin isn't sensitive and can put up with a lot. When I first started using it, I was using it too often and it dried my skin out and I was moisturising enough. Now I use it once every other day before bed or every day if I have a breakout and then wack on a really hydrating moisturiser and some oil (rosehip, argan or jojoba). My skin looks a lot brighter and I'm not ashamed to go out without makeup on. It's also helping to get rid of my scars on my face. I personally can't comment on its helpfulness when it comes to wrinkles but my mom uses it and she swears by it. I also prefer this to the gel plus. Don't particularly know why as they're same amount of AHA. Maybe it's because of the texture. Also you get more in the bottle of you buy this and it lasts you forever. I've been using mine for over 3 months and I'm not even a quarter of the way through the bottle

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Wow .... I have been using this for 4 month now ( still on first bottle using at night only ) I just wish I could post before & after pictures on here : ) skin concerns were : cystic acne on jawline, slight acne scarring,huge pores, blackheads & oily skin prone to breakouts on any part of face & a reasonable amount of hyper pigmentation from living abroad for 6 years. After 4 months of use I finally have the skin I never thought I would have...pores are clear & smaller, cystic acne greatly reduced, acne scarring gone, dark spots from hyper pigmentation almost diminished, basically my skin is so smooth, even toned & flawless it almost looks airbrushed . Gone are the days of caking on foundation, I can now just use powder. You have to be patient because this stuff won't work overnight, if you research glycolic acid it takes about 6 months of use to see such drastic results. After about a week of using for first time you will see minor improvements. I have been pretty full on with this regime, I have been using other products also which are : Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic acid 3 % face wash twice daily, Peter Thomas Glycolic acid 10 % toning complex - used only once in the morning & Neostrata sheer hydration SPF15 as daytime moisturiser. I would like to use the lotion plus as daytime moisturiser but I find it leaves a bit too much of a sheen under make up. I have also been using quite an abrasive microdermabrasion scrub 2 times a week to make sure that my skin is always smooth so lotions & potions penetrate effectively. This lotion plus is a great product, it stings a little upon application I sometimes find, but nothing major & it eases off quickly. This is not a product that comes in a luxury jar,you can tell its a clinical brand by the packaging. I bought this product almost 4 months ago & I'm only about half way through the bottle. Great value for money & amazing results. The results I have now, I thought were only achievable by salon expertise help, I did not expect such great results from this product. Friends have commented on how much my skin glows & how smooth & clear it is. I would definitely recommend using other products with it too such as the ones I mentioned, only advice I would give is to introduce this regime to your skin slowly & build up tolerance, there has been times where my skin has dried out & peeled slightly but was when I was using the Peter Thomas Roth Glycolic acid 10 % toning complex twice a day, I just use it in the morning now & it seems I have found the right balance of products to use. After 4 months of this regime I think my skin has now almost reached the plateau of nothing left to improve ! I've just turned 35 & I feel that my skin is now the best it's ever looked : ) hope this review helps .... & don't forget that proper cleansing & removal of dead skin cells is an imperative part of the process too, I use an oil based makeup remover before washing my face & I noticed that my results were more noticeable when I started using the microdermabrasion crystals twice weekly which were : Professional Solutions microdermabrasion scrub cleanser - bought from ebay. Happy days... Expensive salons eat your heart out ! A definite must buy affordable product.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

pro -super cheap price bought in costco, tw. - my blackheads reduce a lot. con - sting a lot. but my skin is combination. my eyes and cheeks are very dry, tiny wrinkles if talking or smiling a lot. so, i am not sure this lotion is heavy enough in the winter. i use it with some other oil. [update Feb/25/2015]: my skin LOVES it, even though it stings a lot if i use it everyday. so i use it every two days.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Have been using AHA products for years. After a serious bout of adult acne earlier this year which lasted about 7 months my skin was scarred noticeably around my cheeks and chin. After using this lotion for a week there was a definite improvement in the pigmentation and texture - lightening the scars and renewing the surface. My face has this shiny polished look about it which I only ever got when I did a serious course of an AHA weekly peel. Have been using this it for over a month now twice a day and couldn't be happier. I would say almost effective as a peel at the salon!!! Make sure you use a good moisturiser over it AND SUNSCREEN everyday because AHA makes your skin more sensitive to sunlight and scars will be even more damaged if they are not protected.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I have only been using this for a week now. I would have to say please don't get discouraged if you get initial breakout or bumps. I should have started with a lesser percentage but this was the only one available at the time. Next day, after I applied this at night, I had soooo many small bumps under the skin. This resolved itself within two days with no marks or eruption. I now use this at night under my rose hip oil. I also have been mixing a small amount of this with Mario Badescu whitening mask and spot treating old hyper pigmentation marks with great success! The lotion exfoliates while the Kojic acid does what it's supposed to do-whiten. The marks have faded more than 50% in 5 days! I have also noticed a refined texture to my skin because of this. Fast working!! I like updating so I will try to remember to do that if I notice a difference in fine lines and reduction in hormonal breakouts! Please never use this with any vitamin A creams, after skin needling or perform any other peels even if mild. Wait at least four days otherwise too much irritation.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

The first Neostrata moisturizer I tried was the 10% smoothing cream. I tried that based on the rave reviews I read here and I'm very glad I did. As I said in my review for the 10% creme, there is no way I would have found this product line had I not been a member of the community. Why this line isn't advertised or written about in beauty magazines more is a mystery to me. It's half the price of a lot anti-aging moisturizers and actually works! After using up my small supply of 10% cream and seeing pretty good results, I decided to go a step up and try the 15%. Since this retails at about $44, I went on eBay and got it for $32. When it arrived, I was slightly shocked at how big the bottle was. I was expecting it to be smaller but then I read the bottle which says this is can also be used as a body lotion. I've been using this twice a day for about two months now and my skin is much clearer and smoother. I still get breakouts but they're usually small. Since using this lotion, I've only gotten a few very large zits mainly because I skipped washing my face (out of sheer laziness) and didn't use this lotion. Even though I'm now 35, I don't have a big issue with wrinkles at the moment (the only ones I have are near my waterline and I ain't putting this lotion there!) so I can't speak to its ability to help with wrinkles just yet. Since I am over 30, I have started applying this to my neck and decollage because I generally ignore those areas. While those areas have never been a huge problem for me, I noticed the skin in those areas is much softer and brighter. I also use this on my bikini area (or the "happy trail" area) where I get weird, ingrown hairs. I've been experiencing less of those since I began applying this lotion. The lotion itself comes in a no frills bottle with a pump which I love because I don't really enjoy dipping my fingers into a jar. It tingles/burns a bit when applied, especially if the skin is broken, but it's nothing intolerable or painful. I don't find that this lotion has a really terrible odor. It smells a bit medicated but that smell dissipates after it is applied. Just like the 10% cream, this just doesn't do well under makeup for me. That's mainly because this makes my skin a bit sticky for a few hours after application and it just seems to make my face into a shiny oil slick. The only negative thing about this lotion is its price and even that is tolerable considering the amount you get and how little is needed. I only need a half a pump to cover my entire face and neck. As such, a full sized bottle should last at least six to eight months even if you use this twice a day. For me, this is totally a HG product. This lotion, combined with the Erno Laszlo system (sans the AM lotion and PM cream) and lactic acid peel have done wonders for my skin. If you're looking for a moisturizer to help with signs of aging, acne or scarring, I would highly recommend this line and this lotion. This is one of the only moisturizers I've ever used that actually produces noticeable results.

About reviewer (210 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

My must-have body care product. I was the only product that managed to heal my bikini zone skin where I had many problems...

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue