4.3

Created with Sketch.
55 reviews
80%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$6.99 on Bed Bath & Beyond
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I have wretchedly dry hands and am strongly considering having a separate skincare routine for them - it's THAT bad. While I don't have eczema or any other diagnosed skin issue, poor circulation keeps me from having well-moisturized paws. This cream isn't glamorous, but it's affordable and fragrance-free - I need to be able to slather my hands with impunity, without worrying about how many dollars each dollop of cream costs. I got the tub, so I'm not sure how well it would dispense out of tube, but I do like the thick, almost whipped texture. While it's fragrance-free, it does have an off-putting synthetic odor I can't quite place...plastic? Petroleum? Luckily it dissipates quickly so it doesn't bother me too much. On the fence about repurchasing, but would recommend it to someone looking for a no-frills, workhorse hand cream.

About reviewer (150 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Not a fan... I bought this in the tube - more convenient, hygienic, easier to travel with. The only good thing I can say is that there is no scent, which some people prefer and the price and availability make it cheap and convenient. The packaging is ugly and the product itself is greasy. In fact, it leaves my hands greasy enough to leave marks on folders and papers at work. Sometimes it seems watery so I have to shake and smoosh it around in the tube before using to get it completely incorporated. The worst part is that this doesn't seem to do anything for me. I don't have terribly rough or cracked hands - I bought this to relieve ordinary dry winter skin and because my nails have become brittle and break easily. This stuff only seems to relieve the dryness for about an hour and has made no difference whatsoever in helping my nails return to a healthier state. To be honest, my very favorite hand lotion of all time is Avon's Moisture Therapy. It's also available in a tube and is unscented, but it keeps my skin feeling very comfortable and hydrated even after washing my hands. The only reason I have been trying to find a replacement is because I dislike all other Avon products so it feels like it's not worth the hassle of trying to find an Avon salesperson for one item twice a year or so. However, I've been so disappointed in all of the other hand creams I've been trying that I may just have to pursue Avon. Will not repurchase, do not recommend.

About reviewer (312 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I think I might be one of the few who has to say this.....but this stuff just is terrible. I purchased this awhile ago. And threw it out is was so bad. I purchased it again a few years later hoping maybe it would work. And i would give it a 2nd chance....nope. Still just as bad. First of all, it’s super thick and waxy. It’s hard to apply. And once it’s on....it leaves this super thick, waxy, and uncomfortable feeling on your skin. Almost like you rubbed your hands in wax and they were super dry. It just coats your skin. I waitress....and work on cars. My hands are constantly being washed. Or just dirty and dry. This is just a terrible product. I’m not usually picky. But my crappy bath and body works hand cream works better. It doesn’t have a scent (which I don’t care....if it smelled like poop and worked id use it)....my skin is severely dry, damaged, excema, it cracks. Bleeds.....I wish I could find something. Anything that would relieve the pain even slightly. Especially when winter in PA rolls around. This just isn’t it.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Other

HairRed

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Doesn't do a darn thing for me or my dry hands. My boyfriend swears by it, but I have better luck pooring kitchen oil on my hands than this. It is ths driest emollient I have ever tried using. I'm glad it is so helpful to others, but something about it and me so not mix. My winter hands just get no relief with this, no matter how many times I have tried. I guess I just need more greasy, ointment type moisturizers for my cracked, rough winter hands. :(

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Body Skin Type: Dry, Sensitive Packaging: There are 2 options, which is nice. You can choose between a tub or a tube. I find tubs unhygienic so I chose the squeeze tube version. Price: I got this for about $6.50 for 3oz at Target. For a drugstore hand cream it is on the pricier side. This is a pretty thick hand cream, yet it doesn't really provide any moisture. It's not greasy, but it does leave a waxy feeling to the skin. I think it just coats the skin and stays there; it doesn't sink in. I suppose it does offer a protective layer against the elements, like harsh wind. The ingredients aren't very impressive, it's basically silicone and mineral oil; as well as a bunch of chemicals and things that are impossible to pronounce. It is fragrance free, which is good at least. Overall, there's nothing special about this cream; it's average, at best. I do not plan on repurchasing.

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’ve used this on my hands for years now, and in the winter months it works well. It’s nothing special- in that there is no scent, and the packaging is very basic, but it works. My hands stay soft, and free from stickiness. I was using strive tin hand cream, but I found this works as well and at a fraction of the cost ! In my quest to find a good face moisturizer, I’ve resorted to using this on cold , harsh weather days . So far, I’m actually happy with its performance ! No clogged pores, no allergic reaction- just soft moisturized skin. I am still searching for an HG winter facial moisturizer, but for now, this is working.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Hi after looking at the ingredients on line this is a bit harsh...it does work but expensive and on eczma which i have long term exposure may cause problems. i get eczma and keynes on the ends of my fingers. A cheep and formula that works for me is "oil of ulay and vaseline" about 50/50. It is a bit greasy for a minute but works fine. Hope this helps you.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Meh. It's okay I guess. White, a bit like fluffy whipped wax, in texture. For serious issues with rough hands or heels, I am more an aquaphor, lansinoh lanolin kind of person. Or cerave cream for general winter moisture. But this is less messy and doesn't require a dedicated pair of socks set aside solely for moisturizing purposes. It does melt quickly into the skin, and it is not greasy. I went through the tub pretty quickly.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

HG product! I don't use that term lightly. Lifelong dry skin. My hands and feet are particularly bad This cream is unlike anything I've tried. The texture is kind of like a dry wax. I don't know how else to describe it. It actually doesn't feel that moisturizing when you first put it on. But I wake-up the next day with softer healthier looking skin. I like that it isn't very sticky or wet feeling. I can't stand to sleep with gloves on or socks and I don't have to with this. I wake-up the next morning and feel this is still on my skin. I will buy this forever and ever.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

WOW.... I must be in the minority here. I did not like this stuff at all. I decided to give it a try since I saw the commercial for it. I have dry hands that have eczema. It's not super bad but on my thumbs, it can get really bad. They get dry and flaky and sometimes crack. When i put this stuff on, it did sting a bit. I wasn't too concerned about that since that was normal - it was stated on the package. However, this did NOTHING in terms of moisturizing or healing my hands. I have used this for over a week. I have even used it as a deep treatment under cloth gloves at night and NOTHING. It doesn't really smell like anything, which i guess is good for people who are sensitive to scents. The consistency is strange and while it's not greasy....it does leave a strange rubbery feeling behind. Take a look at the ingredients! It's mostly "bad" stuff! Would not repurchase and likely will be tossing what I have left of this.

About reviewer (913 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.