3.5

Created with Sketch.
237 reviews
62%
would repurchase
3.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

OK, so I guess my review is just a drop in the ocean of other mediocre reviews, and I'm not surprised. While I like the idea of a mineral, easy-set, no-caking foundation in powder form, it just doesn't do it for me. I have super fair skin and yet it makes me look like a ghost DESPITE being the exact same shade as my skin. WHY? HOW? Beats me - maybe the too-powdery, New York granny effect it gives? Hmm. Also, it melts off in the heat. Also, it applies in a non-seamless, streaky-clumpy-cakey way. Also, it makes me look old. And I'm 20. And I'm a young-looking 20. Personal verdict? I cannot wait to afford a new foundation (I'm broke AF). I don't honestly know why I didn't just get a tinted moisturizer or a sweet little BB cream. This is just too much. Not a fan. Could this work for anyone else? Definitely. I think it would be great for those who prefer a more mature, matte look, and also have a lighter hand and more patience. I have a light hand, but no patience. This equals a no-go. Is this product junk? No. Absolutely not. It has a lot of benefits (mattifying for those who need it - I don't - soft, natural, simple formula, buildable) and I think paired with the right person, it could be a match made in heaven.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBlack



2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

What's Bare Minerals "#1"? I keeps' it brief when it comes to this pseudo-unique powder 'foundation' (can you tell where I'm going?) It's not buildable. People with flawless skin always buff it on cheerfully, insisting that you can get medium to full coverage. Medium is a stretch, full is a damn lie. It's true, to build, you do need to work in many (20+ is fine girl, keep goin') light applications versus, if you're like me, kind of 'anchoring' spots around your face right after dipping into a lot of powder, then buffing each spot, effectively dusting most of the excess off. (Sometimes I get too lazy with this technique and I have to go in with a sponge and 'pull up' my anchors...) Very few shades, a dubious main ingredient, a finish that only a minority will appreciate (glow=shine) , an inflated price and messy, ttteedious application. You're lucky you got these two lippies. Now get outta' here!

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I REALLY WANTED TO LIKE THIS PRODUCT BASED OFF OF OTHER REVIEWS. IT COVERED OK, BUT HOLY COW DID IT MAKE MY FACE ITCH!!!!!!! ONCE I STARTED SWEATING ON MY FACE IT WAS A HORRIBLE BURNING/ITCHING SENSATION! I HAVE SINCE THEN USED AVON PRESSED MINERALS WHEN I CAN'T AFFORD GLOMINERALS PRESSED. BOTH OF THEM COVER GREAT AND NO ITCHING OR BURNING NOTICED. ALTHOUGH, THE GLOMINERALS HELPED CLEAR UP MY ACNE.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I love this foundation so much. It is literally like a miracle to me I wish I had found it years go, I'm 18 and I have been suffering from hormonal acne for about 4 years, I got this for my birthday and have been wearing it for about 2 weeks and my skin has more a less completely cleared up. Although you have to apply quite alot, it doesn't matter because its minerals so you don't feel bad on your skin!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I'm on like jar # 5 or 6 of this. It was my HG when I lived in Chicago but down here in south Georgia it doesn't hold up in the heat. I use a primer but that just wards off the meltdown for maybe an hour or two.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This was my HG foundation for years. It looks so natural and the lightest shade in "fair" matched my super fair skin perfectly (which is difficult). I would get comments all the time on my "complection", and that I had such nice skin. No one noticed I was even wearing foundation. Coverage is amazing, especially combined with such a natural look, and at the end of the day it looked exactly like it did when I put it on in the morning. I have very sensitive skin and I never had any problems at all with this. However, since I got in to my 30s my skin has gotten much drier, and this foundation no longer works for me. My skin is just too dry to buff with powder. If you have dry skin, this probably wont work for you, but for all other skin types, I highly recommend it.

About reviewer (130 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

First of all, the salesperson at the bare mineral counter in Hong kong was very rude. I asked to try the color and recommended me another color that would match my skin tone. She showed me a color that is way too orange for me and I knew it already that it won't match my skin tone. I'm an NC37-40. The color that was shown to me was for an NC 42 - 44. I may be tan but not dark tan as I know that I'm an early to light tan skin tone. I had her tried on one part of my face and I told her that it looked very orange but she wouldn't admit it. In the end, she couldn't find a shade and she just walked away from me. That was very rude. Never again I would purchase anything from Bare Minerals or recommend the brand itself.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I know I am in the minority here, but Bare Minerals is the closest I have ever come to an HG foundation. Thankfully, I am not sensitive to the bismuth or mica in this. In fact, this is one of the few foundations I have tried (and I have tried many!) that does not break me out. Fair is a dead on perfect match for my skin and I always get compliments when I wear it. It gives me a glow that I miss if I use other foundations. My one gripe is that I do get very oily around 4 hours after putting this on if I don't wear a good setting powder with it. I alternate between MAC Blot and the BE pressed mineral veil. If I use a good setting powder I can get 8 hours before I have to reapply. Overall, great product for me.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I used to use this years ago, before I new anything really about makeup. Gosh this was awful stuff, it has mica in it, its why you'd get the silverish sheen look that even when u buffed and buffed your little heart away you just ended up looking worse (hehe kind of like the tin man with that silver sheen). Anyhow I ended up hating this stuff, mica in powders or anything really only emphasizes pores, so for people with enlarged pores like myself this stuff was downright horrid, I tend avoid anything now with mica in it or if it has it high up in the ingredient list.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

I'll add to the chorus of '1 lipstick' folks. This stuff is awful! I bought this product after a salesperson recommended it to me. I rarely fall for such scams, but...I must've been having an off day. This powder has a pearly sheen which makes large pores look gigantic (!!!) and, in general, made my skin texture look awful (where it looks pretty smooth, even, and relatively good, with regular ol' foundation powders). When will cosmetic companies learn than sheen + pores/wrinkles = terrible? ...Just, awful, awful stuff. Do not want.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen