MAC Half-N-Half

MAC Half-N-Half

4.1

140 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Diisostearyl Malate, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Lanolin Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax\Candelilla Cera\Cire De Candelilla, Octyldodecanol, Ozokerite, Silica, Polydecene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyethylene, Microcrystalline Wax\Cera Microcristallina\Cire Microcristalline, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'Orge, Astrocaryum Murumuru Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate, Squalane, Cholesterol, Ceramide 3, Alumina, Linoleic Acid, Vanillin, [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Red 6, Red 7 Lake, Red 28, Red 30, Red 33 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 10 Lake]

Start your review


on 3/28/2017 2:43:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Gorgeous lip color. This is exactly as it is named, a mix of half coffee and half milk. I would say it leans towards the coffee end as it has enough color to not be pale, but not enough to be even close to dark, someplace in between. My skin tone does not allow those light lipsticks from the 1960's. I use MUA as my main source of finding the perfect this or that. Here is one of the winners I found on MUA. I have tons of lipsticks, nothing dark as these do not look good on an aging face, but Half-N-Half is very different from any other color I own. A great find!!!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

On my NC30 skin this is a very natural looking color, slightly lighter than my natural lips but results in a nude-pink lip look. I used this for about 10 days and it looks half done. It's also really hard for me to get this to look clean around the edges so I purchased a lipliner to achieve a cleaner look (MAC pro longwear in Cultured goes well with this). It lasts about 4 hours on me which I think is a decent amount of time. I have heard so many positive things about the amplified formula but I dislike it myself. Upon application, it looks heavy and overly creamy. I often blot it down with a tissue. A natural pink lip shouldn't take as much effort as this product has caused. With daily use this will be finished in a month. Absolutely not worth it at all!


on 12/28/2015 12:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is my first mac lipstick, and while waiting for it to arrive (ordered it)., I needed a similar shade and got a tube of NYC at Walmart for like $1.85... Creamy caramel. Well, this came in yesterday and I LOVE IT! But I just noticed that the two are VERY SIMILAR. SO I searched them. Exactly the same color, almost the exact same scent, (both are vanilla-ish) and the finish and consistency are practically exact. It's definitely a dupe. The only difference is the price, by far, the packaging is far superior with the mac, and the NYC is slightly thinner. Only slightly. Both have awesome staying power and are creamy and glide on, feel comfortable and look amazing. They're absolutely the same shade. If I knew how, I'd load the picture of the swatches. Pretty much identical. Still, I prefer the mac for the thickness, the tube, and the scent is a tiny bit different. Just letting y'all know there is a very inexpensive but great quality dupe for half n half. I'd purchase it again, and reccomend this perfect shade, it's beautiful and feels awesome. However, being that it's my first mac lipstick, I will probably try some other colors and finishes next time. But I'm definitely LOVING mac!

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOVE MAC lipstick, super affordable compared to other lipsticks of the same caliber. I bought this color on a whim the other day and its my new favorite color. Only drawback would be that it's slightly drying, but I haven't found a lipstick yet that isn't.


on 12/1/2015 12:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ummm Half n Half, where have you been during my entire makeup wearing life?! (20yrs already wtf?! Lol). I can't believe this was never recommended to me by anyone at MAC. It's a great color for me. This is a great neutral nudey color that Mac describes as a creamy pink, but I don't really see too much pink...I'm around NC/C30 yellowish golden olive, with dark brown/black hair and dark brown eyes. This is in your typical black case, snaps shut and smells like vanilla. The color is great for any situation- from a work environment to a night out on the town paired with a smoky eye. It has a great smooth texture that doesn't dry out my lips or settle in lip lines. It doesn't make my lips peel or irritate. It faded evenly and I did have to reapply a little after eating or drinking something. It's a cream amplified finish so there's shine and it's not super matte. Super thumbs up and will definitely repurchase!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 11/10/2015 10:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Really great everyday color! Best for when you don't want to think about what lipstick to wear or you don't want anything high maintenance. MLBB even for fair skin! Very comfortable on the lips.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/24/2015 2:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my first mac lipstick. My makeup artist for prom used it for me on the day and when I asked for a swatch just to reapply after a couple hours she gave if to me to keep!!! That was sooo nice of her and I slaaaayyyeddd on the day no exaggeration lol but anyway I would describe half n half as a pinkish nude. It's a nice neutral colour for girls of colour. Before I used to stray away from lipstick cause my lips are quite pouty and I don't want them to look to big but I think there are lipsticks that compliment every lip shape and shade so don't rule anything out! I usually apply this with a pink lipgloss I think by Rimmel I can't remember the name though and I loove it, it's now my day to day lip colour!! I definitely want to get more mac lipsticks but the price is a turn-off, £15.50 for a lipstick for me is ridiculous u could buy like 5 decent lipsticks with that money if u went to boots or Supedrug or your local hair shop. It pains my heart but despite this I will definitely repurchase. My lips looks so pretty in this, like kylie jenners only mine where hand crafted by Jesus himself lol I definitley recommend for everyone it will suits all shades all the way up from porcelain girls to deep deep Choco x

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 5/5/2015 3:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great nude for smokey eyes for olive/Indian skin.i am n30.i like jubilee. But jubilee does not show up on my lip.it comes as a great alternative for its opaque coverage.its kinda muted pinky brownish nude on me.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 4/15/2015 1:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Perfect nude shade for me. I'm at an age where veering too far away from my natural lip shade can look harsh. I usually have to stick to plums and mauves. I was worried this one might be a little too light but it's actually perfect for my skin color. Half N Half is kind of a hard shade to describe. Perhaps a light brownish pink. Very flattering. You can change the hue of this lipstick by trying different lip liners. Berry type liners will bring out the pink but a brownish or reddish liner will make it look more brown/mauve.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 1/29/2015 5:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

for me buying this product wasnt worth the price due to me having to mix it with diffrent lipliners and more pinky colours just to get the right colour.
I feel like it makes me look very washed out which I hate.
it wasnt matte enough in my opinion.
I felt that i needed to change my lipcolour half way through the day.

Back to Top