4.2

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
69%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I heard that this was the best foundation EVER by numerous sources, but I’d never tried it and always wanted to. Then I heard it was being discontinued and I stupidly went out and bought about 7 bottles of the stuff thinking “what if I end up loving it and then it’s gone forever?” That would be the story of my life. As it turns out, I don’t hate how it looks on my skin, but it breaks me out HORRIBLY. I don’t even have acne prone skin. I have combo skin where I’m very dry on my cheeks and the sides of my nose and oily in my T-zone. After using the foundation, my cheeks, chin, and forehead all broke out. I don’t know why this is because no one else seems to have an issue with this, but my skin just does not like it. I also find that it breaks down rapidly after about 4-5 hours of wear and rubs off completely in places like my nose and chin. I have VERY fair skin and got the lightest shade, but it oxidizes and makes me look a little orangey, especially on my neck. Other than that, it does look nice on the skin at first. It has a mildly dewy finish to it and light coverage.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Lasts as long as ELDW and much less drying! Love this and was £2.80 in the Boots sale. Will stock up as think the CYO range is being discontinued :(

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I can’t say enough good things about this foundation. It’s better than any other foundation I’ve tried. If you can get a shade match (103 is perfect for me) and you have dry, combo or normal skin, you should try it. It’s really cheap and performs just like EL Doublewear Light for me. If you have oilier skin it may work with the right primer as it stays on my nose pretty well and that’s my oily area. I also love it for mixing and I’ve yet to find a foundation it doesn’t play nicely with. I’ve got a few shades that I use to adjust other foundations I’ve bought that are too light or dark, so it’s also helping me use up other things. Bonus! It’s a medium coverage, buildable and lasts beautifully for the whole day. I would say the finish is satin, but you can play around with it. If I powder it is slightly more matte but sometimes I use a skin oil or an oil primer and the finish is more luminous. Their oil control primer works well too, so I use that on my T zone to combat oils and help the foundation stay on my nose. I would highly recommend this stuff!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I can not believe that this is a drugstore product AND it’s at a ridiculously good price point even for a drugstore product. This foundation is amazing!! It is so hard to find a true neutral foundation shade, most all either pull pink, yellow, or even orange, but not this. CYO has perfected neutral in the best way possible. Not for those with noticeably cool or warm undertones. It may appear gray looking on you guys, but it’s exactly what I need but have never been able to find before. And the lightest shades don’t make me look ghostly!! Which is another problem for people with fair/light neutral skin... Like I said, I’m a fair/light and very neutral kinda girl, smack dab in between the two, and the first few shades in this line suite that perfectly. I’m really happy with this companies undertones. I have been wearing make up for 30yrs and I’ve never seen anything quite like this. Finally, something perfectly suited for me!!! So enough about the amazing undertones, now for the wear... This foundation wears gorgeously!! I have sensitive/reactive, maturing, dry skin and this sits on my face like a dream, like a second skin. It’s not the fullest coverage, but its about a solid medium. However, it is absolutely buildable to full coverage. It does not look cakey or dry, even after applying another layer for more coverage. It’s not overly luminous nor matte either, it’s dewy but only slightly. Those of us with the texture of maturing skin don’t look great with a whole lot of luminosity nor very matte, and this sits right in that sweet mid-range spot. Its stays put, it doesn’t oxidize, and it even dries so well that I don’t even have to set it with powder. And I even use it under my eyes, because I really don’t like how concealer sits on my undereye skin, and it looks amazing there too!! No powder necessary to set this stuff anywhere. I seriously can’t say enough good things about this foundation. I love it so much in fact that since it came back in-stock yesterday on Walgreens website that I ordered 4 of each of the first 4 shades, for my slightly changing skin color in winter, spring, summer and fall. I don’t want to be without it in any season. Really hoping it holds up in summer months during the heat & humidity... Of course, I checked the availability again this morning and 102 is already out of stock!! I am so very glad I jumped at the chance when they had it available because I also can’t find it in-stock stores. I have only found 101 & 102 in one store once... So if I had one complaint it would be how hard it is to get my hands on it. But I’ve taken care of that for now...

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I was excited to try this foundation after so many positive reviews but I just don't like it that much. First, the shades are limited but I was able to make 105 work. I have normal skin and this foundation was very shiny on me to the point where it emphasized the natural texture of my skin which is not something I ever have an issue with. It also felt greasy by the end of the day and I couldn't wait to wash it off. It made my favorite powders (setting, finishing, bronzer) look cakey and chunked up (think oil and powder mixed). I tried this for a week with different moisturizers, sunscreens, powders and it never worked. Tried it again after a few weeks and got the same results. The positives are that it did stay on all day and it is cheap.

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I threw mine away. It's not worth buying. I wish I didn't fall into that Youtuber's hype about this stuff. 1. The color range is bad and because your local Walgreens will not have this in stock, you will likely have to guess what color to get. 2. After shipping, the price for this foundation is almost $20 - OH HELL NO!. 3. The neutral shades have gray undertones. (I got 101 and another color - can't remember which and they were both gray) 4. The finish is sticky satin and it seem to never dry down. 5. IT TRANSFERS! The entire reason why I bought this was due to the no transfer claims only to find out that it never dries down, even with powder and smudges everywhere.

About reviewer (110 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

2.5.2019 : Updating this to three lippies - I decided that I'm going to keep shade 103, since it's warmer toned than 102, and donate 102 and not return anything since I hate wasting stuff. I applied this with a few drops of my Catrice HD foundation (HG status) to help with the oxidizing and shade match - and I have to say - this stuff is still CRAP. The pump wasn't working properly, so it pumped out like, 2.5 pumps worth of foundation, and I still added drops of my Catrice to it -- and this was STILL SUPER SHEER for my liking (which is a natural look but with some blurring). I applied with a sponge, but even with my added Catrice - this stuff is just SO SHEER on me. I also noticed that for the first hour or two - it straight up gave me a gray undertone - even with mixing it with Catrice. It also does transfer when you blot, and I get oilier with this foundation than my Wnw Photofocus or Catrice. After blotting mid-day - I reapplied some ELF powder, and it looked decent, which is the only reason I'm keeping shade 103. But I will not wear it alone, it has to be mixed with another. Save your money, there are other cheaper, better foundations out there that are much easier to get ahold of. --------------------------------- I was pulled into the hype for this foundation, was able to grab shade 102 and 103 from Walgreens.com. I have NC15/20 skin. They happened to be in stock. #1 negative to this foundation - purchasing. Trying to track a shade down when It's not in stores and always sold out online?? #2 negative - shades. Guessing your shade from swatches online. Fun fun. Being I'm so darn yellow and light, shade 102 pulled very gray-pink on me swatched. It looked way off but was light enough. Shade 103 pulled closer yellow - but dried dark. I mixed both - and ended up with a nasty grayish lightish shade that looked off on my face (almost like 150 buff from Revlon Colorstay) -- which eventually dried down too dark for my melasma and gave me worse "floating head" syndrome. #3 negative - application. I tried just a damp sponge - and I found that my sponge soaked up all the foundation. Using a stipple brush was much better, but then the foundation was too dry for my skin (which is why I always use a sponge, and even mix a dab of moisturizer into my foundation.) When I tried mixing moisturizer - it became too sheer for my melasma. #4 plus - if used with a sponge, I think this is a nice finish. Didn't settle into my lines. Didn't age me. Took powder very well. #5 plus - nothing really comedogenic in the ingredients. #6 plus - Lightweight and has a pump and no smell #7 negative - not transfer proof. Wipes off with a finger/nail easily. Thoughts - this is a huge no, nada, not worth my time or money. Compared to my wet n wild photofocus foundation that I put on today - this stuff is crap. WnW easily put this stuff to shame in coverage, little goes a long way - and easily available to purchase (and cheaper!).

About reviewer (435 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love the price point of this and it comes with a pump. I mix with the CYO matte foundation and it lasts all day with an occasional touch up. I wish this was available in stores. As of right now it is only available through Walgreens website. I did find it difficult to choose a shade based on the pictures but it was affordable enough that I got 2 shades of each the matte and lifeproof foundation thinking I could mix them if I needed. I will definately be ordering more!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

First impression: GOOD! But some people are obsessed with this -- and I am not. Am I missing something here? PROS: Excellent skin loving formula a bit on the drying side but not excessively I'm grateful shade 109 is close-ish to NC25 (light/med olive.) CONS: Why is this drying to a GRAY shade? Is it just me?!

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is the best foundation I have ever used, it’s super full coverage, very smoothing and does not cake up or cling on to dry skin which is brilliant! It’s so affordable and I would honestly pay triple the amount for this foundation, it gives skin a natural glow but does not look or feel oily even after several hours of wear. I always use this as a mixing foundation to add coverage , hydration and just make a foundation sit better on my skin. It’s so beautiful! Highly recommend for all skin types.

About reviewer (133 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us