OPI Start to Finish Top & Base (Formaldahyde Free)

OPI Start to Finish Top & Base (Formaldahyde Free)

4.0

25 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Alcohol Denat (SD alcohol 40-B), Ethyl Acetate, Butyl Acetate, Heptane, Nitrocellulose, Tosylamide/Epoxy Resin, Isopropyl Alcohol, Polyvinyl Butyral, Triphenyl Phosphate, Trimethyl Pentanyl Disobutyrate, Camphor, Benzophenone-1, Glyoxal, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, CI 60725 (violet 2). 10/2012


on 7/18/2016 5:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Finally a top and base coat that actually works. Dries within seconds and the staying power of the nail polish at least 5/6 days (my experience). It's a bit pricey, but considering it would last a few months it is well worth it. It's a definite repurchase.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is seriously awful. I was looking for a change from ORLY top to bottom because of its bluish tone and bought this. I didn't need to straighten my nails, but thought that something extra is always a plus.
Now I'm ready to cry... I used it only one time and six of my nails broke. My nail polish started chipping after one day of wear. It was chipping with upper part of my nails.
Now I have cracked, damaged awful nails that I haven't had in years.
This product can't be called nail straightener it should be called nail killer! DON'T BUY IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 25 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 9/6/2014 1:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't think this make my nailpolish last longer...


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is an overall 4-star product with 5-star aspects. The drying time is very quick and efficient, which I have timed at less than a minute. It is ideal for use as a base coat: it protects your nails from staining, the formaldehyde-free formula helps to prevent fraying and breaking, and other nail polish colors stick to it very well. It leaves a very shiny finish which makes it obvious that you're wearing a clear coat.

I like it much less as a top coat. I've found that it takes significantly longer to dry when placed over another color which has already dried. It has on some occasions refused to dry at all. Usually it will dry, but I've had occasion where it simply peels off the color underneath as if nothing were ever applied. It is prone to chipping when it does dry correctly; once chipping my pedicure an hour after application. If it will work or not seems to depend on the position of the stars or a similar nonsensical reason that I simply cannot fathom.

If it does work properly as a top coat, it works very well. I find it to be very glossy and resistant to chipping. It shows the color clearly and keeps it looking as vibrant as when freshly applied.

The brush is of course phenomenal and by far the best nail polish brush I've ever had the pleasure of using. It makes it very easy to apply one coat with one swipe.

The smell doesn't linger as much as other nail polishes. I don't know why, but even my roommate has commented on it. I usually have to tell her that I've used this before she notices any lingering odor.

I will re-purchase for use as a base coat or a clear nail polish on its own.


on 8/13/2013 4:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm not very impressed with this product for the price I paid for it. I thought it'd be a good idea to get a combo product but this combo product just doesn't cut it.

Basically it works alright as a base coat but it sucks as a top coat. It doesn't make my nails look shinier or glossy (not even when freshly applied) and I think it actually makes it look duller. And the dullness gets worse by the day. Also the polish chips quite easily with this and I never had any problem of chipping polish before. I think I'm gonna start using this purely as a base coat. Its not too bad as a top coat for pedicures either, for some reason it seems to be shinier on my toes although there is still a problem with chipping.

Not recommended at all!!


on 10/20/2012 1:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the only nail polish products that I continue to buy over and over. It is a bit expensive, but I always get these on a buy one get one 1/2 off sale (luckily, my store does this often) so my supplies last a while. The polish is a great base coat! I've also noticed that when I do use it, my nails don't break or peel at all. As a top coat, it dries really fast and helps my mani last much longer. The brush is awesome as OPI has THE best brushes of all the nail polishes I've ever owned! Some people will write in a review that the top will come off and leave the brush part in the bottle and I've only really had that problem when I've had the bottle for a really long time and gotten the polish in the threads of the neck. A little super-glue and it never happens again. One of the best things about this is that it's formaldehyde-free so it's not harmful to your nails.

Love, love, love this product. But admittedly, will only buy it on sale unless I'm in desperate dire need.


on 7/9/2012 3:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

What can I say? OPI has the best brush in the business, hands down. But this product is a better base coat than top coat, as it doesn't dry fast enough. It's much better than essie's "good to go" top coat, which is a sticky mess. I'll have to see how I feel at the bottom of the bottle before I know if I'll purchase it again. I'm happy that it's 3free, unlike the much-revered (which really isn't that great after all) Seche Vitae top coat.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2012 4:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like it! I'm a fan of combo products, so It was good enough for me. The only top\base coat I tried, and I like it so far. The only problem is that sometimes the cap gets screwed off and the brush is stuck.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2012 11:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: omg! Months ago O.P.I. contacted me and said they liked my review and that they wanted to possibly use it. I never thought anything would come of it but the other day I was picking up a new bottle of this and when I got home I realized my name was on the package! *claps*


The best base and top coat ever! I am a nail polish JUNKIE, and have tried so many base and top coats I was beginning to lose faith that there was a good one out there. I tend to use my nails as all purpose tools and always found my polish chipping after the first day. I highly recommend this product if you are a gal who wants her at-home manicures to last.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2011 2:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Very disappointed! I purchased OPI Start to Finish because of the positive reviews I read and because OPI is one of the best brands out there. My manicure didnít last any longer than if I had used an over the counter (read: cheaper) polish. Also, it dried out my nails so much that they are brittle and breaking. I do not recommend this product.

Back to Top