Alpha Skin Care Alpha Skin Care 10 AHA Essential Renewal Lotion

Alpha Skin Care Alpha Skin Care 10 AHA Essential Renewal Lotion

3.9

46 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 11/17/2016 9:30:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a product & line that young women in their 20s or even sooner should start using now as I did. It's top-notch & reasonably priced, and one bottle of any AHA product will last a long time. It's formulated without unnecessary additives or fragrance. If you don't like the scent, get over it. Its benefits over the long term will show themselves. It also tames then prevents acne/acne scarring and pore enlargement.

Im a 45 yo, fair, dry (oily until my mid-20s, completely dry after kids), always sunburns, never been in tanning bed or lay out, and I'm a smoker (please don't start). I'm also a 20+ year, regular user of AHA & BHA lotions. I started using them when Alpha launched the 1st one on the market in my early 20s, & it has paid off since I don't look nearly as old as sun-worshippers my age. The most effective & cost-effective options are Alpha & Paula's Choice. Both are equally strong, with Paula's choice slightly more emollient. I layer serums & heavier moisturizers on top, so I prefer alpha as my AHA, which I use once a day.

Sunscreen is a must for any effective routine, and I recommend a zinc oxide/titanium dioxide based one. AHAs & BHAs will make you more vulnerable to harm from UV light (sensitive, raw skin; flare ups in patches on areas of face; redness; excessive dryness; etc.), so be advised to start with one application every other day and WEAR SUNSCREEN every single day of your life. The acids will keep fresh skin turning over, reducing the development of wrinkles and minimize pores.

It helps keep oil in check too, and I've found over time it's been an early reason for my decreased oil production. If you have combination skin at all or have drier/sensitive areas, please layer a good moisturizer on top such as First Aid colloidal oatmeal lotion. I recommend this for everyone starting out and maintenance for the best results. This IS a long-term, lifelong product you won't be able to do without! :)

It's perfectly ok to combine Alpha's products with a BHA--but don't put too much on (a small amount is needed) or everyday until your skin acclimates. It's accurately pH'd to work fast. AHAs are for wrinkle & pore-reducing effects, while BHAs address & prevent blackheads & milia. Both are found also in products to address keratosis, eczema, rosacea, psoriasis, and feet.

Whatever age you are, I highly recommend starting a routine with acids that have the proper pH, which is key to them working at all. Don't by cleansers containing salicylic acid (BHA) or an AHA b/c you not only wash any possible benefit down the drain, you burn your eyes and other ingredients dry your skin out too much. Never dry your skin out--ever. ;)

6 of 6 people found this helpful.



on 2/27/2015 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I tried this product a while back and then gave it to a co-worker because it irritated my acne-prone, sensitive skin. Now that I have educated myself about the use of acids on my skin, I realize that this is normal, and I should have used it much less in the beginning, gradually using it more as my skin became more tolerant. I am going to repurchase it and try it once a week and gradually use more often based on my skin's reaction. Also, you should not wash your skin and apply it right away. Try waiting 1 hour if possible.

PROS
Cheap
Not many ingredients
Fades acne scars or spots
Didn't break me out

CONS
Irritating
Inconvenient - waiting to use after washing face, etc.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this in conjunction with Retinol Rescue, which I apply a few times a week.
I purchased this product with major hopes that it would alleviate my acne, which is not too bad, but still a source of annoyance and frustration for me, as I am 22 and enjoyed an acne-free existence for a while before it came back for reasons I haven't yet been able to determine. It seems to help, as long as I do not touch the pimples which do pop up and just let them ride out their cycle, they hardly call attention to themselves AND do not last nearly as long. Unfortunately it has done nothing for the stubborn blackheads on my nose that I have had for years and for which I have tried everything to get rid of.
Overall, though, since a month ago when I started using this lotion, I have seen a skin improvement. My face looks soft and glowy most of the time, which is more often than it used to. I love that I only need a thin layer once a day and my quite dry skin is happy. I also love the amazing price ($12 for a huge bottle) and the fact that it is unscented, partly because perfumes can carry chemicals and partly because I live with someone with fragrance allergies. It does make my skin flaky which is annoying but I also know that it is doing its job. I enjoy being able to exfoliate and moisturize in one step.
It may not have done wonders for my acne, but the tiny fine lines I had before using this product? Great results! I used to have pretty pronounced parenthetical expression lines around my mouth, and some very fine lines around my eyes, but since using this product they have all but disappeared. And I was using an organic oatmeal moisturizer before! So, I am pleased with this product, it gets 4 stars because it hasn't cleared my skin as much as I wanted it to, but it has made it better!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i have been using this for a long time now. i love using this when my pimples leave dark spots. maybe with everyday use.. they fade within a month. i also use them on cystic acne.. and then put a mask on top. it really shrinks those suckers. good stuff!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/14/2010 10:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I had always heard great things about this product, especially from others with acne-prone skin. About 6 months ago I decided to give it a whirl. I bought it on drugstore.com for around$11, which I though was pretty reasonable for 6oz.
Within a couple of days, I definitely noticed a difference in my skin's softness and clarity. I felt like my complexion was glowing. It only got better and better over the weeks that followed. I have not had nearly as many breakouts since using this product. The best thing is that it fades red acne scars very quickly. I actually have been going out to run errands and even to work or school w/o foundation...which is something that would have been impossible a year ago, or even 6 months ago. My face looks much smoother and clearer than it has in a long time.
A lot of people give this product a bad review because it dried the skin out, which I think is just ridiculous. This is not intended to be a primary moisturizer. It is more of a treatment to go under moisturizer. I use it under Burt's Bees Radiance day creme and my face is supple and smooth...not dry at all, and not oily-looking.
It does sting sometimes, but not badly and not for long. It stinks a bit, but I did not buy it for it's pleasing aroma. I also use this product on my thighs and butt during swimsuit season and it works at smoothing those areas, as well. lol

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I used this product over a decade ago and I didn't work for me. It neither toned, moisturized nor smoothed my skin and actually dried out my skin. I am not sure if this product is still in the stores but if it is, please don't buy it.


on 10/28/2007 12:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I ordered this and the foot cream online and anxiously awaited it's arrival. From a person who has suffered black-heads all of her teenage and adult life, I was amazed to find them almost entirely diminished. My face was so smooth, and my hands were nearly flawless. This really is an amazing product! Keep in mind, I used this once! I will definitely repurchase and look forward to more results.


on 2/13/2007 8:22:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My mother uses this lotion and she gets compliments about face all the time and my mother has never worn make-up in her life. I decided to try it since I need a new lotion and my face has been dry lately.
I don't have sensitive skin & I'm not the one to have skin problems either, but this lotion didn't work for me it caused my skin to severly dry, so I started using more and my face became worse, it looked like a white powder came over my face. As soon as I stopped using the lotion my face cleared up.
I know it works for a lot of people but it didn't work for me.


on 1/20/2007 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

might seem weird, but I tried this on a suggestion that it helps with bikini irritation...it worked great! no redness, bumps, etc.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 6/6/2006 1:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I started using this with the Clear Skin Regimen and it has made a ton of difference! I think it works in conjunction with the rest of the process but my skin has never been clearer or smoother. I have suffered from acne since I was 12 (I am now 35) and I have the best skin of my life!


Back to Top