3.6

Created with Sketch.
230 reviews
65%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

It's good for covering cuts and not bad if your using it on you legs. I once used it to cover a busted lip but it does not work well as a base foundation. For one it's super hard to blend and you have to use a lot of it to get the full coverage it advertises. Secondly it's suuuper oily so if you have acne prone skin I'd avoid this completely. It also accentuates the pores a looot and if left on to long it will start to crack. If you sweat even a little bit it runs right off so it super obvious your wearing it. I bought this product at boscovs for 50 dollars, you can get it cheaper off Amazon if you know the shade, and was sorely disappointed. Definitely not worth the money I spent I've gotten better foundation from CVS.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Had it for quite a while. This is much better after the reformulation in my opinion, as an allover foundation and needs 2 applications for concealing areas. I did not like it before. (Speaking of Application, not result). I can put it on straight now with a damp sponge and get a beautiful result. Because it was so pigmented before it was harder to use for me. I also thought the end result did not look natural , looked like a mask. I like this more for the same reasons that have others missing the old formula. It does need a primer if you have quite bumpy areas. It is easier to use now for me. Can put a clean round sponge in the lid for travel, it fits in perfectly! Colour range is really good. For Colour correcting and ‘putting back the colour’ in areas I use MAQpro (the A1 palette) but I usually don’t use anything but this and RCMA powder. My son emptied out my entire RCMA powder onto my matteess (which almost absorbed it lol) so I am stuck now with my ELizabeth Arden loose powder to set which is ok (too expensive- have had fr years about 6 i think- but RCMA does the job just as well) The finish is really good on its own, and can be modified a bit, eg using powder, primer, highlighter. Cover creme doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin on application like similarly or higher priced foundations have done (eg Chanel ones). The old Dermablend irritated my skin very badly too though i tried to ignore it as it looked so good. I do need to wash off Of course, which needs an application of oil, or ‘cleansing oil, then gel cleanser minimum. Caramel beige is my perfect match. With dermablend i go a bit darker than i wd think as it’s one of the foundations which, as you blend them out, lighten up to their actual shade. Cover FX does this too- when in package they look darker as they are so pigment-dense.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I read other reviews and agree. The old formula in the white opaque jar was better than the new formulation in clear jar. I still have some of the old one, and it’s nice and dry. The other I just bought, is greasy and wet looking. I used to use this to cover my face, over sunscreen, when windsurfing all day at the beach. With this foundation and powder, the water would just bead off my face when I fell (many times). It also would last all day at the beach..10am to 9pm, and a late dinner, without reapplication. No creasing, caking, flaking, melting off...without a hat or sunglasses. This new formulation doesn’t cover as well, even with the powder. When I bought it in the store, the sample was dry, like the old formula, so maybe I have to let it sit out for a year or so to dry up. When I used a little for a night out at the opera, I could only apply a whisper so it wouldn’t settle into lines or look caked, over a light moisturizer. Too bad...I have to look for another. I don’t know how it would perform at the beach, in the water, but I’m not going to even attempt it. I think it would all just melt off.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I wouldn't purchase this product again nor would I recommend it for sensitive or dry skin. Here's why: About me: I have sensitive skin prone to redness and dry skin. So, I try to be careful in what products I use. Needing a concealer, I headed to my local Shopper's Drug Mart beauty boutique (in Canada at most Shopper's Drug Mart you can find different beauty lines) where the young woman offered her help. I explained I was looking for a concealer that was of medium coverage, smooth and tolerated by sensitive skin. She showed me this Dermablend Cover Creme. Although it's marketed as a foundation- the creamy texture seemed like I could also use it as a concealer. Dermablend claim: "The ultimate full cover cream foundation. Cover creme provides reliable, flawless, and full camouflage in a velevty smooth finish. Achieve 16 hours of consistent color wear when paired with the Setting Powder. My reaction in store: Promising. It's made fragrance free and for sensitive skin and the list of ingredients were minimal: Paraffinum liquiduidum, Talc, Cera alba, Isopropyl palmitate, Stearyl stearate, Kaolin, Copernica cerifera cera, Cera microcristallina, Allantoin, Lauroyl lysine. [+/- Cl 77891, Cl77492, Cl 77491, Cl 77713, Cl 77499]. Where it's made and cost: Dermablend is made by L'oreal USA and my box says Made in Canada. It cost me $44 Canadian. Shade: I was color matched to shade 30C True Beige which seemed too dark in the jar but worked on my summery NW20 skin. (though in winter I'm NW15). True Beige is a cool tone and not as yellow or warm as the other shades. Reaction after use: I had to stop using this. I have noticed that while it offers medium coverage at best, it makes my face itchy and dry. At first, I wasn't sure if it was because of this, so I used it again on bare skin and indeed, this was the culprit. It also highlighted my pores and my dry skin. The directions say to warm the product up in your skin, add a layer then set with the setting powder. If more layers are needed to repeat. I suspect it's the talc in this product causing the itchiness and the Kaolin causing the dry sensation. Package: It comes in a 28g clear plastic jar. The product feels slippery yet highlights my dry skin- weird! It does not blend so well- the more you blend, the more the product moves which defeats the coverage claim. Also, I noticed some users mention an SPF 30 on the box, my box says nothing of the sort. Verifying this on the website: checkcosmetic.net, I looked up the batch code: 18P10P (L'oreal brand) and found the date of manufacture was Jan 2017. Perhaps they removed the sunscreen component? Recommend: No- not for those who dislike talc or who have dry skin. Alternatives: Thanks to a Sephora associate, I found a concealer alternative that did not cause me to react and worked well with my dry skin: Lancôme tient idole ultra wear camouflage ($37 Canadian) in shade 215 Buff (N). Hope this helps :)

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Lord how I miss the old Demablend! I have the concealer sticks, cover creams and liquid foundations. This new formulation is pretty much Halloween grease paint in a crappy pot. The pigmentation isn't there, the grease never sets, and forget buildable coverage, there isn't any opacity. I have used it for ages to cover my large amount of tattoos for professional reasons, and the quality has seriously diminished since my last purchase. I have invested in a RCMA pallet and abandoned Dermablend, it just doesn't work anymore. What a sad relic to loose in makeup, used to be a legend.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I purchased this after I ran out of my usual concealer that I use for spots all over my face. Would not dare to use it as a foundation since it is so so thick... However, for a pinpoint concealing technique the texture and color seemed suitable. Except that it does not really cover much! And I am not talking about covering tattoos, just some sunspots (not very dark ones) and a few freckles. I try to apply just a tiny bit of the concealer directly on a target spot and since it's such a thick texture, it is quite visible if not blended. But as soon as I try to blend it (very lightly!), the spot underneath it is out right away. In my opinion, it performs worse than any creamy drugstore concealer. Disappointed.

About reviewer (99 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

So this isn't exactly an awful product, it just really depends on how you use it and how much you apply. When I purchased this a few years ago, I tried various attempts on using this on certain areas of my face. This became my go to product when I got desperate to needing power strength concealer which other make-up I had could not suffice. Obviously this is far too thick, somewhat oily and putty like. Fast forward to now, I still have loads left of it because you really just need to use it sparingly. This is perhaps a good back up product to just have around because I ended up using it today to cover my hyperpigmentation that shows up greyish/purple through my powder foundation. This thick, oily putty texture was just what I needed to blend in and conceal it, by only applying a tiny wincy bit. Alternatively I have Vichy Dermablend liquid foundation/concealer which does a good job of concealing in general without being on the heavy side. Although, not even that product could do a good job on concealing my mark which is why having the Professional Dermablend as a backup came in as a handy rescue. It is also SPF 30 which is great so helps the prevention of dark spots getting even darker from the sun. However, not great to use this as an eye concealer, far too heavy and accentuates lines. The Vichy Dermablend does a better job but even so probably not advisable. It is also cheaper to get this Professional Dermablend on Ebay or something but it can also be difficult to know which colour to choose.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I got this from ulta on sale for 19.00, usually 30 something. Will be returning. Comes out looking cakey and I hate trying to scoop this out, I've applied with a brush and a beauty blender. Does provide good coverage but transfers onto EVERYTHING even with being set with fix+ and banana powder. Save your money.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I remember using this product about 10 years ago when I had a huge bruise on my thigh. I was attending a wedding and needed to cover the bruise. On this occasion, it worked perfectly and stayed put for hours. In the last couple of weeks, I developed cystic acne on my forehead. I have never had acne in my life, so I purchased the cover creme because I did not want to attend Christmas functions with angry, red acne. OK, something has changed with the formula. This is an expensive product at $65 Australian for a tub, so you would expect some decent results. I have read many comments here about application method being so important. I am not a newbie to applying concealer, so let me just say that this product is sub-par. I started by scooping out a small amount and warming it on the back of my hand. Next I dabbed a small amount on the area to be covered with my fingers and finished off with my Beauty Blender sponge. I did 2 applications each time. The product is supposed to last several hours without the setting powder and a lot longer if you do use the powder. I elected not to purchase the powder because it is just too expensive to buy both. I was lucky if this stayed put for 2 hours. It settled into the dry areas and looked cakey and nasty. I cannot return it because we cannot return used cosmetics in Australia, so that is $65 down the drain. I learned a big lesson with that purchase. Dermablend is crap!

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My housekeeper stole this from me! I was so upset because it was a nearly full container of the "old" formula in the white jar, not this new greasy stuff. I couldn't replace what I lost, so I bought the new stuff in the semi-clear container for $38 at Ulta. The color match is good, but the consistency has changed and not for the better! It feels greasy! The old formula was hard and bone dry but by adding a little Regenerist Serum to it, it did the job perfectly and lasted all day. I don't think it covers my sun spots nearly as good as before, the concealer seems to be more opaque than it used to be. I have to really pile it on to get the effect I got from a little dab of the dryer, older formula. I'll have to stick with it, this is probably my 10th purchase of the cover cream, but I'm on the lookout for a replacement now. It's no longer my "savior" product. Disappointment sucks, especially when it's with something that is supposed to be new and improved. It's not.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination

HairBlond

EyesBlue