Chantecaille Compact Makeup

Chantecaille Compact Makeup
image 1image 2

4.2

71 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

According to Nordstrom.com, July 2013: Talc, Mica, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Myrystyl Trisiloxane, Silica, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Lauryl Lactate, C26-54 Alkyl Tetradecyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Caprylyl Methicone, Glycine Soja Oil, Zinc Stearate, Trimethylolpropane Triisostearate, Chlorphenesin, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Octyldodecanol, Potassium Sorbate, Polyperfluoroethoxymethoxy Difluoroethyl Peg Phosphate, Zinc Oxide, Tetrasodium Edta, Phyllanthus Emblica Extract, BHT; May Contain: Mica CI 77019, Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, Ultramarines CI 77007. ------------------------------------------------------------ Ingredients: Talc, Silica, Nylon-12, Titanum Dioxide, Octyldodecyl Lactate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Zequite, Soybean Oil, Lecithin, Magnesium Mysristate, Sorbic Acid, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Butylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Beta-Carotene, Zein, Lauryl Alcohol, PCA, BHT, Aluminum Sulfate May Contain: Mica, Titanum Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride, Carmine, Ultramarine Blue, Manganese Violet, D&C Red7 AL Lake, D&C Red 30, FD&C Yellow 5 AL Lake, FD&C Yellow 6 AL Lake.


on 12/21/2015 8:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Hands down the absolute best powder foundation I've ever owned. I heard great things about this and finally purchased it a couple of months ago, Petal is my perfect shade and it gives my skin a very natural, polished and airbrushed look to it.

I normally apply my foundation as normal and then wear this on top sort of like a finishing powder but it really does add a bit of extra coverage, it isn't cakey even if you apply it with the sponge and the colour match is absolutely perfect. I'd say that this is imperceptible on the skin to be quite honest with you and I would recommend it to anyone who asked me what good powder compact they should buy. This, always this. I did sort of want more coverage mainly because that's what I expected from this but it hasn't let the product down in any way. It's perfect on top of TM.

The cons are that this is an expensive purchase for sure, and after 2 months of daily use I have already hit pan on it in the very centre which has disappointed me somewhat but also alerted me to the fact that this is a staple in my routine and one that I do not wish to be without. I have tried other foundations in the past which have sat on top of my skin, not matched very well or looked too obvious and this is just... it's just understated, classic and elegant. I may even buy a second one to keep in my bag.

A little note on the compact: It gets scruffy looking fairly easily because it's so shiny and beautiful at the start and it's constantly being thrown in my makeup bag, but it is quite expensive looking and pretty - it has a nice mirror and a compartment under the powder with a decent sponge in it - it is the perfect travel companion and looks elegant and beautiful. I highly doubt i'll be swapping this for anything else anytime soon. It's on of "those" products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/2/2015 9:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Chantecaille Compact Makeup was my first foray into more niche/inaccessible high-end makeup. Based on online swatches, I blindly chose the color Petal for my NW10 skin. Petal is neutral with a slight tinge of pink. To date, I have not been able to find a better match for my skin in terms of shade and undertone. The second closest foundation match I've been able to find is the YSL Top Secrets BB Cream in Clear.

The foundation powder is housed in a metallic silver moon. It's definitely one of the larger compacts in my collection, and its size is comparable to that of the Shu Uemura Lightbulb Oleo-pact. Like the Lightbulb, the top of the compact is domed, so you can't really stack other things on top of it. I've seen reviews of this product online, and some pictures show it coming in a beautiful drawstring pouch. I ordered this product from Nordstrom about 2 years ago, and it did not come with a pouch.

Despite the larger size, I do appreciate Chantecaille's attention to detail with the packaging; the general feeling is one of weighted luxury, and this compact puts my Chanel purchases to shame and gives my Guerlain powders a run for their money. The mirror is generously large, and I'll often use it for touch-ups when I'm on-the-go. The compartment below the powder has venting to allow the thick, plush sponge to dry between uses. The compact snaps shut securely, and I've never had any issues with it opening and wreaking havoc on the contents of my bag.

In terms of formula, this is my HG pressed powder foundation. I'd say it sets to a natural matte. Coverage can be built up to almost-but-not-really medium. For me, the main selling point is the enhancement of skin texture; my pores seem smaller and there's a general appearance of smoothness. This overall sense of evenness combined with textural refinement means that a thick layer of spackle isn't required to get a polished look. My skin still looks like skin with both powder brush and sponge application. The powder itself has a creamy texture; when some powders get to that panned state, they crumble even if you look at them the wrong way. That hasn't occurred with this foundation. About 80% of the pan is showing at the moment, and I know I'll be able to use it up to the end.

I've made this formula work for me despite skin type fluctuations. I am tremendously clog-prone; this product has never exacerbated my acne and was one of the few products I'd turn to when my skin was being extra temperamental. I used it when I was younger and my skin was considerably oilier. I would still have oil breakthrough after 3 or 4 hours but, given the volume of oil pumped out of my skin (thanks, crappy genetics), this was considerable longevity. Even at the end of a workday, the majority of my foundation would still be in tact with some fading around the chin and nose. I am currently on a course of Accutane, and this foundation still holds its own even though the oil production in my skin has halted. My skin is desert dry but, with an extra layer of moisturizer, only a bit of dryness shows around my mouth at the end of the workday. Anyone who is familiar with the effects of Accutante will know how incredible that is.

Overall, if you are seeking a balance of coverage and textural perfection and can stomach the Chantecaille price, I wholeheartedly recommend this foundation. I'm a foundation addict, and I haven't looked twice at another pressed powder since I bought this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 71 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 8/28/2015 1:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Let me just start by saying I have never liked a product enough to write a review. I have been searching for quite some time now for a powder foundation to stand up to my oily skin. I live in Florida and between my oily T-Zone and humidity make up usually melts right off. This powder foundation lasts for a solid 8-9 hours and keeps the oil under control. It is easy and quick to apply. I use a powder brush as it goes on quick and even. This is not a full coverage make up. It goes on light and feels like you don't have any make up on, for me this is a plus. I don't like my face to feel heavy. Although this is expensive it is well worth it. Not the largest color selection but I was able to wear Dune which worked for my skin tone. This brand is also cruelty free which is very important to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2015 6:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the best powder foundations ever created. It's excellent.

In the store the lighting made it difficult to choose the correct color. I walked out of there with a lovely neutral shade called Bamboo, only to find after two days that it was much too dark for me. Neiman Marcus was surprisingly very kind and understanding about letting me exchange it for a different color, and I was glad because $66 is a lot to spend on foundation. Shell ended up being a better match for my skin.

The compact has a mirror in the lid and a hidden compartment with a circular sponge, like Stila's Illuminating Powder Foundation if you were ever a fan of that. This compact has a more elegant look and feel than Stila's or MAC's, and I guess the higher price tag gets you better packaging. The compact is so handy.

At home I use a brush to apply instead of the sponge because I find I don't need much. Coverage can be light or medium depending on how you apply. I've only used it dry. One of the ladies at NM told me it can be used wet but I have not tried it that way.

This is lighter feeling on the skin than my Bare Escentuals Original Foundation. I realize BE costs half as much. But also Chantecaille gives me a better finish and does a better job of hiding flaws. The name sounds French but the powder is made in Italy. It seems to melt into the skin.

The SA almost put me in Petal when I exchanged Bamboo, but I was afraid that was too light and pinkish. Delicate rose ivories don't work out for me; they usually wash me out. If Petal is neutral in different light, it might be right for winter when I am more pale. Again, it's so hard to tell in the store. Shell is relatively neutral with a slightly yellow undertone. Normally I wear it over a sunscreen product that contains titanium dioxide, and I really think Shell blends softly and believably into my skin. The SA said both colors could work for me. I am using a powder brush most of the time rather than the sponge and not caking it on.

I'm no stranger to powder foundations. MAC's Studio Fix Powder Foundation is one of my fallback favorites. But this powder is more finely milled and less...hmm...powdery-looking. Again, Chantecaille is expensive, so you have to decide how much you're willing to spend.

Another selling point that will appeal to some buyers: this powder does not go ghostly on you when photographed.

It's also fragrance-free!

I think a great liquid foundation is probably better for my combination sensitive skin when I need more coverage than this. Sometimes my bare skin looks lovely. But sometimes I get acne and need to conceal it. All pressed powders run the risk of adding a zit because of ingredients that hold the powder together in that handy little cake. This foundation is really best for skin that just needs a little help but not a major fix. For problem skin, there are better choices.

My love for a good powder foundation comes from a desire to simplify. I get busy and when I'm in a hurry, powders are so quick to apply! For weekend jaunts, a run to the market, or yikes, a surprise visit from a neighbor, I love the convenience of this. I don't always have time to apply primer, deftly blend liquid foundation with a sponge, and follow with finishing powder. Sometimes I hit the snooze button, you know?

I put a dusting of Chantecaille Compact Makeup on this morning and it's still comfortable on my combination skin at 5pm. I did touch up twice with MAC Blot Powder in the T zone.

Now that I know Shell is my color match, at least in summer, I will probably buy it again after I run out, even though $66 is costly.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2011 12:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Skintype: Very DSPW

This is a LIGHT to MEDIUM coverage foundation.

It doesn't cover pimples that well, they seem to poke thru, even if you try to cake it. However in saying that it has the best anti-shine staying power ever. I use this on the very humid / hot West Australian days [40+ degress celsius]. If you are looking for a light coverage foundation with great staying power, and have pretty good skin already, this foundation is for you.

EDIT: I just picked this up again for the first time in 10 years. It really is specatcular. It's sits so finely milled on my dry skin, and it leaves my skin looking poreless and glassy without sitting in lines. Damn I love it. Petal is a great match for my uber PPP skin. Don't be put off, it applies and wears much lighter than it appears in the pan. Great packaging too. :D However it's not very forgiving on very very dry skin, I wouldn't recommend it for winter wear.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

I got this in shade "Shell", I am quite fair and I find this shade just right, though I'm thinking about getting the NW shade "Petal" as well thinking since it is so light and natural, it won't be artificial to use the whiter and pinkier shade "Petal".

"Shell" is natural on my face, it's almost like I haven't done make up, it just light up complexion, I have both used it with or without a makeup base. I of course prefer a makeup base because in the afternoons, without the help of a makeup base, it falls off (or melt) a bit.

I pair it with Dior Radiant Base, this combo light up my face. I look alive. I am happy with the golden micro-shimmer contained Radiant Base and then a thin layer of this Chantecaille, I'm quite happy that I don't look too melty after 8 hours.

But note that it is more lean to weak coverage side, I will give it a 3 out of 10 for coverage if 10 is full score. really weak! So for people who don't have good skins conditions - most of us are like that unfortunately, it doesn't cover at all. It highlights the good skin but doesn't help disguise bad skin. You need to have a good base - primer + foundation and then apply this compact, use it alone, it only helps to light up your skin a bit and helps to even out discoloration a little but it doesn't give any coverage.

Still a bit drying even Chantecaille claim it's moisturizing, but I don't expect a compact to do the moisturizing work.
My skin feels extremely dry so I find this compact isn't too bad.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

it's the best compact ever! i will definitely buy it agn!!
it's sheer, nature, give your skin beautiful glow!!
i got the peach coulor, it's perfectly match with my skintone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Per Paula Begoun:

Coverage: Polished, natural, and sheer, especially for a powder foundation; wears more like a pressed powder

Application: smooth and even

Finish: Natural Matte (not dry or chalky)

Shade Selection: Beautiful, but each goes on lighter than it looks in the pan (must test drive)

Appropriate Skintype: Best for normal to dry or slightly oily

I would have to say that I agree with Paula's critique.

I love to wear this over my sunscreen. However, the biggest selling point for me was the shade selection. I have a very hard time finding foundation colors that match me. My skintone is in the family of NW20-NW25, but the MAC products look chalky on me. If you have pink, peach and yellow undertones; and, if you find that most foundations wear too yellow or too pinky beige on you, CHANTECAILLE COMPACT MAKEUP IN PEACH just might work. It did for me!






6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best powder foundation I've ever used - comparing to Channel, Armani, YSL, Guerlain, and NARS etc. I have dry skin so generally I am not doing very well with powder. But this one is different. The texture is so smooth that it went on my face than disappear yet I can tell all my pores and minor imperfections were covered. And it lasted quite long time - my face was still fresh after a long night going out. It's amazing. I'm NW20 and Peach is perfect for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2009 10:00:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love my Chanel Mat Lumiere but was worried that #30 Aurore was a little too dark (we have such a poor colour selection in the UK I need to get a better shade in the US soon). I decided to try Chantecaille Compact makeup after reading the fab reviews here.

I bought mine at SpaceNK for, gulp... £47 (approx $70). What a waste of money. This seems to be nothing more than a tinted powder. The shade Cashew is a better colour on me than my HG Chanel (although my DD thought it was a little too light), but the texture feels dry and powdery, accentuating any dry areas and making the skin around my eyes look crepey - ouch! As for coverage, what coverage? I was oily and needed to use a blotting sheet after a couple of hours (at least 5-6 with Chanel).

The packaging is bulky and dare I say it, cheap looking. Having used and loved other Chantecaille products I was really disappointed with this - not to say miffed at my expensive mistake. I'm sticking with Chanel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top