3.7

Created with Sketch.
352 reviews
60%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This review is for the Eau de Toilette 2019 formulation. I've wanted to try this perfume for awhile. I have TONS of perfumes, but I finally got around to purchasing a small, travel sized 0.41oz spray from Sephora (I think it was $25). Verdict: I really like this perfume! It's funny because many reviews said this was a plain, boring, uninteresting scent. But, compared to today's most popular scents that are all gourmands (LVEB, Coco Mad, Black Opium, Flowerbomb, etc), Very Irresistible would stand out in the crowd. I think this could be a signature scent. I will admit, I have a thing for powdery perfumes. It is my second favorite perfume category after florals. My favorite perfume of all time is Jean Paul Gaultier's Classique EDP (lacy bottle). Classique is definitely a powdery scent, but in the best, lightest way possible. This Givenchy has a slightly similar vibe... Perhaps it is even more similar to Classique EDT than the EDP. Very Irresistible is sweet, but not exactly gourmand sweet. It's perfume-y sweet, but not too much. There's something fresh there, almost minty but not quite (I'm assuming it's the anise). The main note is rose, but I wouldn't call it a rose heavy fragrance (I really don't like rose heavy perfumes). Patchouli is listed as a note, but I really can't detect it in Very Irresistible. If I had to describe Very Irresistible it would be: lightly sweet, fresh, slightly powdery, well-rounded, and very feminine. It performs okay for an EDT. This isn't a powerhouse, but it lingers nicely. This would be office friendly. I think this is appealing and sexy... Not like bombshell sexy or femme fatale sexy, more like demure sexy. If you're looking for a traditionally feminine fragrance that isn't gourmand and is different than the rest, then give Very Irresistible a try.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is one of my favorite perfume, the fragrance being very irresistible as the name states. LOVE LOVE LOVE

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Such a strange fragrance, but in the best way. I sprayed it on me once and smelled baby powder, immediately put it back in the box & didn’t touch it for months. Now I’ve retried it and after I’ve given it a chance I really do like it. It’s more of a potpourri rose smell than a just-picked rose. I can smell a little powder, spice (licorice?) even citrus?? It changes so much throughout the day, and I love that about this perfume. And I love love love roses. So glad I have this.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have become obsessed with Very Irresistible and its flankers. This is a glorious rose, kind of loud sillage and very perfumey, so not safe for work. Maybe that's part of the allure. When I wear this, I'm on MY time, wearing what pleases ME. It is, in a way, a scent of freedom. There is a maddeningly complex, seemingly simple trio at work: rose essences/extracts/oils of the very best possible quality, a really subtle touch of anise, and then I think as a baseline, though it isn't always acknowledged in the notes, musk. From there the perfumers tinker. Sometimes lemon verbena, sometimes peony, sometimes spice, sometimes a bit of "wood," sometimes frank patchouli. There are delicious flankers, these lovely harvest editions that privilege certain kinds of rose (the Bulgarian rose from 2005 is TO DIE for!). These harvest editions veer between damascena and centifolia, adding patch, leather, spice, green, fruity. The differences are very subtle but they're all lovely. Then there are random specialty flankers like the 2013 collector edition which has supposedly 10 different kinds of rose essential oil used, and I believe it. This one unfolds in a slow, unbelievably complex and gorgeous scarf dance all day of different roses. One minute it's an apple-y centifolia, the next the unmistakeable densely aromatic Bulgarian rose, then a rich and in-your-face Turkish rose. Then there's Mes Envies, from 2015, another collector edition. This one is supposed to be a throwback to the very first edt edition, a simple rose, peony, anise edition that manages to be both powdery and rosey. There are several different concentrations - edt, edp. I've never seen a parfum, which is a little surprising. The overall gestalt is rose, powder, a bit of hairspray-y musk that I find myself enjoying, heaven knows why. A subtle variation of roses, warm and delicious. Sometimes there's a powdery peony mediating. I never get the anise as anise, per se, but there's a layer of some kind of sharp spice, and I can work it back to anise. Some of the editions use patch, and it's never an annoying 'This Is PATCHOULI!" patch, or that ghastly, thin, recent perfumers' craze that too many of the Bonds are drenched in. No, a soft, French patch, subtle, warm. It seems like this fragrance should be simple, but it isn't. Every variation is both the same, and nuanced. The Bulgarian 2005 rose one has a strong note of that distinctive Bulgarian rose that rises up just past drydown, and is unmistakeable. Some have a touch of green tea, which I kind of love. I haven't met one I didn't enjoy. I should say that when I first met this fragrance, it hit me with a strong unlit tobacco note that made it unwearable for me. Very occasionally, that note returns, but generally, this is a lovely rose, full stop, with complicated musks and powders that give it a gorgeous, formal, French perfumey-ness. This is NOT the fragrance to wear around perfume haters! It has zero deniability - it is perfume, pure and simple, no pretense of soap here.

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My all time favorite perfume!!i have a big collection of high end fragrances but this is my favorite.the smell is feminine,sexy,sweet and unique at the same time and I have a lot of compliments about it when I am wearing it.of course a fragrance smells a bit different on every body,so if you try it and you like it definately buy it!(a small trick to understand if a fragrance is marching your body,is if you don't smell it so intense after a few time you spray it on yourself,but people around you can smell it)

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Back in the mid-90s this was my absolute favorite fragrance. Not only did I love the way I smelled on me, I would constantly get compliments from men and women. It smelled, as the name states, very irresistible on me. I wore this fragrance for many years. After a few years went by of not wearing the cologne, I decided to splurge and purchase another bottle. Boy was I disappointed. It smelled horrible on me and in general. At first, I thought perhaps that it had gone bad or expired. I returned it saying telling the vendor that it must be old or a counterfeit. My money was returned. Later, just to re-check, I tried it on a few other times in different department stores and again, I couldn't get the smell off soon enough. It was horrible. I don't know if Givenchy changed the recipe or if my body chemistry just changed since I know that is possible for your body to do so. If so, I don't even know how it would smell nice on anyone. It even made the air smell bad. I would really like to get to the bottom of this question that has been in the back of my mind for several years ago. If they did change the recipe, it is a shame because they turned something beautiful into something horrid. I don't know if anyone knows the true answer to my question but I would really like to know out of curiosity and because I really do miss my former favorite fragrance. There are a lot of really great fragrances out there and I enjoy all of mine so it's not like I have nothing else to chose from. It's just a shame that it smells so terrible now.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I LOVE this scent! It's got a great blend of different rose scents with verbena to keep it from becoming too floral. I'm a fan of scents with depth and that aren't just straight up floral or fruity. This scent perfectly marries the floral with what I can smell is a bit of musk which I love and a hint of fruit. One of my go to night time fragrances. It is longlasting and very powerful-I like to spray it on one wrist sort of far away, then rub it to the other wrist and my neck to prevent it from being too overpowering. It's beautiful and I think mature without being too old ladyish-a nice grown-up, I'm a woman-sexy scent. One of my favorites!

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This was a nice classy,feminine perfume with a strong floral scent,middle note was rose but overall notes was musk (not a fan). Lasts longer on clothes and hair than it does on skin. This scent fits more mature,strong ladys then teens.I enjoy it for a while then i got bored,i like more fresh-sunny perfumes. Not a bad perfume but not for me.

About reviewer (147 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I got a couple samples of this not knowing the scent prior. I didn't have any high hopes and I'm glad I didn't. This to me smells like a generic perfume. There isn't anything in this perfume that makes me go "WOW! This is amazing!". It isn't a bad perfume though, I can see more mature women being able to pull this off than women in their early twenties or teens. Also, I'm not a huge fan of a very musky scent and with this one, all I can smell is musk. I can smell a hint of rose in this but I feel that it is over taken by the musk. I would enjoy this more if I could smell the rose more than the musk personally. Not a bad perfume but not one I will be reaching for or planning on buying. If you are torn about this one, get a sample or two before purchasing and see if you like it before dishing the money out for it.

About reviewer (158 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This is such a nice perfume for winter. I was a little bit intimidated by the smell from the bottle, but on my skin the scent changes into something milder, rose-milk is what I would call it. This was a present, it wasn`t something I would have chosen myself, but I am really enjoying the scent and would consider purchasing it again. I love the smell of roses, but somehow in most perfumes this scent can come off as too artificial and old-ladyish. This one is different, there is a youthful creaminess to it.

About reviewer (906 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel