3.4

Created with Sketch.
46 reviews
56%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It smells like vinegar and sugar were left on the stove. Where was Elizabeth when this abomination happened?!!!!!!!! So disappointing considering the lovely bottle

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am beginning to believe that scent experience is a completely subjective sense.I love fragrance but find that many, if not most, reviews differ tremendously from my own experience. Gardenia is one of my favorite scents in perfume...I remember liking Jungle Gardenia, but did not like what it turned into on me. E-Lauder Tuberose Gardenia,(tested at Macy's) was a nice light floral that didn't last even one full hour on me and not even a trace of it on the tester card within 3 hours.Not acceptable for a $120.00 price tag! Tried Island Gardenia...blast from the past cheapie... OVERPOWERING SWEET baby-powder...VERY weak gardenia going on there, with todays version. Elizabeth TaylorGardenia....a clean "realistic" gardenia. I emphasize realistic because those who grew up with fresh gardenias growing everywhere, as I did, know its not EASY to get it spot on.ET comes very close ON ME- Heady but CLEAN, fresh not overly sweet. The dry down does not turn "musky" on me ,but rather turns into a slightly apricot scent with gardenia. Somewhat reminiscent of YSL Yvress(Champagne).The scent lasts a good eight hours on me, and folks tell me I have a soft ,fresh clean beautiful scent!Though it does't satisfy my craving for the "DEEP_RICH" Gardenia in my imagination (and probably outside of my budget), ET's Gardenia is one of the BEST I've had the pleasure of wearing!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Most reviewers seem to love this but I was able to sample from an open bottle while at TJ Maxx and it gave me a serious allergy attack. I could not stop coughing and my eyes were watering. I have never reacted this strongly to a perfume before. Strange. Pretty bottle though. I am just glad that I didn’t blind buy this one.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

An uncomplicated, refreshing, leafy-green gardenia/jasmine combo that just plain smells GREAT. Inexpensive, sold everywhere online, excellent bang for your buck. Almost smells like a really nice shampoo if lightly sprayed; you can always apply more to dress things up a bit. The jasmine in this is impeccably clean, with none of the heavy funk that sometimes accompanies white florals. It’s so simply floral that can imagine this being sold as an oil at Whole Foods, called “Tropical Water Goddess” or something. It’s a very versatile perfume, and great for all occasions & ages. I *love* that Liz Taylor made fragrances for grownups and never once put her name on anything resembling cotton candy. I happen to love White Diamonds and like Passion— but if you hate those, give Gardenia a shot anyway. It’s a lot lighter.

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Elizabeth Taylor's Gardenia Perfume is a Lovely Floral Perfume... Lily of the Valley Green Leaves Gardenia Peony Orchid Musk Carnation Smells like a bouquet of Spring Flowers...Gardenia,Lily of the Valley,Carnations...Very Nice for Spring & Summer...

About reviewer (408 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

no...just....no cheap,promising at the very beginning...but...no.. pure vile concoction of tuberoselike flowers, smells metallic and like fresh blood... I'm trying to avoid the d word but after several times I just concluded it...is...disgusting... (p.s. ''great alternative to Kors..."? not in a million years..sorry)

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

GORGEOUS! Great, inexpensive alternative to Michael Kors. Gardenias are my favorite flower but I have never liked white floral perfumes due to they tend to turn sharp on me. This fragrance is pure gardenia with nothing more. It was $12 for 3.3 oz on eBay. I have tried many others trying to find a sweet, clean, light, creamy gardenia but the ET seems to fit my expectations. If you remember Sand & Sable from the 1980s this smells a lot like it but sweeter. The only downside is this doesn’t last very long on me.

About reviewer (147 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

If gardenia is what you are looking for then with Elizabeth Taylor's Gardenia is exactly what you will get. Gardenia is the reigning flower in this garden which also has orchid, lily of the valley, peony and carnation. I dont know what year this was released but it seems to be one of those powerhouse fragrances from the 80's. It's very strong and projects well. It doesnt, though, have that creamy, lush gardenia note that Marc Jacobs gardenia fragrance has. There is a note of carnation in this fragrance and i think that is what i'm detecting. Also, there is a note of green leaves and i can definitely smell those. It is kind of very interesting actually. They really do smell like green leaves....its uncanny. I sprayed this on and i detected something sharp about it but it was the green leaves i was smelling. Nice touch. Marc Jacobs is linear and totally gardenia but Elizabeth Taylor's Gardenia has other cool notes that make the perfume nice. It has a note of carnation too and i think i can detect that as well. A little soapy but thats okay. This fragrance was a bargain at $14.99 at Ross and it comes in a tall, lovely green bottle with a dainty cap in the shape of a flower.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I got this at Marshall's for $14.99 for a 3.3oz bottle. I've been looking for a perfume that would remind me of my grandmother but was affordable enough and that I enjoyed the scent. On her perfume tray, she had a tiny Gardenia bottle. When I saw it in the store, I decided to go ahead and try it. The bottle is beautiful, green with a flower on top. The smell is delicious, soft floral that reminds me of my upbringing in the South. The only drawback to this is that it does not last very long. I feel like I have to spray a lot of it to be able to smell it on myself for an extended amount of time. It stays very very close to you if you wear only a little bit. It definitely does not smell like an "Elizabeth Taylor perfume." It is very lovely, and I will repurchase until I can't find it anymore.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I do not like like floral fragrances as a rule. As an exception, I seem to love Gardenia. It all started with a sample spritz of Chanel Gardenia years ago and since I cannot get my hands on a bottle of that I have been searching for something suitable since. I picked up a bottle of this for $8 at Marshalls and I find it sweet and enchanting. I also happen to love Mark's Greek Isles for those of you who might like a little coconut with your Gardenia. I never thought I would own an Elizabeth Taylor scent but alas, here I am. "Gardenia by Elizabeth Taylor is a Floral fragrance for women. Gardenia was launched in 2003. Top notes are lily-of-the-valley and green leaves; middle notes are gardenia, peony and orchid; base notes are musk and carnation"

About reviewer (251 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel