LUSH Karma Komba

LUSH Karma Komba

4.0

115 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Cocamide DEA, Perfume, Patchouli Oil (Pogostemon cablin), Orange Oil (Citrus dulcis), Lavender Oil (Lavandula hybrida), Pine Oil (Pinus), Lemongrass Oil (Cymbopogan flexuosus), Elemi Oil (Canarium commune), Gardenia Extract (Gardenia jasminoides), *Citral, *Geraniol, *Citronellol, *Limonene, *Linalool, FD&C Blue No. 1, Roman Chamomile Flower (Anthemis nobilis).


on 7/16/2016 2:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love the scent of this, but I don't know how people can smell it (or any of LUSH's shampoo bars) on their hair after washing because I can't ever smell it in mine! Okay, rant over.

Anyway, my scalp is a greasy mess while the ends of my hair are extremely dry. This causes me a lot of grief trying to find a good shampoo. With karma, I would get about an extra half of a day (maybe one full day) that I wouldn't need to wash my hair. My ends though were slowly getting worse after each wash. Conditioning didn't seem to help my ends, so I ended up returning Karma.

It lathers well, smells great, and I like the colour too. Be careful to NEVER leave your bar in the shower where it can get wet. I used a soap dish that has holes in the bottom to allow it to fully dry. If possible, it's even better to put it horizontally with the tip leaning against the wall (or anything) to completely air it from all sides. I hope the last part of my explanation made sense. 🙈

Note: none of LUSH's shampoo bars worked for me so far, because my hair is really picky. This may work better for you if you don't have really dry ends. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it.



on 7/13/2016 12:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I luuurrvvvee LUSH's Karma scent - it always makes me smile and its power to last all day is second to none. This shampoo is no different scent-wise; if I wash my hair with this the night before, I'm guaranteed to still be smelling it by the following evening, which is a difficult claim for most other shampoos to make. However, in regards to its shampooing capabilities, this one's seriously lacking.

According to LUSH's website, the Karma Komba shampoo is designed to 'gently cleanse your hair whilst a luxurious blend of fine essential oils including lemongrass, sweet orange, lavandin, pine and patchouli scent your tresses'. Also, the ingredient Elemi oil helps to 'balance your scalp, keeping it clean and clear' (although clear of what, it doesn't say).

Top marks for the first claim - as already mentioned, it certainly does 'scent my tresses' leaving them smelling lovely. However, the second claim is where it falls down completely for me. After about 3 weeks of using this (on average every other day) my hair started to feel really dry, coarse and for want of a better word, coated. It wasn't until I used a clarifying shampoo one weekend when I was away from home that I realised just how weighed down and unpleasant my hair had become. And as I'd only added this shampoo to my regime (i.e. everything else stayed the same) I can only assume it was this that was doing bad things to my hair.

For £5.95 for 55g it's a pretty expensive shampoo and I would personally challenge LUSH's oft-quoted claim that their shampoo bars last longer than bottled shampoos too. In my experience this hasn't lasted me any longer than a bottled one would and in actual fact, once you reach the stage where it's almost wafer thin, you end up throwing it in the trash because it becomes unusable. At least with a bottled shampoo I can (usually) stand it on its head and make sure to get every last drop out.

I've enjoyed using this mostly for the scent, but I certainly won't be repurchasing it again in the future. There are plenty of other shampoos I want to try and/or that suit my hair much better than this did and although they (probably) won't smell quite as nice, they hopefully won't leave me with scarecrow hair!


To Read all 115 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really don't think I can commit to this product anymore.

I love the concept, I really do, and it is quite practical once you get into the routine of letting it dry out. The smell is AMAZING, which is one of the reasons I struggled letting this go, and it lingers all day so you smell incredible (if the scent is to your taste)

My main issue is, no matter what conditioner i team this with, this is so drying to my hair. At first it looked really glossy, which I was pleased with, but after a few weeks the ends of my hair split. I got a haircut, assuming I needed it (three inches off), and within a week the same thing happened again. I tried the jungle conditioner from Lush, Aussi conditioner, coconut oil, hair serums, nothing was able to counter-act the heavy Sodium Lauryl sulfate in this product, which can be very stripping for hair in high amounts (btw NEVER buy a cleanser with SLS in it. Sodium Laureth sulfate is okay, Sodium LAURYL sulfate is the drying devil)

Overall I can't commit to this because it's so drying, but man I love the scent!


on 11/22/2015 12:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My new holy grail shampoo!

I got it as an impulse buy, and I am so impressed! I found it doesn't dry my hair out at all, gives quite good volume, good levels of shine, and very clean; I only have to wash my hair every 4/5 days when using it, instead of 2/3 days!

I use it basically how you'd use a bar of soap; I just rub it on my hair, and it lathers up, but not excessively, and doesn't disintegrate. It's very easy to guide the shampoo where you need it, and get the underneath section of your hair, without it washing away (unlike liquid shampoo).

It lasts a long time, too- I've had my bar for around 3 months now, and it's barely shrunk in size, so it's great value as far as I'm concerned! I store it in my lush tin, which seems pretty effective.

Will definitely repurchase <3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2015 12:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used this product for about 4 months. Initially the scent was strong, which I liked, however this faded over time until I could hardly smell it anymore. For the first month or so it was great, but I began to find it to be quite drying - at the end of four months I really felt I had to stop because the bottom half of my hair was becoming like straw. Perhaps this is because I was combining it with the jungle conditioner bar, but I would not repurchase.


on 2/15/2015 7:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is surprisingly good, but Lush is very hit or miss with most of the hair products being a miss. I didnt expect to like it but it it lathers up nicely so a little goes a long way. It cleans thoroughly, doesn't strip colour, and smells amazing. So easy. I strongly suggest getting a container for it, as I left my first bar unprotected in the shower and it disintegrated really quickly. I just use it like a soap and create anther which I pop on my hair and massage, but you could also just roll it around your hair or even break some off. I find the lather first application more economical so it lasts longer. This is my shampoo of choice for travel, and it helps that it's solid and in a good container, spill proof and compact. Even if you are like me and have become disillusioned with Lush haircare, try Karma Kormba asap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Possibly the best shampoo I have ever used, I was a bit skeptical about it when I first used it because it was solid and I had no idea how to apply it, but once I got the hang of it this was great, my scalp gets quite congested with dandruff and buildup and this cleaned it well without drying out my hair. It gave my air this light, airy feeling and made it look so shiny. It's really calming as well and I personally love the smell. The only things I didn't like were how they put the flower on top and how it was packaged, after the first use I had to scrape it out of the tin with my fingernails because it got all soggy and it stuck to the tin. Maybe they could have a push-up thing where you twist the bottom of a container like a lipstick kind of thing and then you just rub it on your hair like that. Overall a very lovely product and I will probably buy it again when I finish my current shampoo.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 12:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I adore this solid shampoo from Lush. The Karma scent is my favourite and I have the Karma Kream, the soap and I also use the bubble bar.

I have fine hair that is very prone to oiliness but this really *cleans* my hair. My hair is shiny and bouncy and smells amazing after I use it.

I was worried about the level of SLS and the effect it might have on my hair but I rub it onto the roots, lather and allow the suds to run down the lengths of my hair so that the shampoo isn't being rubbed directly onto the ends of my hair, which are prone to dryness.

Definitely my new favourite shampoo.


on 10/31/2014 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

Before I start, I think I will share with you the condition of my hair. I have to admit I have put it through hell before now, by colouring and chemical straightening. It permanently wrecked my hair and I have never seen it this weak in my life. But I put a lot of time into taking care of it, and after this, it was about to change.

This is my first LUSH shampoo bar, I read some glowing reviews about this before I made up my mind to purchase one at my local LUSH. It was weird, because before this, I have never set foot in a LUSH store. You know some people have made fun of washing hair with soap at some stage of your life, well, this is one of those instances when you pause and go... wait, really? But I promise you, you won't regret using this! It was weird using it the first time, you rub it in circles on your wet hair, and it lathers up quite well. I then use a shampoo hair brush to massage my scalp for a bit, then wash it out, and shampoo a second time, massage scalp with the shampoo brush again, and then rinse it out. It has no silicone, so it feels a bit drying if you are used to that slippery feeling after you wash out the bubbles with your ordinary shampoo. If you follow up with good conditioner (preferably no silicone too), you will feel the difference right away. My hair was used to cone-free shampoos, so it was no surprise to me that my hair was so clean it practically squeaks after you wash it out. I was never a shampoo and go sorta girl for obvious reasons stated above, so at first I follow it up with Retread, and I was surprised at how soft my hair felt, and I had way less breakage when I applied my straightener. I also marvelled at how much less hair came out when I was done. Now I have been using it for a few weeks, I can honestly say, after using LUSH hair products, you have to pay me to go back to using drug store or salon shampoo and conditioners! You have no idea how damaging it is to have silicone in your hair. With the exception of heat protection (which is why I double-shampoo, to get rid of build up), I have minimal silicone products on my hair, and I love the feel of it! So light and bouncy and soft! It might be pricey and small when you first lay your eyes on it, but I shampoo about once every two days, and after 2 weeks, I only see a little decrease in size (my hair length is half way down my back), so it is safe to say, one will last you quite a while!

But, if you have a thing against strong smelling ANYTHING, you will probably want to stay away from this, because once you wet this bar the scent lingers around for days. Not from your hair, it's the shampoo bar. I don't really mind, because it means I don't need to spend extra for air fresheners. Bonus! =D


on 10/24/2014 5:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this. And I do love the smell, I'm a Karma fan so I really wanted Karma hair. It lathered nicely with not much effort, which was nice. But made my hair a bit knotty and just not great.

Has not gone to waste though, I use it to soap up my legs to shave. It's actually brilliant for that!

Popular Shampoos


All Soft Shampoo
All Soft Shampoo
750 Reviews
Shampoo
Shampoo
438 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
Shimmer Lights
352 Reviews
Back to Top