MAC Veluxe - Kid

MAC Veluxe - Kid

4.3

93 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

My two favorite transition shades, kid and bamboo for cool and warm looks respectively. Kid is amazing. I've never tried wedge, but it looked like it had a hint of pink to it compared to Wedge which appealed to me. It's a smooth, pigmented, buildable matte. Wonderful texture. It's a light slightly warm brown with, I feel, a hint of pink but it's very very slight. That slight warmth is what makes it work and balance out cool toned looks. I use this for neutral and cool looks. I also love it all over the lid for a no makeup makeup look with a lightly contoured eye. It's too warm to use in eyebrows I think.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 12/28/2014 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I found this at my local MAC stand, completely out of the blue. Kid has a beautiful texture -- powderless, as people say -- and it has become my number one go-to color for my crease and transition. Wedge is cooler toned, but Kid is more flattering on my NW15-20 skin. (It makes Wedge look dull and yellow by comparison.)

Edit 12/5/15: I just discovered that this works as a bronzer on me. Sweet! These are my current favorite looks:
1. Kid as bronzer, Kid in the crease and under the eye, Stila Chinois on the lid. A lovely wide eyed healthy look.
2. Same as #1 with Stila Espresso in the waterline and smudged onto the outer third of the lid. A very soft bronzey smoky look.
3. Same as #2 with medium teal blue on the lid. Kid makes the blue look gorgeous and beachy. Kapow!

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


To Read all 93 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 3/16/2014 12:21:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Found a dupe for this discontinued lovely matte (with life) in a classic neutral shade. If this was a staple of your workday life or your neutral eye makeup look at Maybelline. In the Expert Wear singles in the neutral mattes you will find a shade called "No Earthly Taupe)!

Taupe it ain't but Kid it is!!!! And much cheaper too. Try 3 to 4$ at Walmart. I kid you not! Hope that helps, and if you dont agree its a dupe you aren't out a lot of cash.

14 of 14 people found this helpful.


on 12/25/2013 11:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I am still on the fence about this product, so if I have a change of heart, I'll try to remember to come back and edit my review. While I like the color and blendability of this product so far, I just feel that it's overhyped. I have Bamboo as well and to me, it's too similar to this eyeshadow to be all that important. It's discontinued and highly raved about by certain makeup personalities, so when I saw it at my CCO, I felt I needed to jump on it. It's a nice crease color/blend out color for paler complexions, which I am. However, as I said, I feel that Bamboo does the same thing except it's a lot easier to get now that Kid is d/c and Bamboo is not. Also, Bamboo seems like it would suit a larger variety of skintones than Kid, which is pink toned.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 10/12/2013 12:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Such a shame I have heard this is being discontinued. I hope it isn't true or they bring it back again in the future. Kid is a great crease/ blending out color. I love to use it to blend eye shadows out between my lid and highlight color. It is basically a warmish beige tan color with a hint of pink undertones. On me it looks like the lighter slightly warmer version of wedge. I can wear wedge on my lid by itself or in the crease but I can only wear kid in the crease. I look strange with kid all over my lid for some reason. I have heard others compare it to soft brown by mac but it looks nothing like soft brown on me. Soft brown is straight up rust orange on my lids and very dark. The most recent look I've used kid with was dazzlelight all over my lid, Nehru along the lash line, kid in the crease, twinks in the outer v blended in the crease and a highlight. Kid blends so easy with other colors and really helps to warm up a look when you need it. When I run out it will be missed even though I only use it about once a week or two.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/14/2013 7:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had an eye on Kid for quite a long time but I thought I didn't need it because I already have Wedge. Since it's going to be discontinued I rushed and purchased it.
It proved to be a right thing to do. I find it lighter and pinkier than Wedge which leans more towards tan but the later was never that flattering for my light green eyes.
The texture is smooth and blendable. Lasts all day over TFSI and I use it several times a week. Too bad it's gonna be gone soon...


on 1/2/2013 12:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Well, a Happy WTF New Year to you, too, Mac! What's up with you discontinuing what silly me had thought was one of your fair skinned, neutral staple shades? Guess you had to clear it out to make room for yet another vibrant blue shade in your permanent arsenal. Or to squeeze in yet another LE collection for the coming year. I had to go online shopping on New Year's Day, no less, just to get a backup before it's all sold out. Cause, like, I know darn well I'm not the only one who used this shadow on a regular basis. Crikey, if you like Kid, get it now while you can.

And it's not like I even use it every day. But when I've got some more intense or dramatic shadow on my lid, and want a more discrete, natural crease color to balance things out, I turn to Kid. Its warm, light beige matte tone works perfectly with my warm, nc20-25 skin color. And it spreads & blends nicely, unlike some other Mac mattes. Hence the backup. And hence the Fickle Finger of Fate award to Mac for its disappointing new year surprise.



14 of 15 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

EDIT: What the hell MAC?!?!? How could you discontinue this eyeshadow?!?!? I bought my back-up, I hope you got yours!


I use this color most everyday and I love it. It does pull warm and took a little getting used to on my skintone. (I'm a NC25) I love to use it in the crease and as a transition shade to my highlight. It is pigmented and blends beautifully... I much prefer it to wedge and cork, both of which I own, because it brings more of a warmth to make-up looks. I have had the same pan for months and use it everyday, like I said. When I finally get through it, I will definitely repurchase. I did a comparison of ALL of MAC's transition shades on my blog, so check it out:


http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/2013/01/a-guide-to-mac-transition-colors.html continued >>

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 8/14/2012 10:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i guess i belong to the minority here who find kid to be quite orange-reddish..it gives me a muddy look -maybe because im too cool toned? i dont know (nw15-nw20). if you dislike any eyeshadow which gives a hint of orange -red - copper, you should try another medium brown ( wedge and cork are my favourite -cork is slightly darker than wedge).
also if you are like me and cant find a "light" contouring powder or bronzer because everything looks too brown on you, you should try kid for contouring your cheekbones (it was suggested by a mua) and it works. of course use kid with a light hand and blend it well and it will look really natural.
overall, although i dont like kid as an eyeshadow due to the muddy - reddish hint it "leaves" on my lids, i really like it as a "contouring powder".
p.s even if you apply on the lid brule first and then kid it still leaves an orangish shade.. :/

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/3/2012 6:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like Kid I guess. It really isn't the greatest fit for my skin tone but I just wanted to post a suggestion-- you don't need Kid and Soft Brown in your MAC eyeshadow collection. On my fair skin they are almost indentical. I saw swatches posted that made them look different but honestly, they aren't different enough to justify having both. Just my 2 cents.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.

Back to Top