3.5

Created with Sketch.
78 reviews
55%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Ahh... this is tuberose heaven! Ironically, when this first came out in the ‘80s... I HATED it. Reminded me of my grandma, who would get trigger-happy with perfumes like Fracas, Joy, & Jungle Gardenia until my sinuses screamed for mercy. That woman just about ruined white floral perfumes for me!! Giving this another try in 2019 at a duty-free shop, I fell in love (and ordered it more cheaply on eBay). I believe the current formulation is faithful to the original, but not quite as strong. Which is fine with me, because traces of the original can probably still be detected in outer space 😊 This is a classic beauty jam-packed with tropical flowers— but fresh flowers, like wearing a sweetly fragrant lei. At first spray I detect the banana-like notes of ylang-ylang and night blooming jasmine. There is a bit of greenery, keeping things smelling clean. The tuberose, with its fleshy and buttery notes, comes next and is just as delightful. The composition dries down to a soft oakmoss (pretty typical for ‘80s florals; Beautiful has a similar mossy finish) and what I call “the back end of tuberose”— that rubbery, almost bitter note that instantly brings Fracas to mind. In this fragrance, it just works, bringing a distinctive signature and an air of real sophistication. Thumbs way up!

About reviewer (228 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I haven't smelled this perfume in a years. I am a Fracas lover and due to my job, I can't wear a heavy sent. I was on a search for a nice tuberose perfume that was a bit lighter. Something that I could wear daily that I could wear closer to myself but if I sat next to a person they would be able to smell me. I have searched up and down, testing all over town, and still nothing would fit the bill. I thought I liked Bryedo Flowerhead but after day 2 of my tester I decided I couldn't live with it. Too sweet, and dismal. I'm now in my 40's and I just don't want to smell like bubble gum. I then tried Carnal Flower. I appreciate it. Think it smells nice but it doesn't smell like tuberose on me. I still think Fracas is a better smelling burst of tuberose and jasmine. Yum! There is just nothing like it. Reading reviews on many sites, I found that people would mention CH and I had remembered that in the 90's I had a close friend who wore this scent. I remember it smelled glorious but It was also a tad strong, and overpowering. I think she way over sprayed for sure. I remember wanting to wear it also, but I just couldn't do that to my friend. I think it's kinda wrong to hijack the signature fragrance of a BFF, so I sighed and always wore something else. Okay, okay. I'll get to my point. So 20+ years later I see this perfume being mentioned as a nice choice and decide to buy the EDP to see if it's as wonderful as I remember. Sure enough! I sprayed it in the air and walked into a cloud of perfume bliss. Yum! It hugged me like a the blanket I didn't know I needed. It warmed my heart with joy. I smelled my sweet, friend for a second and then I smiled knowing I could take this and make it mine. Finally! This is the scent I have been longing for. I can use one spray and it's light enough to get away with it at work. Oh, the love of a wonderful fragrance. What it can do to brighten my winter gloom and take me all the way through the Texas, summer fun.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Aloha my makeupalley darlings: I can imagine this is what Polyanesia smells like when first touching down on the tarmac with the fragrance of the lei flowers flooding into the air conditioners on the deluxe 747 that you are on and more so when the beloved polenesians place those fresh flowers around your head and heart with a loving welcome home. This beautiful heavenly fragrance is one of pure love and it is wonderful, strong and poofy. You have to have a high tolerance and be able to find the joy in all this loving sweetness... this one is not for the faint of heart... this is true committment. This perfume is garden laden flowers. The heavy hitting garden laden florals that are no longer used in today's perfumery unfortunately. All the love in this bottle of beautiful flowers in full bloom will instantly open up and blossom upon your skin. I thought i could sense a note of strawberry but i didnt see that as a listed note so it must have been the peach or apricot note. So much joy in this bottle.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Very strange and matronly. Supposedly Angelina Jolie wears either this or Carolina Herrera's men's fragrance. I'm sure whatever she wears smells lovely on her, but on me this was a major no-no.

About reviewer (308 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am on my second bottle of this perfume. It is a go-to scent, it is a great mix between sexy and sophisticated! It is very strong and long lasting, it is NOT for those that like light or fresh scents. If you love this but there is "just something" about it you don't care for, I believe it is very close to the Oscar de la Renta perfume. I receive so much praise from anyone I encounter, and the lasting power is amazing!

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Very pretty scent. Light mixture of floral and strawberries. Not very memorable though.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Classic, feminine and strong- perfect combination for me! This is one of my all time favorites. I had a man in a bike shop stalk me because he loved the scent.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I never smelled this perfume until recently, then I bought it. It's one of those perfumes that I carry around in my purse, just because I like to have it there. I love the shape of the bottle, but the fact that it doesn't have a cap means I have to carry it around in the box it came in. I don't care really, it's a pretty neat perfume. It does have a confident and uplifting feel, and it smells 'very' pretty. The scent lingers quite awhile, and it smells great on my coat for days. In comparison to many perfumes out there, I'd have to say the lasting power is refreshing. Yes, I really like this rich floral scent. It doesn't give me a headache and it has a positive energy. I know it's been around many years and I'm not sure if it's a big seller, though I did buy it from Sephora. I do hope that it stays on the market, because I may want to always keep this as a staple perfume in my wardrobe. The other floral perfume I'll compare this to is Live Luxe by Jennifer Lopez. For some reason, I also find that perfume uplifting and seem to be in a good and energetic mood when I wear it. I'll have to get that one again also.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I'm giving this a neutral rating not because it is not nice - just because I am not a big fan of gardenia - that is primarily what this is a gardenia/tuberosey scent. It goes on a somewhat sweet gardenia scent and goes a little metallicy in the middle and dries down to a bit of a woody scent. It is nice if you like gardenia - for gardenia lovers I'd give it a try. Flowery but not so over the top it would ever be really offensive to most - a fairly polite, elegant fragrance (very feminine though) ... give it a try for gardenia lovers ...

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I don't know what I was thinking trying this at the store and then still buying it. It is way WAY too strong and way WAY WAY too sweet. I tried to spray one spray in the air and jump halfway in and out of the cloud quickly. The bathroom still smelled like it when I got home 9 hours later. I finally gave up 1/2 way through the bottle and got rid of it. :( I hate to waste that but I'll never buy perfume in a rush again.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown