Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

Filtered by age: 36-43
Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation

4.0

169 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, GLYCERIN, ISODODECANE, ALCOHOL, POLYGLYCERYL-4 ISOSTEARATE, ALUMINUM STARCH OCTENYLSUCCINATE, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, HEXYL LAURATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ACETYLATED GLYCOL STEARATE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, TRISTEARIN, CELLULOSE GUM, NYLON-12, LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, DIPHENYL DIMETHICONE ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, PARFUM / FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, METHYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL [ /- MAY CONTAIN CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 / IRON OXIDES CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES MICAShade guide:- Shade 2: fair skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 3: fair skin with golden undertone.- Shade 3.5: light to medium skin with warm undertone.- Shade 3.75: fair skin with rosy undertone.- Shade 4: light skin with golden undertone.- Shade 4.25: light skin with peachy undertone.- Shade 4.5: light skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 4.75: light skin with rosy undertone.- Shade 5: light to medium skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 5.25: medium skin with rosy undertone.- Shade 5.5: medium skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 5.75: medium skin with warm undertone.- Shade 6: medium skin with golden undertone.- Shade 6.25: medium to tan skin with peachy undertone.- Shade 6.5: medium to tan skin with warm undertone.- Shade 7: medium to tan skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 7.5: tan skin with warm undertone.- Shade 8: tan skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 8.5: tan to deep skin with warm undertone.- Shade 9: tan to deep skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 10: deep skin with warm undertone.- Shade 11.5: deep skin with red undertone.- Shade 13: deep skin with neutral undertone.- Shade 14: very deep skin with red undertone.

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 12/16/2018 10:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I...I was rendered speechless.

Look, I didnt even intend to GET this foundation, at all.
My usual HG foundation,GA Maestro,once again mysteriously disappeared from the shelves. I couldnt find my shade literally anywhere. Rather than wasting my money away to other brands, I picked this one out of loyalty, because not once GA ever disappointed me. Still with a lot of doubt for I love,love sheer foundation and LS being "medium coverage" is a bit much. Or so I thought.

I got my shade, 5.75 for Im Asian NC25-30,strong yellow undertone (even Maestro 5.5 that I normally use is a hair too beige but whatever).
I have dry skin. Im on retinoid and AHA treatment. Im no longer in my 20s,okay. Foundation shopping is a dreadful experience.
So with fingers crossed I try this out, after prep and priming.

I got two pumps out for all my face and neck and HOLY COW WHAT IS THIS. How this shade blends into my skin, no,it fits like skin? How? And how the random stippling and buffing (i am lazy. Maestro did the job like a maestro it is) creates such gotdang flawless, natural finish?! What magic is this? Wait. There's more.
It is light. So light I dont feel like I am wearing makeup. And I thought Maestro was good. It is great but LS is ethereal. It must be created by the gods. It covers ever so lightly but perfectly so I can look in the mirror and whisper, "Well hello there, beautiful".
It fits beautifully. It doesnt sink into my pores. It does magic to my skin. It is gorgeous. I feel gorgeous.

This is life changing and I could never go back again. Ever.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



on 10/24/2018 1:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only reason I gave it 4 star is because it's very expensive and hard to find in Indonesia. This is a hype foundation that everyone talked about and it lives up to its expectation:
- Great staying power (wore it for 8 hours straight with 2x ablution in between - and it still stays as if nothing happened)
- Hydrating (I have dry skin)
- Medium coverage that can be build to high coverage
- It does gives you that luminous silky skin (as it named) without over powering sheen or shimmer
I do find it a bit "too made up" to be worn as everyday foundation but it definitely is a star performer for those so called "special occasions".

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/5/2018 12:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

s a 45 + woman of color, I was delighted to find this foundation. I use No 13. The foundation is AMAZING. I love the texture. It is silky and very light but it is buildable. I actually apply it with my fingers and the amazing thing is that once I have rubbed it in a circular motion on my face, my fingers are barely stained! I also love the feel because I do not feel like I am wearing a mask. It really does feel like second skin. I absolutely love the flawless finish. This is for someone who wants to look flawless and natural. I have recently bought the Armani bronze finish powder which I apply lightly to the cheekbones and bridge of the nose for a natural glowing look. I must say that although it is pricey, I use a very small amount. I can finally say adieu to MAC NW50 and welcome to my Armani Luminous Silk Foundation 13. May you live forever!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 6/29/2018 12:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This foundation looks really pretty when first applied. It is amazingly lightweight and gives an airbrushed look. But fast forward about 4 hours and it's break up or disappearing on my oily skin. If I only need my skin to look good for a certain number of hours it's great, but it's not a workhorse all day formula, at least for me.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

Product: 6/10
Colour: 4/10 Not the best shade range
Blendability: 8/10
Coverage: Medium, slightly build-able
Finish: Demi Mate
Price: 3/10
Packaging 10/10

I really wanted to like this product because everyone absolutely raves about it but it was NOT for my skin. This is my review for dry skin, slightly acne prone slightly texture skin.

The colour on my skin was wack, I have light skin with rosy undertones but this looked like white out on my face.The next shade with my proper undertone was for medium skin.

Foundation blends pretty good but come on its medium coverage, how thick can it be if its mostly water, alcohol denant and cyclopentasiloxane

Coverage was disappointing if im using a 70$ foundation i want it to cover at least some of my redness and dont want to have to use multiple layers.

The finish is what threw me for the biggest loop, i know some brand like Nars will have foundation names that suggest quite dewy but are more mate or satin but this was medium coverage marketed as luminous so i thought it would have a bit more of a wet look. nope looked quite powdery and drying on the skin

Price is expected for a prestige brand but the value isn't there because of the need to build.
The packaging is vanity candy though,it just says i'm boujee

Overall i'm disappointed and quite surprised because of all the hype, would probably work best for someone who uses a brush for their foundation ( I used hands and brush and brush looks best ) I'd be wary to us with a sponge because its watery and again this is $70 foundation that needs to be build a bit so you'd want all the coverage you can get. I'd suggest this for someone with more normalized oil levels which already has quite smooth skin and little acne and discoloration. The BEST way i got this to work is by mixing some facial oil in to counteract the mattifying effect, spot conceal redness and imperfections with a concealer either before or after and stipple on a layer concentrating on center of face.


on 4/10/2018 11:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have normal skin, fine lines and some freckles and this provides good coverage without looking heavy or cakey. It doesn’t settle into fine lines and has a smooth I’m an nc15-20 with neutral-warm undertones and I purchased no 4 which I reckon is nc20. I’ll attach a pic of swatches. It is very similar in colour to the Tarte Shape Tape hydrating foundation in fair-light neutral and the Bobbi Brown foundations in shade 2 Sand. Finish is not luminous or glowy - just a satin with no apparent oxidization. Doesn’t have any fragrance which is nice.

I quite like the coverage and finish but I don’t think this is worth AUD$100 a bottle. I would still repurchase though.

Ironically I bought a bottle of this years ago in the other style packaging. The GA sales assistant at David Jones wrongly matched me to a 5.5 (like what was she thinking?!) . Even considering it was too dark , I was an oil slick after a couple of hours and needed to blot frequently. I ended up giving it away. Back then I was a dry skin type so not sure if this attributed to the poor outcome but I’m glad I repurchased and gave it another go.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 3/10/2018 4:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For years I have been watching youtube videos reviewing this foundation. I finally caved and bought it. I really wanted not to like it since it is pricey. But I love it! It blends so nice and looks great on my skin. I have dry skin in the winter and oily in the summer. I am a bit oily with this though but I still love it.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/1/2018 1:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought into the hype around this and I’m glad I did. It gives a lovely natural look (esp if applied with a beauty blender) and is worth the price as it lasts ages. It also seems to have a large array of shades.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 1/24/2018 5:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had been bought this foundation as it been recommended and read good reviews. I was so excited to try it. Initially I thought the color match was ok maybe a little to light I went for 4 light sand my mum thought it looked great although she hasn’t got great eyesight. When I looked in the mirror it stuck to every pore I seen pores I that I never even noticed before. It clung to dry patches and was patchy. Really disappointed my quest for my perfect foundation goes on.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 12/31/2017 9:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Awful, I really wanted to love this and I even went so far as to checking my technique with the sales lady again and youtube videos.

Thin watery foundation with a lovely glow to it, beautifully packaged. Does not work with a beauty blender as too watery and product just doesn’t hit the skin so you must use a brush.

The result: patchy uneven skin, always wears off on the nose first. Wore it to work and thought I did a good job, everyone kept saying how tired I looked. Coverage is so poor and the more you use the more your pores become emphasised.

I wanted to love this and and I don’t disagree with any of the positive reviews here as skin type differs we all suit different things, but I’m very surprised they aren’t more negative reviews.

It’s over hyped and you need good skin for this foundation. If you go to the counter ask them to do a full face or even get your own sample, do not purchase based on a patch test at the counter.

I don’t even believe Kim k even wears this as her skin is flawless.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top