4.1

Created with Sketch.
115 reviews
79%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

This is not my personal favourite at all- however it is adorable and, despite being a simple musk, distinctive. I do not mind wearing this regularly and never feel lacking for it. It's complete in itself just like any good perfume. It is pleasant to wear even if you have an array of full-blown oudhs and musks from expensive brands as I do because of my dad's penchant for gifting them. This I still usually prefer. The cheap price adds to the appeal actually, when the scent is not pretending to be a more expensive, potent musk-- 'shooting itself in the foot' in the attempt. It knows its limited bounds and works within them not trying to be something else. That gives it charm as opposed to the metallic and sour synthetic notes that other cheap scents get from trying to become something bigger. It is well-balanced, therefore, not garish or oddly proportioned in trying to be too complex. I recently smelled this on a very respectful, proper young boy, in his late teens, who helped me find a laptop. I recognized it immediately and it made me smile. It is pleasant, honest in its simple notes, and suited this hard-working, unusually professional (compared to his older colleagues) boy perfectly. Never rancid smelling either. Good job Coty.

About reviewer (99 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Coty Wild Musk has always been a favorite scent for me. I've loved smelling it on other people and loved wearing it. I was convinced that the last bottle I bought was just a watered down blah reformulated version of it's former self. I sprayed a little bit on last night, just on my lower arm area. It had such a full beautiful scent and this morning I can still smell it. My fragrance during the day was a little bit sharp so Wild Musk was a contrast with it's smooth softness. It's a little mystifying why the same bottle of fragrance can have such different impressions at different times, but it does happen and I'll make some observations later in this review. Coty Wild Musk reminds me most of Skin Musk by Bonne Bell but it is slightly different. Coty Wild Musk offers a bit of a woodsy vanilla cozy musk fragrance. I especially love this fragrance when the fall weather comes bringing the scent of fallen leaves, fire places smoking with burning fire wood and there is that crispness in the air as temperatures lower. It's simple and pretty and at drugstore prices everyone can smell hug-able and warm. If you took a scent like Organza Indecence and lightened it up considerably and amped up the musk a bit you'd have a good idea of what CWM smells like. What is not to like? Here's my observations about why I think fragrances tend to lose their pow factor. Yes sometimes it is from reformulations BUT... *Overexposure to wide variety of fragrances and just olfactory overload can cause this effect. Do you know how when you really buckle down and decided to shed some pounds and your diet becomes simpler and more whole food based? Suddenly the lettuce you barely noticed before has a green and buttery flavor and fruit has an incredible fullness of flavor. Well it's because you've stopped inundating your palate with rich foods and flavors. Don't you suppose the same thing happens with fragrances and your sense of smell? *Also simple common sense factors like spraying through the atomizer tube fully which not only removes the product from the bottle but introduces a bit of oxygenation to the juice inside and that exposure to air can work to develop the scent itself. *Try revisiting your fragrances from time to time and you may be surprised how they smell different at different times. I think it is based upon what other things you've been doing. Taste and smell are closely intertwined so maybe the foods you've been preparing or the outdoors air you've been breathing can all have an effect. Hormones, stress, all the distractions of life play a role. It is typical that you get dressed, spray on fragrance rush off to work and it's not until that resting pause in your day that you sniff your wrist and think "wow I really smell great!" *Mostly the more you "hypnotize" yourself with the power of suggestion that you will not be able to smell something the more self-fulfilling it will become. Try taking fragrance hiatuses and just stop sniffing for awhile. When you come back to your perfume collection you will be able to enjoy them more and in modest quantities. There is no need to drool over and fall prey to the gougers on auction sites trying to fetch $300 and more for a once $5 bottle of musk oil. Yes there is some difference but it's mostly due to believing all the hype and then buying into it. Do yourself a favor and just go spend $15 on the cologne spray at the drugstore!

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I had bought it just to know what people like about it. To me it smells like bacon or some kind of meat jerky thing. I do not eat bacon but this is what I remembered it smelling like. Actually pepperoni! Yes. Anyway I tried fr ages to like it still trying but do not. Maybe I cannot pick up notes well but pepperoni and a slight bit of fake musk is all I got and I cannot enjoy it. It layers well as a background with other fragrances though. However I still smell that pepperoni no matter what. Their plain Musk oil is amazingly pleasant however.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The scent of a clean baby. The scent of a crumpet. A delicate flower that just came out of the bath with its mother. The scent of safety, cleanliness and the nanny from the hand that rocks the cradle. Why her? Because as beautiful and clean scented she must've been, there was still a mystery inside this woman. Just like this perfume. Is it innocent? Each woman is different. Powdery Mostly a powdery clean scent. The musk is ever so lite and the vanilla only comes out slightly and later after having sprayed this perfume on. It does smell good. Not strong or headache material. It is neither young, neither old as far as scents go. Neither sexy, neither repulsing.The perfect everyday scent to wear. Clean and cozy.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This has been my go to fragrance for over 30 years. There is just something about it and I always get compliments on it. It is subtle and sexy but not overbearing. Funny thing is that on my dresser I have expensive perfumes, Dolce, Coco, etc. - I hardly reach for them ever. Even when I wear the expensive ones, I never get the compliments or "What is that you are wearing?" I only get comments, compliments and the occasional deep sniff when hugging someone hello. Strange thing is that when people ask me what I am wearing, I tell them "Oh it is a musk perfume." I am selfish and do not want to share my signature scent. LOL

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This humble gem in its fugly basic packaging is the textbook example of how fantastic "drugstore perfumes" used to be. It's still around, albeit in a sadly diluted form. The current version in the bumpy brown 1.5 ounce bottle will give you a threadbare idea of the scent. Vintage cologne and perfume sprays are readily and cheaply available on eBay and they deliver a much richer, rounder, more complex experience. [Sadly, the oil version of this fragrance went out of production years ago and is selling for over $200 a bottle now, which is obscene.] Look for the "Coty" name in cursive rather than block letters-- you know you're getting vintage that way and it's soooo much better, trust me. Wild Musk is so yummy! It's got a definite '70s vibe with its almost barber-shoppy top notes of citrus and lavender, yielding to a rich, oily, vanillic-sandalwood musk. Total "clean hippie" heaven. It really does feel like an extension of the natural scent of clean skin. You may not smell smell it on yourself all day, but when you move around, you'll be pleasantly greeted by a reminder that yep, it's still there just like the industrial musks of the '70s and '80s promised. Very sexy and inviting. Perfect signature scent for the casual, down-to-earth woman.

About reviewer (225 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

i got this for nine bucks at target and boy, is it the best. I have a lot of perfume and wear Cartier, Angel, Replica and Nirvana Black almost daily so I do like more expensive perfumes, but this is amazing and I wear it all the time...it's more of a body spray because it doesn't last super well but it plays well with other scents-I layer it with Marc Jacobs Decadence and it smells amazing. I also use my Keihls musk oil on top of this and that helps it to last. I love how seventies it smells and how subtle it is. It also smells really good with Charlie, if you want the full drugstore experience! For ten dollars, you can't pass it up. Very versatile!

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Love! I'm wearing it now. I still have half of my EDT & perfume oil from many years ago. They still smell great, and I've probably had them each at least a dozen years. I've been a musk lover since the 70's, I've worn them all, and this one is very nice, esp in our current weather. It's wonderful on this chilly, rainy, gloomy November day. Chilly Fall/Winter weather is when this fits the bill most perfectly, in my humble opinion. Coty Wild Musk wears very low, soft, and under-the-radar. Comforting as a warm blanket, and it has a cloaking quality -- makes me feel protected and hidden -- it's a close-to-the-body, personal scent. It communicates more with the wearer herself than with the outside world. It has a very calming quality -- calming, quieting, centering, comforting, and reassuring. Mmmm! A low-key, warm musk which mostly just smells like a straight-up Sandalwood, to my nose. I know Coty Wild Musk is complex and actually contains some floral notes & possibly vanilla, but I'm mostly just smelling a soft skin-scenty sandalwood. It does NOT smell animalic at all (like Kiehl's Original does, although I enjoy that one too). Wild Musk is not the least bit offensive -- not at all. I've never tried any of the latest "reformulations" that other reviewers speak of, but I often find that reformulations (to me, anyway) aren't as different or bad as reviewers claim. I'm sure I'll be buying whatever Coty Wild Musk is being sold in stores when I run out of my own EDT and perfume oil bottles -- and even if it's a little different, I hope I'll still like it.

About reviewer (285 reviews)

Age

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This was a secret santa gift and this is a sad shadow of its former self. A very watered down scent. I am halfway thru the bottle already. I remember wearing this long ago in my last year of high school (dating myself here, lol) in the oil form. Sigh. The cologne is more of a body spray on me, and it does not last. I catch a whiff sometimes on my shirt sleeves, seems to last longer on clothes than on my skin. Since this is a gift, I couldn't return it so I will finish the bottle and remember how lovely it was back then.

About reviewer (126 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairSilver, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

You simply cannot beat the mix of flowers, vanilla and musk. This has been a signature fragrance for years. Not overwhelming, but the compliments keep on coming. It is proof positive that a great scent does not necessarily have to cost a fortune. I will continue to purchase as long as it is available.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen