Beauty Without Cruelty Aromatherapy 3% Alpha Hydroxy Facial Cleanser

Beauty Without Cruelty Aromatherapy 3% Alpha Hydroxy Facial Cleanser

3.9

36 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Botanical infusion of: Lavandula angustifolia (lavender), Calendula officinalis (calendula), Lonicera fragrantissima (honeysuckle), Anthemis nobilis (chamomile), Cucumis sativus (cucumber), Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice*, sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, sodium lauryl glucosides hydroxypropyl sulfonate, Citrus aurantium (sweet orange) oil*, Cananga odorata (ylang ylang) oil*, Pelagonium roseum (geranium) oil*, Lavandula hybrida (lavender) oil*, panthenol, allantoin, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, glycerine, tocopherols, glycolic acid, lactic acid, malic acid, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate. * Certified Organic

Start your review


on 10/8/2018 5:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok so This face wash at first was really good but about a week after I started to use it I broke out into hives haha. I have white little pimples ALL OVER MY FACE. I think it had something to do with aha I read that this could be irritating and should be used with caution. My recommendation would be to test for about a week in one spot in your face and see if you get hives. It’s not a bad product but it does not work for my skin. I have eczema and psoriasis so if you have this conditions I would stay away from this product because it is not as gentle as the bottle claims.



on 2/29/2016 6:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just like the previous reviewer, my face had a horrible reaction to this product. I was out of my regular cleanser (Purity) so I decided to try this since I had a sample. I used this product one time... the next day my face was itchy and felt as though it was stripped. The following day, still itchy. Now my skin is rough in texture, itchy and is beginning to get little whitehead looking bumps around my mouth. This is the ONLY change in my skincare routine... used once. Never again.


on 2/11/2016 9:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the single most irritating product I have EVER put on my face. I am acne prone, but in general not that susceptible to redness/irritation .

I used this product ONE time 2 days ago and my skin still feels RAW, ROUGH, ITCHY and is still bright RED. New today, I have a bumpy rash forming (like tiny, tiny whiteheads) all along my jawline/chin.

Please proceed with caution with this product!!!

I will not stray from my HG cerave foaming cleanser ever again!!!!

UPDATE: It's been about a week since I've used this and my skin is *almost* back to normal. It is still very dry though. Lesson: be careful what you put on your face!!!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Smells wonderful! (refreshing herbal). I use this cleanser the first thing when I wake up. It doesn't dry out my combo skin. Haven't tried this to remove makeup as of yet, since I have a different cleanser for that

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/12/2015 8:25:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is an excellent product for aging skin.. for summer cleansing.
Although it is gentle, not too harsh, not 'crack' inducing...
It removed make-up, sunscreen, and the acids help gently exfoliate.
I fear this might be too harsh in the winter,
but for my summer needs during humid weather,
it works nicely. I would repurchase.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/4/2015 6:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

The last few years I have been switching over to more natural, safe products.
Over the winter, I finally succeeded in using Oil Cleansing Method.
Made my skin beautiful, soft and clear!!!

However, my skin is oily and LOVES acids - glycolic and salisylic.
It helps to turn over skin cells faster, makes my skin glow and keeps blackhead and a few hormonal pimples away.

I was using a few other AHA products - Proactive Glycolic Pads - worked very well but toxic chemicals and $$$. Then tried First Aid Beauty AHA pads. These were a little sticky and the more I used them, the more they broke me out.

So I kept looking.
Natural, safe AHA products...not too pricey either.
With the warmer weather I was on the clock and had to find something.
This is it. Have been using for almost a month.

1-2 x a week in the morning of Beauty Without Cruelty 3% AHA Facial Cleanser. Just a tiny amount.
The other mornings are Oil Cleansing Method.
I follow my morning routine with 3-4 x a week with Beauty Without Cruelty 8% AHA Skin Renewal lotion.
Skin is fantastic!
Clear, radiant, glowy.

Very happy with results.

With the summer, I may have to increase this with the hot, sticky sweaty weather, that's okay.
I think it's important to adjust as you need to because your skin is living and conditions vary. So be flexible.
I still want to keep OIl Cleansing at night to let my skin breathe and rest.
It is so comforting and gentle.
Come the fall & winter, I will need the extra TLC from Oil Cleansing as my skin as I age becomes drier.

BWC 3% AHA Facial Cleanser is a wooonderful product.
I have finally found my great AHA Holy Grail with this and the 8% Skin Renewal.

Vegan, too.
Animal loving & planet loving.

Thank you BWC!!!

UPDATE: this ended up making me breakout. STop using.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/11/2015 4:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I Purchased a 2 oz trial bottle at iherb this summer in order to get rid of a horrible breakout.
This cleanser comes in the form of a clear, light foaming gel, i applied it after removing my makeup and massaged it to my face, rinsed it with water and followed up with toner.
My face definitely felt smoother due to the AHA and with time (the 2 ounce bottle lasted 2 months, a little goes a long way) i saw improvements, my face was smoother, i had less spots and some light sun spots were gone.
However, using this will dry out your face as AHA is a chemical exfoliant, so make sure to follow up with a moisturizer at the end of your routine.
Also worth mentioning that this is a cruelty free and vegan product, and at a great price point of $9.18 per 250 oz over at iherb, this cleanser is worth trying.


on 2/8/2015 12:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received a 2 ounce deluxe sample in my December Ipsy bag and promptly threw it into my travel bag where I forgot about it for a few months. But as unexciting as the packaging is, it's actually great! Smells lovely and isn't too harsh or drying on my combination skin. Will be purchasing the full-size to use with my Clarisonic.

$9.60 for the full-size 8.5 ounce pump bottle on Amazon.


on 4/28/2013 12:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using the acne.org method for about two years. When I started this cleanser I was able to ditch the benzoyl peroxide - a big plus! This cleanser smells great and keeps my skin acne-free. My skin does seem to be a bit shinier, but I don't mind. I also wish the packaging were a little more suited to travel.


on 11/13/2012 1:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for about 3 months and I would definitely repurchase. I have very finnicky acne-prone skin that will easily clog if I don't have an intense exfoliating regimen. My skincare routine consists of a lot of exfoliating, chemical and manual. I have to do it because my skin is soooo sluggish, skin should exfoliate and renew itself naturally but as we get older it slows down but I feel mine is at a stand still unless I help it along. Anyways, I use this 2x a day, at night I use this with my clarisonic. I feel I get such a nice deep cleanse when I use this with my clarisonic, I love it! I don't know how it would work on dry skin but I have oily skin and this is perfect, doesn't dry me out at all but cleanses well and prevents breakouts. I love the smell of this, it just smells nice and soothing. I recommend highly. UPDATE 4/19/16: I still love this and use it, just not as often. I only use this maybe 2-3x a week as an exfoliating treatment and use a gentle homemade face cleanser the rest of the time. As I've gotten older, my skin is getting drier and I want to be more gentle to my skin. I don't want to cause damage by over exfoliating like I was years ago so I'm taking a more gentle approach. This is still a great cleanser that I will continue to buy.


Back to Top