3.1

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
52%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Charlie (1973) is a cheerful, accessible soapy green floral chypre for the masses. In the same vein as Norell, Chanel No 19, Ivoire, and Fidji— but a bit brighter & simpler. This was worn (heavily!) and loved by many women in my family. I loved smelling it in the air as a kid, as it seemed sophisticated and exciting with its brisk greenness. And I associated it with things I wasn’t allowed to do yet, like use eyeliner and wear tight jeans. This stuff got horribly reformulated about 15 years ago, and now smells like hairspray + used diaper. So I’ve hoarded my old bottles from the ‘80s and ‘90s. The fragrance seems to hold up very well over time— as long as the juice is yellow and not brown you’re good— and vintage Charlie is readily and cheaply available on eBay. Charlie is a time capsule in a bottle: Disco balls, frizzy perms, frosty eyeshadow, and the liberating promises of feminism. It’s hard to wear it un-ironically in 2019, since green floral chypres are so dated. But it’s a nice and easy-to-wear example of the genre and I do think it’s a pretty fragrance (so does my spouse) so I wear it ironically and proud :)

About reviewer (228 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Lately I have been taking a walk down memory lane, nostalgic for the bad perm days of the 80's when we must have been oblivious to how many people inhaled our noxious fumes. I wore Charlie sometimes. I wore acid washed jeans and liked mullets on guys. I don't anymore. Charlie is a floral that smells on me as if I was taking a 3 day binge drunk in a dive bar. In a satin jacket with my name on it. Bouffant hair. If that were me, Charlie would fit right in. I think it would smell at home mingling with a gun and tonic.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Well everyone, I being a Gentleman wear Charlie Eau de Toilette and on me it is wonderful. I think it is very much a " Unisex " Fragrance...to me at least and I see NO problem with a man wearing Charlie, why not, not only is it CALLED " Charlie " but it's aroma is rather masculine and smokey, warm and inviting. Charlie is one power house of a fragrance. It's very strong but that is how i like my scents. It has a very powerful scent of hyacinth or lilac even. Two of my favorite notes in perfumes and it stands out head and shoulders above the other notes. Lasting power is excellent and sillage is incredible. I dont know why i have not tried this before now. I was really missing out on something special.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

How is it I have never reviewed my beloved Charlie! I have worn vintage Charlie for nearly my entire life and I wear it well. It's very femme and always the right fragrance to wear whether I'm dressing up or down. Appropriate for work and hits the right notes for evening as well. When I was much younger, Charlie made me feel older and more sophisticated. Now that I'm a little older, it makes me feel free, confident, and sophisticated. I love the packaging and a little goes a long way. I get my fix on eBay and it never disappoints. I must assert that the current formulation is not bad -just less intense. The new formula is a little lighter on the base notes. Brighter. But the 'feeling' is all there. I always receive compliments when I wear Charlie. Men, women (often surprised at what it is I am wearing), children, etc. "A most original fragrance." Indeed.

About reviewer (635 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I was surprised to learn that "Charlie" won a Fifi award (the perfume version of the Oscar) back in the day. Though I was just a kid, I can still vividly recall the commercials for "Charlie" with Shelley Hack dressed in a man-tailored suit. "Kinda young, kinda now, Charlie, Kinda hip, kinda wow, Charlie" so the jingle went. "Charlie" might be middle-aged now, like me, but I have to say, there have been two occasions in the past year when I asked someone what they were wearing because I liked their aroma, and low and behold, they said, "Charlie." And no, I was not in a nursing home when these instances occurred. These were younger women. Needless to say, I was shocked to learn they were wearing good old, "Charlie," a scent from the 70s. You might be curious as to what "Charlie" smells like and with good reason. There aren't any testers in the stores where "Charlie" is sold, namely drugstores and Walmart. My advice: smell Elizabeth Taylor "White Diamonds" or Estee Lauder "White Linen." If either one of these appeals to you, I think "Charlie" will be right up your alley. I have to say, "Charlie" isn't typical of what I wear. I am always so worried about knocking folks over with my scent. It's easy to over do it with Chuck so just remember " a little dab will do ya." Would I purchase "C" again, probably not. But the walk down memory lane has been a fond one.

About reviewer (263 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

My review refers to what is now being sold as "Charlie Blue", presumably the modern day formulation of the original Charlie. I am not a fragrance snob and am always on the lookout for a drugstore bargain, in fact I am doing my best to work through all the classic, even iconic drugstore fragrances still available today. My mom loved and wore Charlie for many years and still does on occasion, so my associations with it were previously positive. I picked up a bottle two days ago when it was on special at my local drugstore, but unfortunately this one is no longer a winner in my book. I found it sour and boozy with a dominant geranium note . My husband said it smelled quite pleasant, if unremarkeable, but I found it cloying and somehow off-putting. To those unfamiliar with Revlon's Charlie line, there are many flankers available. I am quite partial to Red and Gold, and have White on order based on positive reviews. At the affordable prices these sell for, they are all worth a try.

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I wore this in the mid/late 70's in high school and during a grad school work study in England. I remember they had a whole makeup line to go with it. Smelling it always reminded me of that time in my life. I picked some, up just for nostalgia, and wore it one day. My long time boyfriend who was born 10 years after Charlie came out sniffed my neck and gave me his first whole unabashed "WHAT are you wearing, you smell so good?". He'd never smelled it before. He works for an international company and travels a lot so he can get me anything from Paris or London, but Charlie is STILL his favorite scent on me.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Other

HairRed

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I love this fragrance!! I keep it in my locker at school for if I ever forget to put on perfume before school. I sometimes spray it after gym class if I'm really sweaty, so that I can atleast smell good!! It has such a fruity smell, the smell actually reminds me of Orbit chewing gum (the mixed berry flavour). The bottle's great as well, I once dropped it by mistake as I was picking up something off my dresser and it fell off, the bottle wasn't even cracked! Looked just the same! Make sure you go out and buy yourself some of this perfume, it's great!

About reviewer (59 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I remember this fragrance when i was in gr. 5, i so loved it and i would feel so grown up whenever i wore it. I had the smallest spray bottle. I picked up a bottle of the eau de toilette for an extremely reasonable price - for 3.5 oz, $8.99...brand new in box from a reputable retailer. I do enjoy the eau de toilette...this IMO is the closest to the original charlie i remember. I once purchased the cologne version and it paled in comparison...so definately recommend EDT. I think it is a versatile scent, i can see it blending well in an office, nite or day or any occasion really. I also love MM Destiny, Jontue, Enjoli, Giorgio..i would be curious to see what the common notes are which are most likely white flowers. I am definately enjoying this and dries down and melds amazingly with your skin....3 or 4 spritzes and you will feel lovely wearing this. Although i don't smoke, i know this is the type of fragrance that would smell great ie. in a niteclub lol...i love fragrances like that! Again EDT instead of cologne is the way to go if you have not liked the cologne version...consider picking up the EDT!

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

The original Charlie was my very first experience with perfume. My mother wore it all the time when she was young and I always loved the way it smelled on her (Dad must have too since he gave her a bottle for Christmas every year). Mom traded up to Tocade and Chanel #5 when she was older so I always think of it as a scent for younger women even though it's considered an old-fashioned fragrance now. I bought some Charlie Blue spray cologne in college in a fit of nostalgia to see how it would smell on me, but was sad to find the scent had been reformulated with some horrible cheap-smelling base, so I tossed it. I tried several of the more expensive green florals but wasn't thrilled with any of them. Then a couple of years ago I saw "vintage" Charlie concentrated cologne on eBay and decided to order some and... TA-DAH!! It's exactly the fragrance I remembered - a very warm inviting floral, slightly sweet but not cloying with a soft hint of musk. It's become my usual daytime scent and I often get compliments when I wear it, thankfully no one has accused me of smelling like a grandma yet. I've also found it layers very nicely over a touch of Shalimar extrait for evening wear, the drydown lasts forever and guys are gaga for the flowers & vanilla combo. I just really hope the people selling the vintage stuff don't run out! I recommend trying some if you've only sampled the icky stuff Revlon makes now, it's usually available on eBay for a very reasonable price.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen