4.1

Created with Sketch.
389 reviews
77%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

22 days ago

This was my favorite foundation for years. I love it! Covers everything well, wears well, easy to reapply throughout day without ever getting cakey, reasonably priced. However, the formula must have changed. I have bought several over the last year, and all of them are much darker and look orange when applied. I am heart broken and now need to look for a replacement. I used Laurel Nude. Hopefully the other colors are not affected similarly.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Once upon a time, when I used to do makeup everyday for work, I absolutely loved this product and somehow wound up purchasing like four of them at once (probably when Sally Beauty had some sale going on) and I had them sitting around when I stopped doing makeup for a while. Now that I am back on with doing makeup everyday for work, I have rediscovered these. The shade I use is Cypress Beige, which is slightly darker than my skin tone, but it is the best match I could find. When I want a quick base for my face, I use this in place of foundation and it does a good job of covering my flaws. I sometimes also use this over foundation as a finishing powder. The price is decent, especially when Sally Beauty has sales, and I would definitely repurchase once I finally use up the ones I got!

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Bought this because I needed a powder foundation for my oily skin. The lightest shade was too dark for me and I'm NC35! The packaging and sponge is ok, mirror should be bigger and square shaped like the shape of the compact. There should be sponge refills included for hygienic reasons. Sponge refills for all brands such as MAC shouldn't be so expensive. MAC charges $10 for 2 sponges. It should be a pack that will last until the makeup in the compact finishes. Speaking of MAC, MAC Studio fix powder is better though not the best powder foundation because it oxidizes and I become greasy and oily in less than an hour or so. That's my skin though so it might be better for someone else. As with this product. They need to make more shades and perhaps give more coverage because it didn't cover my discoloration and acne. All powder compacts should have better, bigger, clearer mirrors so you can see your face and apply the product perfectly and evenly and include sponge refills that last and apply the makeup beautifully and evenly and does not fall apart. MAC's Studio Fix Powder Sponge is a good example of a good sponge but could still be a little better and not be so expensive!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I agree with jackieskies. I'm in the UK and bought laurel nude from Amazon and loved it. My second purchase a few weeks ago and it's turned horribly pink on my face and sponge. It was so bad that I thought that my previously excellent American retailer had slipped me a fake. Thanks to Jackie I now know that's not the case, but I can't wear it any more as it looks like I'm trying add a fake tan! Bitterly disappointed. This quickly became my HG foundation and I feel that it's been snatched away from me. :(

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

something is off with this product lately, the laurel nude was a natural tone and now it has a horrifically pink unnatural cast, which I only noticed too late to change at work. Sad as product was perfect before....... Update: I actually ended up having contact/conversation with this brand, and they suggested I try it again. I recently did in March 2017, and it seems the laurel nude has much less of a pinkish cast, it seems they may have adjusted it. In its current form I find it really useful as a setting powder for Boots No, 5 foundation in ivory (lift and luminize) and whatever concealer I use....blends edges and keeps face shine free. Also good for quick "all I have time for" face for informal days.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Powder foundations are something of an oddity and for me they're either HG or DR (Death Rattle - go with me on this). There's no middle ground; it's one or t'other. My skin - never the most cooperative entity in the universe to start with - sometimes likes foundation and sometimes doesn't like foundation but instead prefers a powder which provides a touch of coverage. (My skin also runs the gamut from extremely dry and flaky to oily and greedy but still very sensitive in about 5 seconds flat. Needless to say, we've had our "awkward" moments) This was an impulse buy by (can I really use "buy by" in a sentence? That just seems so very wrong) my husband who had - bless him - tried to find the Physician's Formula thingy I'd added to the list, failed, and in desperation asked the closest human for advice. She recommended this powder; she is clearly a Goddess of some sort because without even seeing me she knew what I needed. The shade is "Ivory Myrrh" and, despite the completely nonsensical name (shockingly nonsensical), it's actually a very pretty light almost-beige shade. It seemed to be a teeny bit more yellow than I'd usually select, but in broad daylight it was actually very natural-looking. When you add a bit of bronzer to the mix your skin looks like it's glowing from the inside out. Once again though, shades for darker ladies are completely missing and it loses a lippie for that. In terms of coverage I'd call it medium. It doesn't layer too well, but if you start out with just a touch you can build it up a little bit without it becoming cement cake. Just a little bit. It does last a decent amount of time too, even without a primer. It's really a handy little option if you want light to medium coverage. (I can't really categorize this properly because it's neither HG or DR and that flummoxes me)

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Makes your skin look worse than it did before! I really found nothing good in this foundation.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Love this foundation. It stays in place all day, and doesn't look too powdery when applied dry with a kabuki brush. I haven't used it wet. I use the shade Natural Clary. I do wish that it came safety sealed. I was in Ulta, wanting to pick a new one up, and all of the boxes had been opened,and tested already. Gross!

About reviewer (137 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I am continuing my review (typing this on the mobile app is tricky because it keeps stopping me from typing) Palladio is cruelty free and gluten free. Gluten makes a lot of people break out and they don't even know it. It has medium to full coverage and it best used with a bamboo kabuki brush. I got "everlasting tan "shade. It works!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

So last week I saw Makeup Alley come out with a Dupe List for high-end brands and this was compared to as a dupe for Lancome's Dual Finish. Since Lancome Dual Finish has been on my wishlist for months, I decided to read the reviews on the Palladio powder. Some of the reviews mentioned that the formula seems to have changed and the shading is a bit off and/or darker than the previously purchased versions. Keeping this in mind, I went to the closest Sally Beauty Supply store and found Cypress Beige which appeared to be a close match but based on reviews I knew it may show up darker. I had a feeling that the Laurel Nude might be a better match but I would start with Cypress. It turned out exactly as it was described, having a bit of an off-shade and if I had to describe it best, I would say that it is almost a bit of a muted beige having some slightly grey undertones. I can see how this would be off-putting to someone with warm tones but work for someone with neutral to cool tones. I decided to re-purpose it into a contouring powder and I am actually pleased with the results. Usually when I contour, shades tend to have a bit of a bronzey brownish-orange hue to them and if I wear blush with it, the combination of bronze and pink tends to give off a bit of an unnatural and overly done cheek. I decided to use Palladio's muted greyish tones to give off a more naturally shaded than made up appearance. For the most natural look, I apply the powder alone to the contour areas and this has become my everyday office look. For my heavier contoured looks, I apply my regular contour shades and then blend it out with this powder to soften it a bit and the lines become undetectable. The consistency of the powder itself is actually nice as it doesn't show up chalky on the skin and it's just the right amount of matte without being too matte. I tried it wet and it dries so fast that it went on streaky and didn't give me enough play time to blend it out. My face ended up looking dirty so I just stick to applying it dry. I'm going to try the Laurel Nude next and will follow-up with a review on that later. **UPDATE JUNE 15, 2015: I bought the Laurel Nude over the weekend and tried it out. It's actually very nice and natural but it has some slightly pink tones that are not so bad but would look more amazing on pinkish/reddish skin tones. I don't think I would compare it to a high coverage powder foundation like Lancome Duo Mat (not that I have tried it) but I would actually closely compare it to being an almost bang-on dupe for the M.A.C. Mineralize Skin Finish. It doesn't go on heavy so it's a perfect finishing touch over foundation. It's actually great for going to the store to run an errand or going to the gym where you don't want to look made up but just enough coverage to look natural. It seems to cover just enough without looking like I'm wearing makeup. If only Palladio could come up with a yellow based shade this would be a perfect 10 for me.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown