4.1

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
88%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

*This is a review for the scented Shaka sunscreen* The best things about this is that the thin, lightweight consistency is amazing and that its protection is superb. I can verify it protects exceptionally well. The only bad thing about it is that it's not very hydrating, so if you put it over your moisturizer and underneath makeup, it will "take away" a lot of the moisturizer and the foundation won't sit very well but I feel like this is the case with most, if not all sunscreens.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

This is the latest reformulation of the Anthelios XL fluid. Its PPD of forty something is unbeatable, so I will keep buying it for that reason but I'm not a fan as I used to be. The former formula was more spreadable and moisturizing without heaviness. So it would double as a SPF and hydrator. This one has kind of a dry touch texture, probably they aimed to please common taste for ultra light SPFs. The slightly moisturizing consistency I wrote about, can be found in Bioderma Aquafluid but with a lower PPD. This is definitely a high tech, nice sunscreen but I liked the old formula better.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have been using this lightweight, invisible and 'glossy' sunscreen several times so far, in which it is time to create a review. It is an ultra-lightweight sunscreen, which has no white-cast whatsoever, that glides like a dream and blends seamlessly. It's fragrance-free, although there is a pleasant scent which can be described as a 'moisturising scent'. It's initially slightly tacky, although that lessens after some time; personally, I find tackiness enjoyable. It isn't drying on my skin, although denatured alcohol is the second ingredient - in fact, it's rather moisturising. It sits well under makeup (unlike the CosRX sunscreen) and makes my makeup appear nicely glossy, not greasy. Although this sunscreen doesn't sting around my eyes, it stings slightly in other areas such as the lower-portion of my face. It's mild though, and isn't bothersome; it lasts for a short period of time, a couple of minutes at the maximum. I am not entirely sure why this occurs, although the suspected ingredients are the denatured alcohol and avobenzone. I don't find this as an issue, since it has much more significant pros. It's rare for me to find a sunscreen which lives to its claim of being invisible whilst being lightweight, having a desirable finish and doesn't sting horrifically. Most sunscreens always seem to have an issue which ruins the entire product for me, such as a white-cast, chalky or it being drying (specifically sunscreens which have zinc oxide as its filter). I am glad that there are a greater variety of sunscreens nowadays, especially chemical sunscreens. In the past, I was too scared to use chemical sunscreens since every single one of them caused me a history of breakouts, uncomfortable stinging and sensitisation. Another bonus is that it's inexpensive, and there are generally great offers on which reduce it's price (Boots had 25% off when I had bought it). Nonetheless, one other issue for me is the packaging. After 'shaka'ing' the sunscreen, I open the bottle and it leaks. It's a minor issue, but it's definitely something which needs to be mentioned. To prevent this, after shaking the bottle, I tap the top-section of the bottle several times and then let it settle for around ten seconds. Then I apply the sunscreen, in which the issue of it leaking minimises significantly.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

This is one of the rare avobenzone containing sunscreens that does not irritate my sensitive, acne-prone skin. It is very liquidity, goes on smoothly and nicely. Looks a little shiny on my combination skin, but it is negligible compared to the high PPD rating of this sunscreen. Edit: this is truly waterproof and sweatproof. Tested it out on a long 1h run and beads of sweat/water formed on the sunscreen film! Better than any other waterproof sunscreen than i have used. Edit:used it for 3 days straight and my face became sensitized with red patches. Pih (brown patches) from sensitized skin also appeared on my cheeks. probably not a suitable sunscreen for sensitive skin..

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

I am a devout sunscreen user. I have used Bioderma on my face for a long time. I love it, but my sensitive eyes do not. This sunscreen is fantastic. Very fluid and easy to apply. If you have dry skin, you will need to moisturize. This leaves no cast, doesn't irritate my sensitive, dry skin and does not sting my eyes. Fragrance free, too! Highly recommended.

About reviewer (259 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

Very much an improvement of the Ultra light sunscreen. Has a PPD rating of 46, which is even more impressive as there is zero white cast. Like the old version, it has a runny consistency and sets in about 15 minutes. However, it doesn’t set completely, which sometimes bothers me. I’m very careful to apply makeup on top, as it seems to move around easily. The formulation is without a doubt more elegant than any other high PPD sunscreen I’ve tried. The only thing that bothers me is how shiny and greasy it is. Maybe my combination skin is to blame.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I see sunscreen as a necessary evil. I use it religiously for health and vanity reasons, but hate having to mitigate the white cast they give with makeup to give back something resembling life to my skin. I'm also lucky if they don't burn, gives me erythema or dries me out or feel greasy. Shaka Fluid really ticks my Goldilocks zone. It's neither moisturising nor mattifying, it doesn't irritate my dry, dehydrated skin at all and it leaves *no* white cast since it has no physical filters. It also sets to an untraceable finish so I can immediately forget about it. The fact that it's safe to use around the eyes is also a godsend. It does reek of rubbing alcohol, which makes me nauseous for three seconds, but it doesn't disturb my skin. My only slight gripe about it is that the liquidy texture is a bit hard to apply. After playing around a bit I now pour it straight to a section of my face with my other hand ready to spread it out before it drips into my eyes or off my face. But I'd rather have runny sunscreen than unnecessary thickeners and texturizers that would most likely cause pilling or mess up subsequent applicarions of makeup. It settles very quickly so I apply it in sections: forehead,.cheek, cheek - with extra dabs where needed. And for once I probably apply.*more* than the required amount since it's a bit hard to know if you put on an even layer or not . I've used it for two weeks now and haven't experienced any problems with it at all. Even though its very water resistant I find it less hard to remove than the Dermo-Pediatrics Lotion. Will definitely keep on purchasing and will update if I ever change my mind about it.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

La Roche-Posay (LRP) has reformulated and renamed their cult Anthelios Ultra-Light Fluid (ULF) with an SPF rating of 50+ and a PPD of 42. It is now known as the Anthelios Shaka Fluid with the same SPF rating and an increased PPD of 46. The ULF has been discontinued as of 2019. This is a major reformulation with several formulatory changes. There were 34 ingredients in the now-discontinued ULF, and there are 22 in the Shaka. The company claims that the Shaka is lighter in consistency, is completely invisible, and will not sting if used around the eyes and on the eyelids. The company further claims that the coverage is more even, that the new formulation is more resistant to water, and that it is also reef-safe. Let us first discuss the changes to the sunscreening agents. The previous iteration, the ULF, contained 6 'chemical' (colloquial term) or organic (scientific term) filters: Avobenzone, Octocrylene, Mexoryl XL, Uvinul T 150, Tinosorb S and Mexoryl SX. The new iteration, the Shaka, contains 6 chemical filters as well: Octisalate, Uvinul T 150, Tinosorb S Lite Aqua, Avobenzone, Mexoryl XL, and Mexoryl SX. Octocrylene has been dropped from the formulation and replaced with Octisalate. Everything else (with the exception of Tinosorb S) remains exactly the same, just present in different concentrations. As for Tinosorb S, it is still there, albeit in the form of Tinosorb S Lite Aqua (INCI: Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine and Acrylates/C12-22 Alkyl Methacrylate Copolymer; LRP uses C12-22 Alkyl Acrylate/Hydroxyethylacrylate Copolymer instead). For the uninitiated, there are three versions of Tinosorb S: Tinosorb S (oil-soluble), Tinosorb S Aqua (water-soluble), and Tinosorb S Lite Aqua (water-soluble). In the case of the latter two, the oil-soluble Tinosorb S gets encapsulated in microscopic polymers that allow for the ingredient to get added into the water phase, resulting in a less greasy feel. The other formulatory changes are listed below: 1. Corn Starch has been dropped as an absorbing agent. In the ULF, corn starch was the culprit that was responsible for the white streaks that some reviewers complained about. Because this has been excluded from the Shaka, there are no white streaks whatsoever. It is well and truly invisible as the claim on the bottle states. 2. All silicones have been removed. The silicones gave the ULF a slippery feeling, and was responsible for the pilling some reviewers reported. The Shaka Fluid feels like water in comparison. 3. Tocopherol, or Vitamin E, is much higher up on the ingredients list in the Shaka. 4. Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides has been added to the Shaka. 5. Propanediol, a penetration enhancer, has been added to the Shaka. 6. Isononyl Isononanoate in the ULF has been replaced with Isopropyl Myristate in the Shaka. This is an emollient and texture enhancer that serves as the 'base' for the sunscreen filters to be incorporated into (alongside with alcohol). Anecdotal evidence suggests that this is a supposedly comedogenic ingredient, but according to the ingredient directory on Paula's Choice (quoted verbatim): "...this assessment comes from dated research that doesn’t apply to how this ingredient is used in today’s cosmetics." Make of it what you will. This formulation marks the first time I am using Isopropyl Myristate, so I cannot speak to its supposed comedogenity (especially because I regularly exfoliate and use Retin-A, so my skin turns over before it can get clogged), but if you are sure that this is a problem ingredient for you, perhaps you should steer clear of this sunscreen. 7. Phenoxyethanol, a preservative, has been removed. 8. Ethanol (Alcohol Denat). was the third ingredient in the ULF; it is now the second ingredient in the Shaka. 9. Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, a gelling agent primarily present in the cell walls of plants, has been added to the Shaka. Final verdict: The Shaka Fluid is a vastly superior formulation. LRP has truly outdone itself. The ULF was spectacular in its own right, but it was disagreeable with some because of its heavy silicone content and the corn starch. The Shaka is far more watery in consistency, sinks in quicker (so quickly that you will find yourself pouring more of it out of the bottle), is perfectly tolerable around the eyes without any stinging or tearing (it is exceptionally non-irritating), leaves no white streaks, does not ball up, and leaves a satiny, demi-matte finish that is never oily or greasy. That a sunscreen that is so light in consistency can offer remarkable protection from UVA (PPD 46) is frankly unbelievable. In my MakeupAlley review of the now-discontinued ULF, I advised people to pat the ULF on because the high silicone content left it susceptible to balling up if rubbed around. This advice can now be discarded. You can smear the Shaka all over your face like it's water. I will end this review by quoting an excerpt from my MakeupAlley review of the now-discontinued ULF. I find that every word of it holds true for the new Shaka Fluid: "This is the best facial sunscreen in the world from 1) a cosmetological standpoint, 2) and in terms of efficacy. There is no American, Asian, or European facial sunscreen that can beat this one if you are looking for the highest UVA protection possible, but with the cosmetic elegance of a relatively low-protectant sunscreen. This is the unbeaten Godzilla of facial sunscreens. There is a reason why this is a cult product. This sunscreen, if you use it right, will freeze your face and stop the ravages of time. Hyperbole, of course, but you get the idea." Edit: 3 bottles in and a couple of months later and I have got the application process down pat. Use the skinny nozzle to draw a line on each section of your face, then rub the fluid in. This works better for me than dispensing it on my hands, since it sinks in so quickly that your hands will inevitably absorb some of the fluid.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us