3.5

Created with Sketch.
38 reviews
45%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range
$44.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Not a fan. I feel like it never sets. There's really not much coverage either.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is the best foundation I've tried so far. Skin Type: used to be oily, now normal. Skintone: NC20 in MAC, with saturated yellow undertone. G30 is my best match in depth, but the undertone is a bit too peachy. Application: I use fingers. Only using what's equivalent to less than one pump of other foundation. Oily skin: it is pore-blurring, skin-like, smooth, fast drying, doesn't transfer, lasts up to 7 hours, doesn't break up when oil comes through. However, it does oxidise a little bit, but very slightly. Normal skin: applied on well hydrated skin, it doesn't look cakey or heavy, and it lasts even better. Plus, it doesn't oxidise on normal skin. The only con: G30 is not truely golden when compared to my other golden/yellow foundations. Too peachy. But then within the same depth, there's no other shade options.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

I think the colour match with Cover FX are fantastic. I have N110 in the Custom Drops, so I bought the same shade in the Power Play foundation without trying it on, and it matched me perfectly. The other thing I noticed with Cover FX is that their neutral shades are truly neutral - perfect blend of warm and cool tones without really leaning either way (at least in my experience). For me, this foundation is more of a solid medium coverage. When I apply it (usually with a beautyblender), I definitely look like I have make-up on. You definitely have to work fast as it's a drier foundation, so I tend to apply in sections. As someone else noted, when you first apply, you have a really nice, smooth and slightly dewy finish. I don't set with powder, because this foundation is quite matte. When I did set with powder in the past, it just made the foundation cake up on my face over the course of the day. I found that this foundation doesn't have much lasting power (despite the implication in its name). I would say that you'll get about 4-6 hours wear but after that, your skin texture will really start to come through. If you are leaning towards oily skin, expect to become oilier as the day progresses. You can also expect the foundation to start breaking up as your oils come through. If you sweat, then expect your foundation to break up even sooner. I used this foundation for 2 weeks every day to see how it performed, and the result at the end of the day was always the same: oily, cakey and textured skin. I would wash it off as soon as I got home. While I quite like medium coverage (or more sheer/medium), I find that other foundations in the same league perform much better - Smashbox Studio Skin being a good example. I gave this an extra lippie because of the colour match. It really is fantastic. And, just for context, I went to the Makeup Forever counter to get matched on their foundation (any of their foundations, really) and each one of them pulled either too red or too yellow. I was wearing Power Play on that day, so I kept comparing it to whatever Makeup Forever foundation I was trying. There just wasn't a comparison! But, sadly, I won't repurchase. And I hate the bottle. What a bad idea for packaging! For reference I am Dark 3 in NARS, Deep Spice in Estee Lauder DW, 450/445 in Fenty Beauty, 4.25 / 4.3 in Smashbox Studio Skin, 06W in Guerlain Lingerie de Peau.

About reviewer (236 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Kinky, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

This product looked fabulous on day one. By day two, I realized that it was cystic acne in a plastic bottle and endured the MOTHER of all facial cyst attacks. Three weeks later, my face is still red and dying down from the damage - soothed only by my old foundation. Why the hell did I change it? My advice is to leave this stuff on the shelf. Cover FX will only run for the hills when you complain anyway.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

One of the few perfect matches I’ve found for my skin. The coverage is buildable without looking heavy or cakey. It’s also has much less of a learning curve than Hourglass Vanish Liquid foundation.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

Kinda disappointed with this product. Not oily girl friendly as thought. Finish is okay. I absolutely would not repurchase this nor the concealer. I’ll stick with MAC on both.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

this foundation is very finicky when it comes to dryness. if your skin is even the slightest bit dry, it will cling to it and make it look disgusting. i've found that moisturizing immediately before use combats this pretty well, though, and i no longer run into this issue because of it. also, the coverage is definitely on the lower end of the spectrum. it can be built up to MAYBE medium coverage. so if you have anything you need covered, you're gonna have a bad time. it doesn't seem to last very long before breaking apart on my skin, either. perhaps about 4 hours. but i don't want it to seem like this foundation is only negatives. when i apply it with my beauty blender, after moisturizing beforehand, it gives a beautiful dewy finish and has that "my skin but better" effect. also, the shade range is pretty freaking awesome. this is what made me give it three lippies.

About reviewer (160 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have mostly normal skin and have never used this without having a hydrating base on underneath (facial oil or Josie Maran SPF, etc) so I can't speak to how drying it may be on its own, but I've never had any issues with looking dry or cakey. The only spot that can sometimes look a bit flakey is the bottom of my nose, which is where I'm always most dry. I find this to be extremely skin like and love that I do not have to powder it. It isn't completely transfer proof like I've heard some people claim, but it's definitely not slipping and sliding off your face. I don't look matte or dewy with this, just a natural satin finish. The bottle definitely sucks, not sure what they were thinking there. Storing it upside down helps though.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have extreme combo skin...oily t zone but then dry flaky skin in spots...at first I loved this but if you have any dry skin it really clings to it and makes it stand out....im gonna keep this for summer time and see if it's a better fit for me...

About reviewer (981 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’ll start off by saying there’s a lot I like about this but sadly those points don’t matter because I have normal skin and this is only for the super oily skin unless you want to look like the crypt keeper This is super matte fulll coverage and very dry, it dries down matte..dry. You don’t need powder. And on my normal skin it looks horribly dry and tight and bad. I let my family try it too and they had the same experience except for the super oily ones and they loved it and thought it was Demi matte which is shocking to us normal skin because it was so so dry. Dry skin types should stay far away. The good stuff- it really is long wearing. It’s not super thick and feels comfortable, good shade range, blends easily and doesn’t look heavy.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairRed

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.