Lorenzo Villoresi Teint de Neige

Lorenzo Villoresi Teint de Neige

3.5

90 reviews

51% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/6/2016 6:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

Superbly blended. This is considered Villoresi's masterpiece, and for a reason. It's the contrast/balance between the edible and non-edible elements in this scent that make it so tantalizing. As a reviewer has accurately pointed out below, a rich vanilla note anchors this scent. I think Luca Turin described Kenzo's 'Amour' as a fascinating interplay between 'eat me' and 'don't eat me'; Teint de Neige does the same thing. Yes, it is powdery, with rose and heliotrope notes. But the whole thing is so seamlessly managed and blended that it stands head and shoulders above other powder fragrances. By comparison, it makes Talco Delicato seem thin, Keiko Mecheri's Loukhoum overpoweringly sweet, and L'Artisan's Drole de Rose a little too screechy. One thing you can count on with Villoresi's perfumes is the evident quality of their base materials. But they are also clever: this is a well-thought-out scent. More suited to cold weather than warm, but for Spring and Summer there's always the gorgeous Iperborea...



on 9/8/2013 10:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Teint de Neige is one of those fragrances that requires a certain demeanor or personal aura to pull it gracefully. Whatever it is, I must be lacking that as the perfume sits above my head like my own huge cumulus cloud of fluffiness, making me very conscious of releasing olfactory messages within a two-mile radius. Yes, it is that big.

A lot of people, including the maker, liken Teint de Neige to powder and I can see why, but I think it's more creamy than powdery on me. And sometimes I think that it's a smell-alike for Johnson's baby lotion in that old pink bottle - I'm not sure if they still make it.

On my mother, it's a whole different story, so present but at the same time so elegant, so radiant. It becomes a part of her and I can notice almonds, iris, rose, some wonderful creaminess.

It's one of the those fragrances that I'm left to appreciate on other people.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 90 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 5/27/2012 12:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a powder monster. bitter, harsh and boring. too bad it has a huge giant sillage, when one woman wears it the entire room suffers. should be banned.


on 2/29/2012 2:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is the most powdery perfume ever! It gives this high-end baby talc scent that is very comforting in the cold weather ( but suffocating when the temperature is high). Really long-lasting and great sillage. It is not for everyday, but certainly a treat for certain times during the winter.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2012 9:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

ok,this is THE POWDER...
soft, gourmand, almondy, talcum powder...expensive as hell...
ever tried a small but amazing little apothecary(Europe) brand called L'Erbolario?
they have exact scent, with a killer lasting power calle simply- IRIS....
or a softer ,more flowery version Iris Tenue....
that is the most unbeleveable brand with gorgeous scents...if you ever stumble upon one-don't hesitate much...especially if you like powdery iris scents.....

wow for T de Neige but even more WOW for Iris by L'Erbolario!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2011 5:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Unlike Love's Baby Soft and others, I don't get pure baby powder from this. I can easily detect the almond and rose notes, as well as the vanilla. It is not as musky as I had hoped. It's slightly aldehydic and VERY strong and sweet. It's a nice fragrance, and different from all the synthetic, boring, mainstream fuity-floral 'sweet' scents out there, but it's definitely not my thing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2011 7:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

"Powder", as stated. I love powdery perfumes, but this one quickly can go to migraine territory. Use sparingly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2010 11:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Green

This scent is heavenly, another review said this smelt like "an angel's dressing table" and I think that's an amazing description. I might even go one step further and say wearing it feels like an embrace from an angel, like you are being enveloped in a heavenly, ehtereal mist. From the first moment I smelt it I was transfixed and one of the few times I have been blown away by a fragrance - I have never smelt a perfume like this before - it's so unique and really stands out in this saturated perfume market where so many just smell like yet another candy bomb concoction. Teint de neige (and by the way, what a beautiful name! More on that later..) is indeed very powdery like numerous others have already mentioned but not in a heavy, musty or old-fashioned way. I feel like I'm walking on clouds wearing this and it has the most wonderful calming effect. It feels utterly tranquil and luxurious. I could be walking through the rainy grey streets of my home town London and wearing this I'll feel like I'm being chauffeured in a pearl-coloured interior Rolls Royce. Such is the powder of fragrance! Villoresi's own description: "the rosy hue of a powdered face. The unmistakable scent of perfumed powders, the fragrance of face powder, the perfume of talc, a soft, gentle, enveloping eau de toilette. An aroma delicately permeated by the richness of the natural extracts of precious flowers, recalling the light, images and atmosphere of the belle-poque". The name "Teint de Neige", means colour of snow and I think evokes images of the Renaissance period when the beauty ideal was a 'Snow White' complexion - I think of scented face powders and powder-puffs. It can also seem somehow edible to me, making me think of Laduree macaroons, cupcakes, millefeuilles, custard, icing sugar, cream, marshmallows and sugared almonds. The impression can be 'baby powder' at times but for me that's a comforting scent so I like that about it. But make no mistake it's definitely more complex than that. I would say that vanilla, almonds, jasmine, rose and soft musks are amongst the most prominent notes. The name can also be misleading in this way as for me it implies coldness and transparency when this fragrance is actually warm, thick and enveloping. And if anything, the 'colour' of this scent feels more like a soft pastel - perhaps Laduree's mint green or Tiffany's delicate eggshell blue. I think it's very romantic rather than sexy - for the 'sexy' version look to Hypnotic Poison by Dior, the two are surprisingly similar (not least because they share the vanilla, almond, jasmine and musk notes). While some of the scents I love (Angel, JPG Classique, Hypnotic Poison, Flowerbomb) can be described as 'sexy', I think beautiful and elegant are adjectives better suited to describe Teint de Neige. As for the packaging, it's so beautiful. I love the frosted glass and the atomizer is designed so that it delivers the finest mist of ethereal scent. It has an almost sedative quality for me; perhaps in the way most modern fragrances seem to compete amongst each other as to who can provide the biggest sugar hit this seems comparatively subdued. It is versatile; I have worn it in the heat of summer, its scent playing in the breeze around me and loved it equally in the biting cold of winter when its warmth offers comfort. I like my scents to make me feel I'm being enveloped in a soft, sweet cloud. By the way Chandler Burr, the most famous perfume critic in the world, gives this five out of five. I also can't believe it's an edt because the longevity is unbelievable - and a little goes a long way.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2010 8:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay. I put this on and couldn't handle the soap. I mean, like the classic bars of soap you'd find in any bathroom before we all got those hand pumps. The soap was more bothersome than the powder.

Several hours later (and even after a shower), there's a lot less soap, but something remains. Something joyful and uplifting, like laughter around a corner in a sunlit garden, and you can't wait to get there. Perhaps you're playing a game of chasey and somebody's trailing blue satin sash just slips out of your hand. You can't help it, you're grinning, panting, there are roses in your cheeks. Things around you smell alive and you can taste them. The roses in the garden smell wet and it makes you thirsty. It's a thirst that feels good.

Oh, what to do with you, Teint de Neige? I don't know if I could live with 50 ml of you. You're a 1 ml powerhouse, and maybe that's just right for me.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2010 4:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunate baby powder. Has nice aspects, very pretty layering, nicely floral, delicate nuance, but the overall tone is baby powder. Too bad. I so wanted this one to work for me.

Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1406 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
60 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
152 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
La Vie Est Belle
180 Reviews
Si
Si
66 Reviews
Back to Top