Philip B. Deep Conditioning Creme Rinse

Philip B. Deep Conditioning Creme Rinse

3.6

34 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 4/5/2016 1:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

FYI : this review is for the Paraben Free formula, not the classic one.

Bought this with high hopes because I'd heard so many good things about Philip B. There are some products that I love from this line (peppermint and avocado shampoo, the lavender shampoo too). This conditioner is not one of them.

First of all, the smell - it is just nasty. I don't know if it's the paraben free formula (parabens I know are a preservative) but I literally had to stop using this because the scent is so off putting. Like soured milk. Ugh.

As for the product itself, it is unimpressive. I don't think it's better than your average drugstore conditioner. Very thick but not particularly moisturising or detangling, even when left on as a mask. On the plus side, the smell doesn't seem to cling to the hair after rinsing, which would have been an immediate deal breaker.

I would not recommend this at all. You can buy far better quality conditioners for half the price.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 2/6/2013 8:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Together with the White Truffle shampoo I tried this conditioner via some samples. This conditioner is ok, it gives the hair a nice feel while washing and the hair is detangled even when wet. What I didn't really like is the scent. It is quite heavy and it lingers in your hair even after another hairwash with a different shampoo and conditioner. Also the price is quite high and I've seen equal results with way cheaper products. Not impressed, sorry.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I also found this at Marshalls for 6 bucks. It has a nice smell that lingers in the hair and left my hair soft and bouncy. At first I thought this would be too light for my hair, but it really does a good job of giving my hair some moisture and seems to have some ingredients that have consistently agreed with my hair like shea butter and wheat germ oil. The entire line is pretty expensive but I was lucky to buy this super cheap, so if you want to try it, check out Marshalls or Ross. It comes in a squeeze tube that is durable and attractive enough to set on my bathroom counter. You can leave it in for two minutes or twenty minutes for extra conditioning. It doesn't leave any residue and it isn't greasy, so I can see those with finer hair using this too. I will re-purchase. edit 1/30/13 this stopped working for my hair. Left it very flyaway after my hair air-dried. My search continues.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this conditioner, like I love all the Philip B products I've tried.
What's remarkable about this is that it sinks right into my hair once applied. It feels like it truly softens and penetrates my hair and not just sits on top of it. This is different from all the other high end conds I've used (and I've used a lot). The natural ingredients of this product actually feeds my hair, I think, giving it a wonderful natural shine while maintaining body.
I use it after the Peppermint & Avocado shampoo, leave it on for 2 mins and my hair is perfect.
The scent is wonderful too!
I'm officially a Philip B fan now.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/15/2010 3:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This conditioner simply isn't moisturizing enough for my curly hair. I agree that the smell is nice and it does seem to untangle any knots but otherwise, it did not add any shine or body to my hair. I am using it on my DDs straight, fine Asian hair and it works wonders -- makes it easy to comb out her hair, doesn't weigh it down or make it look oily the next day.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/18/2010 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This conditioner really sucked for me... I've tried using it many different ways, like leaving it in for 5 mins, leaving it in for 30 mins, using a warm towel, using a plastic cap etc.
No matter what it does nothing... honestly my shampoo leaves my hair feeling more moisturized than this (and it has no cones).
I will never repurchase


on 1/8/2007 1:09:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've left Phytologie (el al) for Philip B. And mostly because of this product. I've never had a conditioner leave my hair in such perfect shape. My hair is shoulder length, curly, fine, and aging. As I age (I'm 48), my hair has gotten a bit coarser and curlier, wants to fall out, and has lost the shine and brilliance it once had. I don't color or chemically process my hair, and really, it's in pretty good shape...but just not the silky tresses as just a few years ago. Then I tried the Deep Conditioning Creme Rinse. I was stunned. Turns out, with the right product, I can still have lovely hair. I can't believe how soft and silky this leaves my hair...in fact, I haven't tried a Philip B product I didn't love, and didn't have the same strengthening, yet softening effect as this product. I don't think I'd catagorize this conditioner as a Creme Rinse...it's thicker and much more moisturizing, without extra weight in the hair. I WOULD call it 'Deep' though...and I leave it on as long as I can in the shower...maybe 5 minutes. It's a perfect treatment for my hair.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 4/5/2007 6:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great conditioner. I have oily hair so I can not use it everyday, but I use it a mask about twice a week. It makes my hair feel so soft and not greasy at all.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/5/2009 10:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been wanting to try Philip B. products and found Deep Conditioning Creme Rinse at T J Maxx for less than six bucks!!! I couldn't wait to shower and see whether my hair would be magically transformed or left dissappointed. The scent was pleasant, nothing special or good enough to eat, just flowery and light. The consistency was very creamy and thick kind of like body butter in a tube, and it felt a little heavy applied to my hair after shampooing. I waited 3-5 minutes and rinsed. Right away I noticed my hair was instantly smoother and softer. After drying with my big round brush, my normally coarse, dark, wavy, semi-frizzy hair was SILKY SMOOTH and SHINY. I am impressed! I think if I used it every day it would weigh my hair down. But 2-3 times a week really leaves my hair in fantastic shape. I love this conditioner!


on 1/31/2010 3:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this conditioner ~ it smells wonderful, leaves my hair soft, manageable, and very shiny. The only problem with this conditioner is that it's very, very, expensive @ $26 a tube. I have four different conditioners in my hair care collection, and I can only use the Deep Conditioning Creme Rinse about once a week due to the price.


Then, my life changed when I was at Marshall's one day and this product was $6 ~ SIX DOLLARS. Immediately, I dug through all of the Phillip B inventory, put this and the leave in conditioner in my cart, and bought 15 tubes total. My DH was with me, thought I was crazy clearing out the store's inventory, until I told him the full retail price. He asked me what was so magical about Phillip B conditioners, and asked if he could have a tube.


Now, we both use this conditioner, and love the results! I will be going back to Marshall's next month to see if they have replenished their inventory yet...



Back to Top