3.8

Created with Sketch.
11 reviews
55%
would repurchase
4.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I bought into the hype, too. I just don't feel the love that many others do. My biggest issue is how bad it oxidizes, no matter what moisturizer or primer I use with it. It looks like it is going to be too light when I am applying it. By the time I am done applying all of my makeup, it looks just about right. But then when I look at myself later in the day, I look ridiculous. I also find it to look unnatural and cakey, no matter the application method. It looks dry after I apply, yet within a few hours I have to blot, because I look greasy. This just is not a good foundation for me. I threw it away.

About reviewer (496 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Bought this due to all the great YouTube reviews. I wasn’t blown away by it - okay, but nothing special for mature skin. It had nice coverage but didn’t really blur lines or textured skin. I know that most would say that no foundations do that. I do have 2 foundations that do actually cover, last well and make my skin also look better than it is. The 2 that are HG status for my old lady skin are the Koh Gen Do Moisture foundation and the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation. Both keep my dry skin moisturized and even make the skin soft to the touch. So while this foundation is probably great for those with more oily and young skin, I don’t recommend it for mature skin.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I found this foundation after seeing a review from thataylaa on YouTube. She always has great recommendations, so I tried it and I totally love it. This is my holy grail foundation and I’m so devastated that Boots is stopping CYO - please change your minds! I can wear 103 to 106 depending on my tan level and I can apply it with a beauty sponge, brush or fingers. My preferred method is to smooth it on it my fingers and then go over it quickly with a damp sponge. It gives a satin, medium coverage but can be built up to pretty much full if needed. This foundation mixes beautifully with other foundations and it has helped me use up a bunch of other foundations that weren’t quite right. Everything sits well on top of it, and the lasting power is the best I’ve ever had. I can always get a solid 12 to 16 hours and even when it gets a bit past its best it fades very subtly. I can’t praise this foundation highly enough. Please keep CYO going! (the blushes are also amazing, btw)

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

CYO is owned by Boots, who also makes Soap and Glory. CYO is being phased out by February, 2020, so pick this gem up while you can. Exact duplicate ( colors and ingredient list) for Soap and Glory’s Kick Ass foundation. Kick Ass is twice the price though...I will pay twice the price because this formulation outperforms foundations costing $50.00 plus. I find I can wear 102, 103 and 104 with only slight adjustment. This foundation does Kick Ass! Kudos to thataylaa on YouTube.

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairSilver, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

This may just be the product to finally wean myself from luxury makeup! Truly worth more than its price! To me, this is the drugstore dupe of Sensai’s Cellular Performance Cream foundation, and better even! It has the same creamy consistency that on application, bonds with the skin. Very natural-looking, skin-like, dewy and long-lasting. I wanted to mark it down a lippie for a shade range that leans too much in favour of warmer tones, but it works for me so I decided that for me at least, it deserves 5 lippies! I am generally NC23-25 and mix the CYO in shades 105 and 107 and a bit of 106, but only because I am being fastidious. I can use 105 or 107 alone and get away with it. It can appear green/grey-ish on first application, but this soon settles on the skin to a more neutral tone. I think Lifeproof is perfect for most days (I live in Northern Europe), but on warm, humid days, I actually mix this with the CYO matte foundation (which is good for oily skin types), and it works so well. I mix about 1/3 of the matte formula to 2/3 of Lifeproof. In terms of primers, the Lifeproof foundation works better on its own (ie, without a primer) or with a light gripping primer. I don’t think it works well with thick primers that are either too hydrating, too ‘slip-py’ or too high in silicone-content. Overally, am really enjoying this foundation, and am glad to have found it.

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

There is no much hype for this foundation on youtube and well I finally found this at my local Walgreens. You can order this online and have it shipped to your local Walgreens which is nice, but it is constantly out of stock online. The CYO section of my Walgreens is tiny and well picked through, but at least Walgreens.com told me the shade was available in the store. Before purchasing open the container to make sure it has not been used. This was on sale so before tax it was $5.25! What a steal for a foundation. I love the plastic simple packaging with a pump. My holy grail EL DW at $43 has no pump. I like you can hold the foundation up to your neck in the store to see what it might look like prior to purchase. And you can clearly see when you are running out of foundation with the clever packaging. The color range of this foundation makes picking your color very difficult. It is very limited. I would suggest finding a youtuber that has similar tone to pick the right color. I selected shade 107 which had a yellow undertone. It is the perfect shade for me. I wear Rattan in EL DW. 107 appears more neutral to me. I got compliments that I looked bronzed wearing this foundation. This foundation feels so lightweight on the skin. It almost feels like you are not wearing anything. It is a light medium coverage that can be built to a high medium without looking cakey. This does need to be set because it is quite dewy on the skin. The smell was nothing to me. Once set, I wore this foundation for 12 hours. In humidity, the foundation felt like it was melting, but when I looked in the mirror, I looked glowy and youthful. On the second day, I wear it for 12 hours and stayed in A/C and it looked really nice. This foundation does a better job of hiding my enlarged pores than EL DW. This is long wearing, not transfer proof (got on my phone) foundation that really impresses. The reason I will not repurchase is because it does irritate my skin. I tried this for 2 days and my face was burning underneath. I did not break out, but it was just uncomfortable. If you do not have sensitive skin, please do try this.

About reviewer (244 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've been using this foundation for over a year & it's my top drugstore foundation. I'm actually really surprised by the low negative review below. The foundation can be shipped to your local Walgreens for free. I do really wish they had it in stores because it's a medium buildable satin coverage that makes skin look plump & healthy + doesn't break apart on your skin. The color range could be better, yes. I recommend it for normal to dry skin.

About reviewer (488 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This foundation is advertised to be just $7.00, however, the real cost is $13.99 after shipping (I did not include tax). With that said, it's not worth it. 1. The color range is terrible. They all have either gray or pink undertones and when it oxidizes (and yes, it will oxidize and I've tried just about every primer out there) it will look like you have the flue. 2. You will not find this foundation locally and so you will be forced to buy this online. 3. It claims to be transfer proof, however, it wipes off when you wipe your nose, etc. and it comes off on clothing as well. 4. It doesn't even build to medium coverage. I'll stick to my Wetnwild photo focus which is just $5.99, has realistic colors and doesn't transfer.

About reviewer (110 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I can not believe that this is a drugstore product AND it’s at a ridiculously good price point even for a drugstore product. This foundation is amazing!! It is so hard to find a true neutral foundation shade, most all either pull pink, yellow, or even orange, but not this. CYO has perfected neutral in the best way possible. Not for those with noticeably cool or warm undertones. It may appear gray looking on you guys, but it’s exactly what I need but have never been able to find before. And the lightest shades don’t make me look ghostly!! Which is another problem for people with fair/light neutral skin... Like I said, I’m a fair/light and very neutral kinda girl, smack dab in between the two, and the first few shades in this line suite that perfectly. I’m really happy with this companies undertones. I have been wearing make up for 30yrs and I’ve never seen anything quite like this. Finally, something perfectly suited for me!!! So enough about the amazing undertones, now for the wear... This foundation wears gorgeously!! I have sensitive/reactive, maturing, dry skin and this sits on my face like a dream, like a second skin. It’s not the fullest coverage, but its about a solid medium. However, it is absolutely buildable to full coverage. It does not look cakey or dry, even after applying another layer for more coverage. It’s not overly luminous nor matte either, it’s dewy but only slightly. Those of us with the texture of maturing skin don’t look great with a whole lot of luminosity nor very matte, and this sits right in that sweet mid-range spot. Its stays put, it doesn’t oxidize, and it even dries so well that I don’t even have to set it with powder. And I even use it under my eyes, because I really don’t like how concealer sits on my undereye skin, and it looks amazing there too!! No powder necessary to set this stuff anywhere. I seriously can’t say enough good things about this foundation. I love it so much in fact that since it came back in-stock yesterday on Walgreens website that I ordered 4 of each of the first 4 shades, for my slightly changing skin color in winter, spring, summer and fall. I don’t want to be without it in any season. Really hoping it holds up in summer months during the heat & humidity... Of course, I checked the availability again this morning and 102 is already out of stock!! I am so very glad I jumped at the chance when they had it available because I also can’t find it in-stock stores. I have only found 101 & 102 in one store once... So if I had one complaint it would be how hard it is to get my hands on it. But I’ve taken care of that for now...

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have a really hard time finding foundations that match my fair skin. I watched Thataylaa and Arna Alayne on YouTube who both spoke highly of this foundation so I thought I’d try it. I love it! I’ve tried applying with both a sponge and a brush and I like both, but I prefer sponge. It stays all day, although I usually have to blot, but that’s with all foundations for me. 102 matches me perfectly. I’ll definitely repurchase.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue