4.6

Created with Sketch.
10 reviews
80%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm NC20, warm-olive. This is a pretty basic palette, but it's also very well coordinated IMO: I can do A LOT of different looks with it. It has a good selection of matte, satin and shimmer shades, one of which is duochrome. The shades of this are slightly more tightly packed than later Colourpop palettes, but they are still easy to blend and wear all day on me without fading. I hope to get the time to take pictures of the looks I do with this, but, the looks I have done so far: - purple satin: Winning Ticket in the crease and below lower lash line, FBO all over the lid, The Knot as inner corner highlight, Sparks Fly as liner - bright matte purple: same as above, but Look-See all over lid, with or without inner corner highlight - shimmery taupe contract eye: as above, but DTR on the lid - warm shimmery eye: Two Peas as crease color, Candygram on the lid, The Knot in the inner corner - gold eye: Two Peas in the crease and below lid, Monn Struck on the inner half of the eye, Fool's Rush of the outer half - matte caramel eye: Two Peas in the crease, Pulling Strings on the lid, Sparks Fly as liner And these are only some of the few looks one can do with this palette. Overall, I like this palette and don't regret purchasing it :)

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Very pretty cool colors mainly. I find that I use the cooler tones more than the warmer shades. They don't look that good with my skin tone but the purples and mauvey colors look great with my green eyes. I love the fact that it has a mirror too.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Ayy, this was a disappointment, and THAT, ladies and gents, is an understatement. I mean, overall, the quality of the shadows in this Colourpop 'You Had Me at Hello' palette is mostly on par with what I have come to expect from Colourpop's pressed shadow formula. However, this is a far cry from being anywhere close to a *mauve-toned* palette that the brand is touting it to be all across their social media. Lime Crime Venus 3? Dose of Colours Marvelous Mauves? Now THOSE are mauve toned palettes. This Colourpop palette is just a warm-toned basic brown palette with *not* a lot of versatility. It was nice that they decided to throw in a duochrome warm pink/gold, for good measure...but for what purpose? The duochrome pink shade has a terrible, crumbly formula (the worst in the palette, and the only major dud in the palette) and it doesnt really go with any of the other shades. Sooo, why bother? Also, the shade FBO, described as a pink violet, just looks like a dull, muddy satiny reddened bronze with just a hint of a pink undertone. The metallic purple shade in the Fem Rosa palette (I think it's the shade called 'Empress') is MUCH better than this FBO shade, and pulls more purple and more cool toned, and less red, on me than FBO ever would. The shade 'Mauve' and any other corresponding shade in the color family is supposed to pull as cool toned on ANY complexion. Any other shade, and it wouldn't match the color description or the color family of 'mauve.' Thus making this glorified warm toned brown palette very inaptly named, as it is anything BUT mauve. That being said, the majority of this palette actually pulls VERY warm toned on my wintery complexion, (contrasting to the 'mauve' claims), save for a few shades: and those shades are the beautiful deep boysenberry purple shade called 'Look See', the deep cocoa brown shade called 'Sparks Fly', and the metallic silvery taupe called 'DTR'. The rest of the shades in this palette don't really pair that well with the three aforementioned cool toned shades, since they're so warm, thus making this a palette I just don't understand at all, and therefore making it one that I just dont reach for that often. I know a thing or two about color combinations just from studying makeup at workshops, and in no way did I ever hear the shade 'mauve' being classified as 'warm brown with pink undertones.' Just....excuse me, what? 'Rustic' mauve comes to mind with one shade in this palette, maybe (which is what I would classify the shade 'Winning Ticket' to be). But this palette definitely needs a matte berry pink or a matte mid-toned mauvey pink or grey/purple or something to give it more versatility and just.....SOMETHING to work with. I'm just not inspired at all when I look at this palette. I think some brands (not just Colourpop) need to go back to the drawing board and review actual shade descriptions that have stayed true to themselves all throughout the history of art and color mixing, and not just make up something as they see fit (i.e. Colourpop's thought process when creating this palette: 'Ahhh theres ONE purple in this palette! Lets surround it with a bunch of uncomplimentary warm colors, and just call it a 'mauve/pink/purple' palette!' JUST....NO. I know that Colourpop doesnt claim to be an artistry brand, but makeup brands and companies in general just need to start learning to curate their products with multiple colors to have, y'know... actual "complimentary" colors, and some sort of a cohesive color STORY, along with a semblance of a working knowledge of color theory and knowledge of basic color descriptions, before releasing a product and marketing it. Just my $0.02. No, I would not recommend this palette to anyone who wants a 'mauve-toned' palette. Or even a cohesive neutral palette, for that matter. It is anything BUT mauve, anything BUT cool-toned, and you probably have shades like this, already. The formula is for the most part creamy and easy to blend (albeit with a TON of powder kick-up, no matter how careful you are). Since the formula is so soft on the mattes, I can see anyone who is just a hair above being light-handed, hitting pan on these shades rather quickly. Definitely cant get more than 3 different looks TOPS with this palette, which is why I originally was going to give it a 2, but the overall quality bumped it up to a 3.

About reviewer (132 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a nice neutral palette with the perfect mix of shimmer and matte shades. It is a very versatile color palette when you want to go for the minimalist look or do bold lips. I hope they don't discontinue this one because it is one of their better palettes.

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love the colors in this palette. Also the quality of the shadows are on par with what I've come to expect from ColourPop. I got this in my April 2018 Boxycharm and I am thoroughly pleased with it's performance.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got this in my April 2018 boxycharm & this palette was my first foray into colourpop e/s. I really didn’t esp like this palette like was described below the shimmers I wanted to be “blinding” (good word choice) & the mattes just arent creamy. Palette has moderate fallbut I just couldn’t get them to show up without all this setting spray prob I wouldn’t buy colourpop eyeshadows just because Urban Decay are my faves then I like MAC, TF$, TF, Tilbury & chanel rounds out group, I also don’t need any new makeup let alone another below average palette so I’m being picky w what I buy. Cardboard okay, it has a mirror but it needs a brush. I am used to UD they include a nice brush! The colors are pretty: roses, mauves & metallics. I always wear primer thou & it still creased somewhat. Meh. I’m sorry to leave a neg review :-( I would’ve not rebuy colourpop eyeshadows. Grade: B-

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love this palette! Personally, I love the colour selection: warm tone, ranging between pink-brown (It appears to be mauve-y because of the packaging, yet it's not). I'm very picky when it comes to colour selection, but the second I saw it I know I'm going to get it. The formula is great, they basically blend themselves. Colourpop palettes in general would be great for beginners, as the formula is beginner friendly. The mattes are not dry, and the metallics are blinding. It does have fallout (which I don't really mind). Not as bad as ABH, but being careful might not hurt. Another great thing is the price point. I'm saying you get more than you pay. The downside for me is they don't have matte highlight colour. But with the price and the quality, I don't mind grabbing another palette for a matte highlight. Therefore I still gave it 5 lippies. Colourpop has been coming out with amazing palettes lately, I probably will get the Give It To Me Straight palette, which has similar colour scheme to this. +: great formula, great colour selection, great price -: no matte highlight, slight fallout

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this as a Christmas present for my Mom initially, and I liked it so much I just bought another for myself. I have really been in a makeup slump lately and Colourpop has magically inspired me again. Don't let the prices fool you, for the cost of a single eyeshadow in many HE brands, you get an entire palette that performs just as well. I currently own Yes, Please and the My Little Pony palette, with this palette and two more on the way. I love that they are cruelty free. This is a very warm palette obviously, an even mix of mattes and metallics/shimmers, which they really do well. MATTES: Two Peas, Winning Ticket, Look See, Want U Back, Sparks Fly, and Pulling Strings are all really great performance. I was actually impressed to see how deep Sparks Fly was without losing color. Two Peas is my Mom's favorite crease color. These are on par or better than many HE mattes, which is amazing. SHIMMERS/METALLICS: The Knot, Candygram, FBO, Moon Struck, Fool's Rush, and DTR are all beautiful, the only one I saw any issues with was Candygram. It's workable but all the rest are creamier and more true to pigment. They work well for so many looks across the warm/nuetral world. I apply them with my pinky but others may find that a dampened brush works the best.

About reviewer (179 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This has rapidly become my favorite eyeshadow palette. I can create any number of looks, the pigmentation is amazing and it’s easy to work with. Would absolutely recommend (especially for the price!)

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I had seen such rave reviews for ColourPop's eyeshadows from YouTubers like Kathleen Lights who I adore! So when she came out with her Dream St. palette of course I just HAD to have it and while perusing ColourPop's website this palette caught my eye too. I did some research and watched RawKristiBeauty using You Had Me at Hello in a tutorial and her look turned out so beautifully of course I just HAD to get it too! I've been super impressed with both palettes, the quality and pigmentation is amazing and the shadows are easily blendable and stay well. The price is pretty impressive too, only $18 for 12 shadows and I got mine on sale. At first I did have second thoughts about getting this palette because it reminded me a lot of Lorac's Unzipped Desert Sunset palette but while there are some similar shades they really are different enough to justify having both. Plus, the You Had Me at Hello palette has a mirror and that's a huge bonus for me. It might not be for some, but I like having a mirror in my palette. Overall, I highly recommend this palette for anyone looking to combine warmer peachy and gold tones with cooler berry tones to get that Desert Sunset look without spending all the dough. LOVE!!!!

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel