3.4

Created with Sketch.
7 reviews
43%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I have Scintillance (804), which is a shimmery warm toned beige. I loved the color! I'm NC2O light skin with yellow undertones and this eyeshadow was perfect for everyday. What I liked about this product it's that is shimmery and not glittery. It lasts on my oily eyelids about 4 hours until it starts creasing, an eyeshadow primer definitely helps it to wear longer. One major negative thing about this product is that after 10 months will be completely dried out and hard to apply. I have bought a cream eyeshadow from Revlon that I have for the same period and it isn't as dry. In my opinion I would rather go for a drugstore option from Maybelline or Revlon rather than spending so much money for a Chanel eyeshadow that it will be useless in less than a year.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This review is for Scintillance, which is a highly reflective neutral veering toward shimmering peach, emphasis on shimmer. When I was in Neiman Marcus in September 2018 I managed to allow myself to be gravitationally pulled towards Chanel and I seemed to almost magically be seated by Daniel's hypnotic powers. It started slowly at first; Blanc de Chanel/Multi-use Illuminating(there's that word again)Base. I loved it because of the brightening effect on the center of my face. and I am still using it. That was one smart purchase, however... The Scintillance shade from their Longwear Eyeshadow collection does not wear well in the jar, even though I keep it tightly sealed with the plastic cover as well. You do get a large amount for your money, unfortunately, only 25% was usable as the remainder required almost digging at the cream to get any of the color onto my fingertips. I did what I have done in the past with shadows/liners/highlighters of gel/polymer-based cosmetic. I use a palette knife to remove all from the jar and then employ 1-2 tiny drops of oil(any oil: chia seed, jojoba, castor oil)they all accomplish the same task, I then blend the shadow with the oil on a piece of waxed paper/parchment or the like, mix well and back into its original container. Even my tried and true technique could save this shadow. Which in the long run is fine because if the truth is known I was never that thrilled with the color. I will say it is very pretty and I think the color would work on a very broad range of skin tones, from alabaster-to-Polynesian-to-ebony and Asian, Indian, Mediterranean and all shades between. It is not only good as an eyeshadow but I think it works even better for highlighting the chin, tops of cheeks(just a little)and if you do not have a lined forward such as mine, it's beautiful there. I am writing this review now because I am throwing out makeup that I really do not use or enjoy using, no matter how I try to convince myself that I will use it at some point in the future.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have this in Undertone 802. Its a natural champagne goldy bronzey caramel sheen. This is so hard to describe because its a little bit of everything, but at the same time, a very simple beautiful color. I am C1 nc20 beige20 and this is half a shade darker than my skintone. I used to be a Mac Groundwork paintpot lover, unfortunately it is too ashy in certain lighting and still creases on me. (Groundwork is darker taupey milk tea and a satin-matte finish.) I wanted an easy everyday one eyeshadow look that i can slap on and call it a day/not worry about my oily eyelids. I am a lash extension and false lashes wearer and i am terrible at applying eyeshadow. I just wanted something thatll be pretty on the lids especially when i look down. My history with eyeshadow has been a battle, i have all types of brushes and have tried many palettes lol i suck. Most the time i look like i have a black eye. I blame it on my asian almond eye with the tiny crease/ semi monolids? Chanel Undertone reminds me a bit of Mac Woodwinked eyeshadow without the rusty orange, this is a lot more wearable on me. Its warm light bronzey with a sheen that makes it look like you have more than one eyeshadow on. Its super buttery to the touch and really easy to blend. It isnt a wet formula, id say its still on the drier side but very blendable and isnt patchy or weird at all. Once it sets its completely dried and it wont budge. I either put this all over the lid or just pop it in the center to give my eyes more dimension. Edit 2019 dec - I will not be repurchasing Undertone when i run out and try out New Moon nstead. Undertone creases on my eyelid folds by midday and the color is a bit too gold for me in some lightings.

About reviewer (416 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Fantastic for mature, textured eyelids and for those who like fuss-free, one shadow makeup looks (my mom loves these!) You can apply it with finger or applicator and then blend out with a fluffier brush- voila, done. The colors are pretty basic and neutral- as usual with Chanel though. They’re easy to apply and blend, don’t accentuate uneven texture or dryness, and are long lasting. Warning: they dry out. When they do though, I add a drop of Inglot’s Duraline, and the problem is gone. They’re expensive- you can find good cream shadows for less, but with Chanel, you pay for both quality and the brand. I’ve tried Mac Paint Pots, and while I think they’re very good, they emphasize uneven eyelid texture.

About reviewer (240 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I decided to try this after seeing it on a youtube video. I normally do not wear eyeshadow but wanted to use this as a liner/accent around my eyes as I saw in the video. The price is appalling for a single shade of an eyeshadow, but I was willing to pay if it had a nice effect. I purchased it at Nordstrom, and the saleswoman applied some to my eyes from the tester as well. The color is very beautiful. However, I was at the mall for a few more hours and when I got home and looked in the mirror I was not happy! The shadow had migrated around my eyes in an unflattering way, and my lids were very creased and cakey looking. I never opened the box I purchased, and I plan to return this next time I go to the mall.

About reviewer (168 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I got this in Memory and Pourpre Profound. Both are very wearable colors and work well with my NC20 skin. The cream is dry, not moussey (Tom Ford). It reminds me of he Maybelline color tattoo pots. The formula applies nicely as it stay where you put it but still blends out before it sets and lasts all day. I’m always fearful that these pots dry out before I even make a dent but we will see. Beautiful colors and formula. I highly recommend.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Being a fan of cream eye shadow I purchased the color 810 Pourpre Profond. The color looks interesting in the jar and is a plum color on the lid. The brush included works very well with the cream. I would have to fault it on the score of Longwear as it does fad on me somewhat but I am not using a primer with it. The colors are not overly full of glitter but give a nice finish. I like it enough to try a couple of other colors.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue