3.5

Created with Sketch.
10 reviews
70%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I'm a matte-lippie kinda girl, and for some reason I thought these would look matte, but they don't really. Not on me, anyway. The shade range did not impress me--maybe that's CVS's fault? I picked up Pop Quiz, a deepish berry, and Moody, a MMBB type of neutral. They do not have any scent that I can detect, and provide good pigmentation but feel really dry on my lips, so I have to use a balm before applying, which may be the reason they do not last very long. They are fine but do not thrill me in any way. Oh, I got them at CVS on sale: 2 for $11.99, plus you get ten ECBs back, so they're really just a dollar each. That's a great deal.

About reviewer (3510 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It is good but the problem is that it is none long lasting u need to apply it more and more

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

wide range of colours. unfortunately not my favourite. It looked great immediately after putting it on but wore off quick. The product is cheap and therefore created a cheap look once it started wearing off.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I have Cool Intentions and its a beautiful earthy brownish-pink that is perfect for my skin tone. The texture isn't moisturizing at all, but it doesn't dry out my lips either. It feels powdery and in some ways I like that because it doesn't slip around and lasts a long time, but it also feels like it sits on top of my lips and it can feel a little tight.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm surprised by how much I love this. I have the shade Squad Goals, which on me is a neutral, natural-looking pink - almost MLBB but brighter. It's really easy to apply and has a lovely soft, smooth finish - unlike most matte liquid lipsticks, you don't get that dry looking, wrinkly finish. I have dry lips but this doesn't dry them out at all, and you can hardly feel you're wearing it. It lasts really well, even through food and drink, and leaves a nice stain even after a big meal.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Huge fan of these. I have the shade Best Buds which is a tea rose shade (the packaging does not represent the shade well, the design team messed that up). It's long wearing, and does not feel like you are wearing any product. This really is unlike anything I have tried before. It is definitely not a liquid lipstick either. It comes out in a light cream and turns into a longwearing powder. This is a little drying so I wear Carmex underneath. The pigment is really strong, and due to the puff application you can easily apply it on the go and forget about it. I've applied it during my communite, on the bus and am not worried about mucking it up. However, if you have thinner lips you might want to be a bit more gentle because the puff is about the circumference of the tip of your pinky finger. All in all it's cute, easy to use, and medium wearing (reapplied at 5 hours, with eating). I'm a student and work, so I like no nonsense makeup, which this is. This is a fast favourite and I want to pick up the other colours as well.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love all things NYX so when these were introduced, I knew I had to give them a try. I have this in Squad Goals, Moody and Toy Story. I will say the shades are not true to swatches on the NYX website, so I strongly suggest swatching IRL. Although I like these, I can't say I would repurchase if I ran out. I like how the product feels on my lips as it's very light, similar to the SMLC. There is a very faint coconut scent, and I love coconut so no complaints here! I like the applicator because it gives you an opportunity to sheer out the color if you want to go lighter. That said, I can see how it can get messy and you certainly won't get a clean line, so if that's what you want/need, use a lip pencil before applying. I really like the packaging as they are slim and don't take up much space in my makeup bag; that said, they do not last at all. While matte, it does not dry down and does not stay put. In NYX's defense, they don't advertise this as transfer proof, so I can't really fault them for that. Overall, it's not HG for me but I don't regret purchasing. I will use until they are empty but won't repurchase.

About reviewer (300 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this from Ulta in the shade Best Buds, it's a rosy nude shade. I wouldn't repurchase this again, or any of the shades... very chalky, feels like putting eyeshadow on your lips, and just not good quality, I do love the tube style and the applicator. I love NYX butter glosses, and some other products from them, but this is sub par in my opinion.. So many better formulas out there in this price range ($8-$9). I tried it twice, and had to put a gloss over it for it to look decent.. Ended up giving it to my 22 yo niece.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Powder Puff Lippie Powder Lip Cream is a mousse like lip cream that feel as light as a powder on the lips. I would describe the feel of this lipstick as a comfort matte. It feels really soft on the lip and the pigmentation is soft but on point. It feels a little slippery on the lips but didn't transfer onto other parts of my face like other lip creams tend to do. I personally love this formula, but I will say it only lasts a few hours on the lips. If you are looking for something ultra matte and long wearing this is not your lip cream. However, If you want a comfortable matte lip that looks good and you don't mind reapplying then this is a good lip cream for you. I have some swatches and additional thoughts on my blog here: http://www.treceefabulous.com/2018/01/review-nyx-professional-makeup-powder.html

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Dark

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The NYX Professional Makeup Powder Puff Lippie is a lipstick that sets to a nice powder-like finish which you almost can't feel it on. The Powder Lip Cream sets very quick so you will want to apply this and blend very fast. The applicator tip can be clumsy, especially if your lips are more on the thin side. I found the color on the outside of the tube to be very different than the actual color so if you can you will definitely want to swatch this first. My more detailed review and swatches are here: https://youtu.be/oYak1G6H8WU

About reviewer (704 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us