4.3

Created with Sketch.
40 reviews
83%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Best face wash I’ve ever used with my skin. This is the only one that got rid of my hormonal blackheads and acne. It does sting a bit, but the results are worth it. The texture is very milky and buttery, it foams up a little yet it’s still feels like it cleanses the skin. I wouldn’t recommend this enough if you have acne, it especially works on my forehead.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Tried it to get rid of adult hormonal acne. This stung my face a lot! It was a milky texture so it doesn't feel like it wash well (I prefer foaming, leathering types). The chemical irritation was too strong so I couldn't use it for long. Unfortunately it just didn't work for me.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have been searching high and low for three years for a cure to my cystic acne. I've tried everything - Cetaphil, fancy three-step systems from high-end brands, laser. In a month of using pHisohex I've barely had any new acne surface and when it came time for my period, the time of the month it's at its worst, I only had one small pimple appear. I'm over the moon with how affordable, simple and effective this is!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought this product after I started breaking out badly on my cheeks. I used it for a few weeks and it didn't help at all and since the product didn't work my pimples/acne got worse. However, it did help my body acne on my shoulders and back. I've heard this product works for a lot of people and it's cheap so try it as there is not much to lose if it doesn't work :)

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

TL;DR: Good anti-bacterial cleanser; this stuff is truly worth giving a shot. For those with dry skins, make sure to pair this with a heavier moisturiser as it can be drying. If you have sensitive skin, please PATCH TEST FIRST. Pros: - The anti-bacterial formula (also a con; see below). In a nutshell, this product contains triclosan, an anti-bacterial agent found in lots of other consumer products (soaps, detergent, toothpaste etc.). What sets Phisohex apart is that the formula has a higher concentration of triclosan in it: 1% (yes, a small percent, but that's as much as you can safely put into a consumer product). Triclosan inhibits fatty acid synthesis, inhibiting growth of bacteria on the skin. While this product is not a skin panacea and will not work for everyone, this has been the only cleanser that I've witnessed having any positive effect on my hormonal cystic acne. Other cleansers that I've tried cleansed my skin quite well but have either done nothing to reduce acne, or have actually made my acne worse. Phisohex has been the only cleanser where I've actually noticed that my acne has reduced; it is no where near as severe as it was when I was still using my other gentle cleanser (Neutrogena Extra Gentle Cleanser). That alone has convinced me to repurchase. - The price point. Out of most other skin cleansers on the market (i.e. Benzac, Cetaphil, Neutrogena, Simple) this is one of the cheapest, especially when it comes to Australian prices. You don't need any prescription, nor do you need to get it over the counter from a pharmacist. It's on the shelf, and you can grab and buy it like any other regular skincare product. Useful for those who hate relying on scripts and doctor visits to get much needed products. You can grab a 200 mL bottle for $8-$9 or a 500 mL bottle for $17-$18 (the 500 mL bottle is BIG). (Note: I've heard that this is different in North America (U.S.A. in particular); you MAY need a prescription to use Phisohex in the States. I'm not sure about Canada or Mexico). - Scent and texture. Has a very mild medicinal scent, and has a creamy consistency. This is a low foaming cleanser which may be beneficial for those that are sensitive to foaming agents. - Packaging. Comes in a convenient squeeze bottle that can purchased in a small or large size (200 mL or 500 mL). Cons: - The formula. Triclosan is an effective anti-bacterial, but it can also cause contact dermatitis for people with sensitive skin or with prolonged exposure. It also contains a moderate amount of Benzyl Alcohol. This can be very irritating for those with sensitive skin and/or dry skin. I personally have dry skin and this hasn't affected me, but I do pair this with a heavier moisturiser to offset the dryness caused by the product. If you have sensitive skin, PLEASE PATCH TEST THIS PRODUCT FIRST (also advised by the company on the bottle). - Dubious product instructions. On the back of the bottle, the company advises washing your hands with the product (which is wise; get rid of the bacteria on your hands before touching your face) and then washing and rinsing your face twice. This is to be done three...THREE times a day. Considering the heavy duty nature of the product, that is way too damn much even for people with the oiliest skins. Follow your own common sense and wash your face with this as much as you feel is needed. I wash mine once in the morning and once at night. Overall, an extremely effective (for ME, personally) but otherwise heavy duty cleanser. I'd actually recommend trying some other cleansers before moving onto this one. Other than that, this is now my HG facial cleanser.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

heard great reviews however this cleanser does not work for me sadly. it is very gentle and a nice basic cleaner for those with nice skin already! i have some bumps and spots and this does not seem to do much in that aspect. i used with my clarisonic but nothing changed much with skin. it is very affordable and gentle though

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

Personally my skin does not have acne, sure I get a few spots here and there, but nothing as bad as some get it. Still though I like to give my skin a thorough cleansing at the end of every day to keep those spots from going out of control. That is why when I stumbled upon PHisophex I decided to give it a try, and have been pleasantly surprised at how clear my skin looks and feels. True the formula is a little harsher than I am usually comfortable with and it does dry out my skin, but I can overlook all this for the obvious benefits. All I need to do is ensure I use a nice and thick moisturiser after my shower at night. I only use it once a day because that is all I need and unlike some of the other reviews I don't think that it hurts to use. Overall I will probably buy it again and think the results are well worth the price!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I never leave reviews. For the past 2 months I've had a chin covered in acne. Cystic big white heads. I have NEVER had more than 1 pimple at a time my entire life so this has been traumatizing. Im 22 So put it down to hormones. I stopped using my aesop cleanser and used ego QV cleanser which I've always gone back to. I read sososo many reviews before I buy anything but one day I spotted this in the chemist and grabbed it because it was so cheap. Its been 1 week and I have been using this twice a day. I didn't think anything would work.. its finally started to clear away the grossness. All I have to say is try it! Use it for 2 weeks twice a day and then just on the breakout once a day with your other cleanser. Your skin will thank you.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Iv only just starting using this a few days ago so i have no idea if its suppose help straight away or not? i have mild acne and i dont know the reason for it but so far using this product it has helped my skin but not a huge amount. Its only been 2 days but i did get another few pimples this morning which is devastating and i just hope this product starts working. ill come back after a week to write another review :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I have used almost everything from drug store to expensive. and i seem to always come back to this!!! I break out in pimples when I have or i'm getting my periods and I feel like phisohex is the only product that I feel like reduces my breakout. Yes I do still get pimples during my hormonal time but I definitely seen a difference in the size of the pimples. Your skin feels a little dry afterwards but nothing a moisturiser can't fix (I have combo and sensitive skin) im not sure how people who have really dry flaky skin would go with this. If you have pimples do try this product but only use a small amount and i find washing it off with cold-slightly warm water helps to reduce the "burning sensation" a lot of people get afterwards rather than using really hot water like i used to. i use rosehip oil after and then a moisturiser and my skin looks amazing

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.