3.9

Created with Sketch.
12 reviews
83%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is being discontinued :( so I bought 8 backups online. I love it! HG for sure. I love the teardrop shape of the pencil, the waxy feel of the pencil and the colour (I use 300 blonde) I have super sparse eyebrows, and this gives a natural look. But stock up, it's getting hard to find!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I have used this occasionally since I got it, but it's highly annoying with its wedge tip. The attached brush does not help to soften the hard look it gives. You have to use such a delicate touch to get a decent brow look. Maybelline's older brow products were far better and I still prefer them.

About reviewer (242 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’ve only used this pencil twice but I already like it! Especially if you’ve got naturally broad eyebrows that need filling in of sparse areas, you’ll love this pencil. That being said, if your eyebrows are smaller and finer, you may also like this. I myself have thinner eyebrows (they really are tiny) and I still find it easy to work with, though I’m careful not to go too far outside of my brow. I use this in combination with my Rimmel brow this way gel in medium brown. I’ve started to put brow gel on first, fill in my brows and then spoolie them and then I apply more gel last and spoolie through them again. I can make my eyebrows more natural looking or feathery. I imagine if I tried I could make them look more bold and defined, too, though with such a thick, angled end, I’m not sure how that’d go or turn out. I’ll definitely try it out as I’m curious. Along with the NYX micro brow pencil, this is one of the better brow products I’ve found that are on the more affordable side. The Essence eyebrow designer pencil is probably the worst I’ve tried, always looks smudgy. This pencil has yet to smudge on me and lasts, even when I’m out. In photographs, it looks so natural. I thought I’d hate the spoolie since it’s shorter and thicker than your typical one but it does the job and helps to give you a lifted look. Price is $17.95 AUD. Mine is in 310 medium brown as that was the last colour left and surprisingly, you can’t tell it doesn’t match my very dark brown/black brows exactly, it blends in well. I enjoy this and if I run out, I think I’ll buy it again, maybe in the darker colour to see if there’s a difference. Also, I was wearing this when my makeup got complimented by a family member. I consider that a win!

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I feel like I never have good eyebrow luck, but finally drugstore liners seem to be improving. this one can get me precise line or shadow. Doesn't smudge like most d/s brow products, is buildable, and long lasting.

About reviewer (513 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I found my HG brow product, finally! I absolutely love this--it is amazing. I recently bought ABH Brow Wiz when Ulta had it half-off. I thought it was pretty good, except the spoolie end broke within two weeks. But I saw this, and had a coupon, which made it very reasonable. I haven't had my ABH Brow Wiz out once since I bought this. This gives me beautiful, defined brows so quickly. The shape of the actual product is certainly thicker than a regular, thin pencil, but it is not as thick as some that I have tried. I find it very easy to work with. Since it's teardrop shaped, you can turn it to get the thinner point for the tail of your brows. I have it in soft brown, and I think it's kind of neutral. Not warm, not ashy. It makes my brows look defined and gives them some control. I can get the more natural look I prefer, but it works to give you a more dramatic look if you wish. (I've tried, just for fun.) The spoolie is wonderful, too. It's a different shape, not long and thin. It really works well, and I think this will be sturdier and last longer. (It already has; I've been using this daily for about a month.) Sometimes I go over it lightly with L'Oreal's newer Brow Stylist for more lasting, all day hold. That has become my brow mascara of choice. I have struggled to find a brow product that I like for so long. I've spent a lot of money and thrown a lot of products away in my search. This is it for me-perfection! I'm not going to pay more for higher end products when this is available for such a reasonable price. Plus, Maybelline often does coupons, and of course you can find sales at Walgreen's or such.

About reviewer (493 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a dupe for the Anastasia Beverly Hills brow wiz. Except actually I like this a lot better!!! Better quality packaging (the last 2 brow wiz I bought the spollie head broke off) I still run a powder over top of it if I need my makeup to last a long work day but I had to do that with the brow wiz too. It’s a really good formula and price point is excellent.

About reviewer (109 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This review is for the Dark Brown shade. One of the worst brow products I've tried since dying my hair dark. When I applied this to my brows, the product leaves behind crumbs of product in my brows. The product is not too creamy nor too hard, it's a good consistency imo but I hate the crumbs that this product leaves behind when I apply this to my brows. The lead for this is way too thick imo so you're not going to get a precise brow look especially on the tail end on your brows. I'm so tired of all these new brow products coming out with a thick lead for brow application. Whoever thinks this is a good idea for a product needs to be fired. I mean hey, if you like the thick, overdrawn Chola brow look then knock yourself out but as for me, hell no. As for the color for the Dark Brown shade, it is cool toned. No warm tones at all in this shade which is good. It's near black but not quite black and would be a suitable shade option for those who have dark brown hair or black hair (my hair is black at the moment). I should have saved the package and receipt for this to return because now I'm out $10 and still haven't found a suitable brow product since dying my hair black. This went into the trash after using it twice. I don't recommend this at all. I also feel a little irritated that they have no shades for redheads which is what my hair was before I dyed it black.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have this in the deep brown and it's good for brunettes imo as it doesn't pull red. Most pencils for brows just look too red on my nc 35 skin, but this one is a good tone. I got it for $6 on sale and the spoolie is a thick bristle. The shape isn't great for precise work but for broad strokes, I like this pencil.

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Meh. I usually use the LOreal brow stylist pencil. I gave this one a shot because of reviews on YouTube. I don’t have much eyebrows. I feel like the Maybelline pencil is just too thick for my brows. I can’t get a precise line like I do with the LOreal. The product seems creamier which means it doesn’t stay well on my brows. Is it the worst I’ve tried? No. I just wont repurchase because I prefer the LOreal for my brows.

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I didn’t like this at first because it doesn’t give me the Instagram brow realness that I crave. But I am going to a conference for work and playing around with looks and I love this pencil now! It is very waxy so you do not need to follow up with a brow setter. It also is a good color of dark brown that is not veering towards black. Gives a defined look but can give a more feathered look with more strokes of the spoolie on the end. I like the shape and size of the spoolie. I also like the rectangular shape and size of the actual pencil. It is a steal at $7 and I would purchase again. Maybelline can have all my money. I love this brand.

About reviewer (621 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown