3.7

Created with Sketch.
602 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Such a shame that it flakes/smudges so badly. This could be good: it lengthens, volumizes a bit, holds curl. But after one hour, the mascara sits everywhere (also under my eye, where it does not belong):-(

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This mascara is pure nostalgia for me, just looking at the basic black tube and white lettering brings back memories of youth! It's the first mascara I ever bought at age 12 or 13, overwhelmed by options in the chemist I asked the lady stocking shelves what one I should buy - she told me super lash was the one she wears and that she was currently wearing it - I wasnt impressed by it as her mascara looked so clumpy but being a 12 year old I didnt want to hurt her feelings so pretended to liked it and bought the mascara, glad I did as it looked great and I wore it everyday for more than 10 years. I dont know why I stopped buying this, I started trying new things and never went back but I will make sure to repurchase when I run out of my current mascara. Its lengthening and separates lashes if not overdone - Its also super cheap.

About reviewer (92 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is probably the best mascara from Rimmel, and one of my favourite mascaras from the drugstore. I’m a mascara freak and have at least 5 or 6 different ones in rotation at a given time - right now, Diorshow Iconic, Chanel Le Volume, L’Oreal Paradise Extatic, Maybelline Total Temptation and Max Factor False Lash. I found that this one performs just as well, if not better. I love the small conical brush and find that it gives good separation, length and volume with two or three coats. I have thick, long lashes and I find that some mascaras can stick them together and clump. This one doesn’t flake or smudge and is removed easily and leaves no residue. It’s even better with a lash primer. I like that although it’s very cheap makeup, it’s made in England, ie with strict guidelines on pigments and binding agents. I bought it when it was for a one-off stock clearance price at my local supermarket and then went back to buy 5 more!

About reviewer (189 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

With 2 coats lengthens my lashes like crazy although it doesn't have much of an effect on volume. Okay brush. i'd recommend using a comb because it can clump a little bit.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I got a special edition of this on sale at Walmart, it was for some movie. I have not used any other mascara since I started using this one, and I normally have 3 on the go at any one time. It gives me length and really helps to open up my eyes. it doesn't clump my eyelashes together, it is coming close to me needing to get rid of it (had it 2 months) and it is still going on as smooth as when I started using it. I haven't found it flakey.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Rimmel London Extra Super Lash Mascara in 101 Black Black is the only one I've been wearing the past 5 days I've had it & I actually like it. It's different than the mascaras I typically wear but that's not necessarily a bad thing. It was surprising because I'm somebody who likes va-va-voom lashes; this definitely lifts & lengthens my lashes. This is a cool product to me; description says it builds a natural to dramatic look, offers super lash separation, is suitable for sensitive eyes, & ophthalmologist tested. This is also a body building mascara, which I'm assuming means I can be wearing it for both day & nite looks. It features a "lift & build brush," & that's what I love about it. I honestly don't get a ton of thickening, but I get the lift & lengthening I want. I think I get the results I want with three coats; each takes a minute or so to set so I wouldn't wear it if your mornings are time-crunched. You'll end up with product on top of your eyelids & brow bones. Its irritating my eyes & formula being "soft" or wet-feeling are the two cons I've found. The first issue: it flakes a little bit. I have twice the burden as I have very sensitive eyes & wear prescription contact lenses to see. The mascara stays on all day & looks good, but it doesn't feel that way! Its flaking is minimal & likely isn't going to be an issue to most people… if you wear contacts though, that is all it takes for an eye infection or to walk around with what I call "cocaine eyes"—the itchiness, redness, & watering I'll get from mascara that irritate my eyes even a little bit haha The second issue: its formula itself is soft or wet. It's both that good/bad thing depending on how you look at it. It's annoying for the obvious reason its messy—especially since I have naturally long lashes & have to place the brush close to reach the roots. On the other hand, its being wet is probably what allows me to put on three or four coats without clumping or that "spider legs" look. Three gives me a noticeable difference & ultimately that's what I want. My results are naturally dramatic, for lack of a better term. Extra Super Lash is great for anyone! It does lengthen, separate, & will thicken if you build it up by putting on coats of it. I recommend it especially if you already have naturally long eyelashes because the extra lift & length with the separation is really pretty! Like I said, the results are natural, but really noticeable. Special note: it's affordable ($4)!

About reviewer (362 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I like this mascara, and you can't beat the price. I got a 2-pack for $3! I was expecting this to be a very simple and mediocre mascara that doesn't do much but turn lashes black, just something for me to practice my mascara applying skills with. I'm pleasantly surprised with how buildable it is. It's not the best at holding a curl and not the worst (I don't use a lash curler, and apply my mascara by "blinking" onto the wand.) The formula is rather wet and messy, although that it can be easily washed out can be a perk, and I find wet formulas much more comfortable to apply. Like the package says, it's ideal for sensitive eyes.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this because it was on sale, and after i realised this was the mascara I used in high school.. I was kinda excited to give it a try! I am really happy at the formula right out of the tube, usually mascaras are so wet and take at least a few weeks to be an ideal consistency for me. The brush isn't my fave, but the formula is super buildable! I got a pleasing amount of volume and pop. Of course it took a little bit to achieve this, but let's be honest, amazing lashes take work and nothing provides that look with one swipe. Would have liked the brush to be a tad more defining. Happy I found this again, the smell was nostalgic for me as well as having this on my dresser again. Nice to know they still make this.

About reviewer (84 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Nothing fancy, brush is okay, the product itself doesn't do much. It gives a little length, no volume, does not hold a curl. Didn't smudge or smear. Not worth repurchasing.

About reviewer (966 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this in the double pack and it was around $5. Can't complain about that! Otherwise the packaging is very simple and easy to function with. The wand is long and easy to control and the brush is tapered and does a great job of separating and building the mascara. The formula is wet but thick. It dries fairly quickly which is nice because I always end up blinking and getting mascara on my eyelids. I use the color black black and usually do about 2-3 coats. I feel like this is my dupe for Lancome Definicils for now. I like how long and thick my lashes look with this. ????

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us